BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2004

Home Inspector Consultants, Inc.

Phone: (219) 322-7403Fax: (219) 227-5236

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/18/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HIred HOme Inspector Consultants, inc, to do home inspection to be done at 9:30 a.m.

1) inspector was late over an hour, never offered discounted rate for lateness. my time is valueable too.

2) inspection was sub-par to the norm. Did not take the time to fully inspect the house in great detail

3) decrepancies that were suppose to be explained in the report were not.

4) contacted ***** and **** ********* to explain the importance of why details needed to be fulluy explain and never contacted us back

5) we had question on what was on the report and our calls were not returned to us and/or our email inquires.

6) report was delivered late to us given the fact we informed Philp the importance on obtaining report in a timely matter.

Desired Settlement
half of monies paid for services rendered

Business Response
4/5/2014

Dear BBB Dispute Resolution and to those who may be concerned,

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ******* ***** in reference to the BBB Case # XXXXXXXX.

On March 24th, 2014, I conducted a home inspection for our client, ******* & **** *****, at **** ****** ****** ***** Joliet, IL XXXXX. The appointment was scheduled for 9:30am for the pre-negotiated fee of $375.00 and was paid in full at the conclusion of the inspection. No other services were negotiated as part of the appointment.

The morning of the inspection I left my house with adequate time to arrive on time at our appointment. However, a severe accident occurred near the I-80 & Rt. 57 intersection at the Country Club Hills, IL and Tinley Park, IL border. My vehicle was at a stop for quite a long time and could not move. I attempted to call the client to alert them but the number I was given by the office did not accept incoming calls. I alerted *******, our Office Administrator, at 9am that I was in traffic and to call the client to alert them of my situation. ******* then contacted the phone number provided by ******** that he says was his wife's phone number. Below is the email response received on the 21st of March.

"*****, ******* via *********.com

Mar 21


to Home


Put me down for 9:30 a.m. on Monday for now. I will contact you later this afternoon. need to go to a meeting until 2:30 thanks.. my wifes number is XXX-XXX-XXXX

******* *****"

******* called XXX-XXX-XXXX at 9am and was greeted that the number did not accept incoming calls. Our next phone call would have been to their Buyer Agent. ******* made several attempts to try and obtain the name of his agent with no success. ******* or **** did not give us the information to that point.

At 9:31am, ******* received a call from **** and ******* asking about the status of the inspector. ******* explained that I was in bad traffic due to an accident and that he attempted to call and alert them. ******* explained the situation and repeated the number he used to call them. They said the number we had was incorrect and ******* made a note and updated their account. ******* advised that I would not be there until 10:15 to 10:30am.

I arrived at the house at approx. 10:30am and apologized for the delay. The apology was accepted and we moved forward with the appointment. No attempt to request a discount was made.

A little background on me, I've completed well over 10,000 home inspections over my career and have great responses from all of my client's based on my inspection. I also hold the highest credentials as a home inspector, ASHI Certified Inspector (ACI) and Certified Master Inspector (CMI). I do each inspection in the same manner and they meet & exceed the standards of practice outlined by the State of Illinois licensing body and our agreement.

The report was also completed by the same standards of practice. Per our agreement and the agreement endorsed by my client. Reference file "ServiceAgreement." Mr. ***** requested that we alter and / or modify the report in a manner that would not be consistent with our standards of practice and with those of our agreement. We refused to alter the report and compromise our findings. The report we sent is accurate and correct and we stand by it. We will not compromise our ethics for any reason.

I sent the report on 3/25/2014 at 9:40:27 PM, the following day. The state of Illinois requires that the inspection report be sent to the client within 48hrs of the appointment which we were certainly within that time frame. Reference document ****** ****** ****** ***** - Home Inspection Report."

Phone calls and emails to me and to the office were returned within a timely manner.

In closing, the home inspection was completed in a manner that is based on the standard of practice guidelines and by our agreement. I have a very long career, credential, and respect by my peers, client's, and those in the real estate industry. The report was sent the next day which was well within the time frame set by the state. We returned phone calls and emails within a timely manner.

However, we do admit a delay of our appointment due to unforeseen circumstances. Apologies were given and received. We are still sorry for the delay of our appointment and wish that ******* and **** accept our apology and completely revoke the claim to the Better Business Bureau and from any other avenues.

If you have any questions please contact me by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ******@*********.com.
Regards,
****** ********* ACI, CMI
President


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
See attached with Reponses in Red.

Final Business Response
see attached scanned document


4/17/14 additional info from business:
Dear BBB Dispute Resolution and to those who may be concerned,

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ******* ***** in reference to the BBB Case # XXXXXXXX.

