BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Certified Warranties Corporation

Phone: (800) 369-5096 (Disconnected)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

39 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 39 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues11
Problems with Product / Service24
Total Closed Complaints39

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (39)BBB Closure Definitions
03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two policies,1 for my home and 1 for a rental. $495/policy, $990 total. They seem to have taken the money and run. These were both 1 year policies purchased in 8/14. I still have 5 months remaining. A covered appliance is now broken and I will have to come out of pocket to fix. I would like a full refund based on the company shutting down back in 10/14 only 2 months after my policy was purchased. If they filed for bankruptcy in 10/14 they knew in 8/14 they would be filing and should not have been issuing new policies.

Full refund of $990 would be requested.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $990 would be requested.

02/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A Home Warranty was purchased at the closing of our new home on 5-8-2014 in the amount of $495.00.When I attempted to contacted them for service 2-20-2015, I was unable to reach a working telephone number. I then ******* them and found out that they filed bankruptcy in Oct. 2014. I contacted the Illinois Dept. on Insurance, but they state I need to deal with my state. I contacted Texas Dept. of Insurance and they suggested Texas Dept. of Licensing and Regulation who suggested Texas Real Estate Commission who I haven't been successful with contacting by telephone yet.
Product_Or_Service: Home Warranty

Desired Settlement
I want to get a complaint to the proper person and hopefully get a refund.

02/25/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two home warranty policies, one for myself and one for my daughter. I discovered by chance clicking on their web address the message that they are out of business and bankrupt. Now I have a $4000 plumbing bill that should have been covered. There is no one to contact at the company. They seems to have disappeared. I read a warning from the Illinois insurance commision warning about the company. I contacted **** ***** at the government office. He told me that they were never an accredited business. That the BBB gave them an acreditation even though they were not licensed to do what they said they would. I feel duped by the BBB. I checked all their reviews and ratings before purchasing the policies. I trusted the BBB information and was misled.

Desired Settlement
$1000 for two policies
$4000 for current plumbing bill

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order Summary

Quantity
Item Description
Amount
1ANY SINGLE UNIT UNDER 5000 SQ FT "NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE"$0.00
1PRO PLAN XL ($550.00) W/$0 NO SERVICE FEE$550.00
Order Total$550.00




Reference #
XXXXXXX
Status
Confirmed
Order Total
$550.00
Payment Status
550.00
Policyholder First Name *
*******
Policyholder Last Name *
******
Policyholder First Name
****
Policyholder Last Name
******
Covered Property Street Address *
**** ********* Dr
Covered Property City *
Pfafftown
Property State *
***** ********
Zip Code *
XXXXX
Phone Number *
XXXXXXXXXX
Email Address To Send Policy *
***********@aol.com
Item #30 *
PRO PLAN XL ($550.00) W/$0 NO SERVICE FEE
Homes covered up to 6000 sq ft. *
ANY SINGLE UNIT UNDER 5000 SQ FT "NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE"
Item #81 *
Agree to the terms and conditions
Last Update
2014-09-24 10:59:52
Start Time
2014-09-23 16:49:52
Finish Time
2014-09-24 10:59:48
IP
*************
Browser
IE **
OS
Windows
Referrer
***************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like a dull refund for 550.00

02/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The home warranty was purchased April 30, 2014. When I attempted to contact the company re: a dripping shower I discovered that the company has declared bankruptcy. No notice was given to me re: ending my contract and my money was not refunded.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the $495 I spent on the home warranty that no longer exists through no fault of my own.

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Warranty Plans, Air Duct Systems, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Insurance - Homeowners, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.