On March 24th, 2014, I conducted a home inspection for our client, ******* & **** *****, at **** ****** ****** ***** Joliet, IL XXXXX. The appointment was scheduled for 9:30am for the pre-negotiated fee of $375.00 and was paid in full at the conclusion of the inspection. No other services were negotiated as part of the appointment.
My Response: True Statement
The morning of the inspection I left my house with adequate time to arrive on time at our appointment. However, a severe accident occurred near the I-80 & Rt. 57 intersection at the Country Club Hills, IL and Tinley Park, IL border. My vehicle was at a stop for quite a long time and could not move. I attempted to call the client to alert them but the number I was given by the office did not accept incoming calls. I alerted *******, our Office Administrator, at 9am that I was in traffic and to call the client to alert them of my situation. ******* then contacted the phone number provided by *******, that he says was his wife's phone number. Below is the email response received on the 21st of March.

"*****, ******* via *********.com

Mar 21


to Home


Put me down for 9:30 a.m. on Monday for now. I will contact you later this afternoon. need to go to a meeting until 2:30 thanks.. my wifes number is XXX-XXX-XXXX

******* *****"

******* called XXX-XXX-XXXX at 9am and was greeted that the number did not accept incoming calls. Our next phone call would have been to their Buyer Agent. ******* made several attempts to try and obtain the name of his agent with no success. ******* or **** did not give us the information to that point.

Response: True, however, the fact of the matter is that **** and ******* did not take a proactive approach to review the profile that I created on their website which highlights all the person contact information I provided. **** and ******* went by an email that I sent where I transpose the number, what they should have done is look at the profile on their website and utilize the information imputed to contact me instead of us contacting them.
Below is a snap shot of the work order that was used by me. ******* or **** did not revise their account. The number we used was the one given by ******* and it was the one ******* used when he created their account. We have detailed activity on our end what they did in their account. The only thing they did before the appointment was create a Username and Password *** endorsed the inspection agreement.
We still did not get their agent info to that point, which is very uncommon for us. A buyer agent should be someone to trust. Why we did not get their buyer agent's info after several attempts is very unusual.


At 9:31am, ******* received a call from **** and ******* asking about the status of the inspector. ******* explained that I was in bad traffic due to an accident and that he attempted to call and alert them. ******* explained the situation and repeated the number he used to call them. They said the number we had was incorrect and ******* made a note and updated their account. ******* advised that I would not be there until 10:15 to 10:30am.

I arrived at the house at approx. 10:30am and apologized for the delay. The apology was accepted and we moved forward with the appointment. No attempt to request a discount was made.

Response..... NO apologies were given to us at the time of inspection.
When we met at the house at 10:30am I said that I was terrible sorry and explained that I tried to call them but the number we had did not accept incoming calls. I also asked them what they wanted to do. They said, " Let's just get on with this. It's okay."
No discount was requested .
A little background on me, I've completed well over 10,000 home inspections over my career and have great responses from all of my client's based on my inspection. I also hold the highest credentials as a home inspector, ASHI Certified Inspector (ACI) and Certified Master Inspector (CMI). I do each inspection in the same manner and they meet & exceed the standards of practice outlined by the State of Illinois licensing body and our agreement.

The report was also completed by the same standards of practice. Per our agreement and the agreement endorsed by my client. Reference file "Service Agreement." Mr. ***** requested that we alter and / or modify the report in a manner that would not be consistent with our standards of practice and with those of our agreement. We refused to alter the report and compromise our findings. The report we sent is accurate and correct and we stand by it. We will not compromise our ethics for any reason.
Reponse: BIG LIE:
The inspection as a whole was mediocre! The inspector did not perform a thorough inspection of the house as other inspectors I had previously hired for other homes I purchased.
If Mr. ***** was happy with his previous, supposed, multiple inspectors. Why did he not just go with one of them? At least one of the other inspectors.. Or the one his agent recommended. Again, I've been doing this a very long time and have never had these type of issues from my client's. My credentials can speak for themselves.
Mrs. ********* relied on the current home renters' for information as to all existing deficiencies within the house.
The tenant offered information to us. I listened to what the tenant had to say. It did not influence our inspection.
For example, the fire place, the renters informed Mr. ********* that it was not operative.
Below is a snap shot from the report. Reference line 7. Fireplace was marked as Defective.

The renters also informed him that the electric outlets in the garage did not work as well as the fire alarms throughout the house.
The GFCI in garage in the report was marked as defective. Reference report of snap shot below:

In addition, there were others items within the house that were never inspected. These items are as followed: the roof, which the day of inspection the weather was nice were a physical inspection was warranted,
The roof was not walked because it was wet at the time of the inspection. The report says it was 26* which is below freezing. Unsafe conditions.


the sump pump where **** claimed that it was ok simply because it had a backup unit. The sump pump was never inspected or even opened to take a look of what was going on.
The sump was inspected and was working at the day of the inspection.


Problem# 3:
After the inspection was completed, the three main issues that were Defective/Marginal where : 1) Fire Place
We said the fireplace is defective. Reference above picture and or report.
2) foundation crackswhere water penetration stains were noticeable in the basement and
We outlined there were foundation cracks and marked them as Marginal which the cracks noted are Marginal. Reference picture or report.. These types of cracks are very common and are correctable.


3) furnace were the humidifier was leaking into the furnace. My wife and I verbally express to Mr. ********* that we wanted the report to be as detailed as possible explaining the root of these problems for all of the three deficiencies as stated in this paragraph so that there is no ifs or buts regarding the scope of the problem by the attorneys and sellers.
The furnace was not Defective as it was working. It was marked as Marginal. We did note the stains and recommended to be serviced.

Problem# 4
We informed Mr. ********* that we needed to have the report as soon as possible given the timing constraints dictated by the Real Estate Contract. Mr. ********* verbally informed us after the inspection was performed that the home inspection report will be issued by the next day. Well the next day came and we never received the report until the following morning. After my wife and I received the report and reviewed it, the report was vague and did not cover the scope of the problems as discussed in paragraph Problem #3.
It's plainly shown when the report was sent and when it was downloaded. It was sent at 9:40pm on the 25th, the following day, and it was downloaded by them at 10:16pm on the 25th. We sent it the following day and they received it the following day.


Problem #5
We contacted Mr. ********* both via phone and email asking him to contact us ASAP to discuss the report as we had many questions and concerns. We also reminded him that we wanted a detailed description of the three problems that ever discovered and that the report did not highlight those problems. We never heard from Mr. *********. His son, ******* ********* did contact us but he was useless as he did not perform the home inspection and he was unable to address our concerns and questions.
I did contact them within a reaso

return their call as I was on an appointment. I returned their call after the appointment.
******* was communicating with them all along.
I marked the Furnace as Defective as it's mechanically not working. I marked the foundation as cracks noted and the maintenance should be performed. The furnace was mechanically working but I did not the stains and that both should be serviced and corrected.

Problem 6:
Eventually Mr. ********* contacted my wife **** who stated that a revised report elaborating in detail the scope of the three major deficiencies (Those are your words, not mine. I still refuse to revise the report to reflect something the foundation and furnace is not. The fireplace was marked as Defective.) will be emailed to use on March 27, 2014 at the latest by 1 p.m. Prior to receiving an email, I filed a complaint with the better business bureau expressing my disappointment in the service and lack of response from Mr. *********.
The complaint was made on the 26th, not the 27th, at 2pm.


******* ********* contacted by wife stating that the revised home inspection report will not be given to us until we remove the Better Business Bureau complaint and any other complaints filed against Mr. ********* and Home Inspectors Consultants. Inc.
At the end of the day we never received the revised home inspection report and for this reason we are filing this complaint against Mr. ********* and company for extortion, unprofessionalism and the lack of duties to be performed by a home inspector as highlighted in the Administrative Code.
For this reason? That would be lying and it would be unethical. There is request is asking me to be unethical and to lie.
Conclusion:
Home Inspector Mr. ********* has proved that he is unethical, unprofessional, and should be discipline for all negative action as highlighted in this complaint letter. The actions by Mr. ********* and company are uncalled for and have made the situation worse than what it already is. Being uncooperative is rude and ignorant. The lack of communication by Mr. ********* has made this real


I sent the report on 3/25/2014 at 9:40:27 PM, the following day. The state of Illinois requires that the inspection report be sent to the client within 48hrs of the appointment which we were certainly within that time frame. Reference document "***********************. - Home Inspection Report."
Response: lie.... Verbally it was stated that the report was going to be given to us the following day, what **** did was hide behind the state require time frame of 48 hours. Which is a proven fact that his word is meaningless and simply unprofessional.
The report was given the follow day and was downloaded the following day. Below is an email from **** on the 25th, the following day.

Also, she requested that we address the fireplace, furnace, and foundation as "mandatory fixes." Again, asking us to do things that are out of our bounds and unethical. A home inspection report cannot be used as an estimate or a proposal.
Phone calls and emails to me and to the office were returned within a timely manner.

In closing, the home inspection was completed in a manner that is based on the standard of practice guidelines and by our agreement. I have a very long career, credential, and respect by my peers, client's, and those in the real estate industry. The report was sent the next day which was well within the time frame set by the state. We returned phone calls and emails within a timely manner.

However, we do admit a delay of our appointment due to unforeseen circumstances. Apologies were given and received. We are still sorry for the delay of our appointment and wish that ******* and **** accept our apology and completely revoke the claim to the Better Business Bureau and from any other avenues.
Response: I WILL NEVER REVOKE MY CLAIM FROM THE BBB. In fact I am so upset about the situation that I have escalated this to other regulatory bodies to conduct an investigation of the poor quality inspection that **** performs.
I believe with this information I am vindicated from all claims. It's clear we addressed all issues and did it correctly.
We were late. Apologize were asked for and given. No discount was asked.
We sent them the report the following day in a completely accurate manner. I'm sorry if they are upset we did not modify it to what they wanted. We could not because it would be lying and it would be unethical.

If you have any questions please contact me by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ******@*********.com.
Regards,
****** ********* ACI, CMI

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Inspection Service, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Mold Remediation, Radon Testing & Service, Building Inspection, Asbestos Consulting & Testing

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.