BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Majestic Custom Enterprises, LLC

Phone: (866) 204-0091Fax: (866) 794-0091

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Mr **** ****** of Majestic Custom Enterprises received a check of $1000 from ********** ****** on Saturday 11/2/2013 for a bathroom repair work. The job was to start on Tuesday 11/5/13 and complete on 11/9/13.

Mr **** showed up with 2 men on Tuesday 11/5/13, these 2 men demolished the bathroom and left my house later that day. No one from the company showed up for the next two days until Friday when a plumber came in and spent less than 1 hour and left.

Since then it has been a series of random men showing up at my house to do something in my bathroom without Mr **** whom I recognize as the face of he company showing up with them. The men would work for 2-3 hours, mess my house up, and would leave without getting the job done.

I and my husband have tried calling **** severally but he would not pick our call neither would he call us. There has not been any talk or explanation from Mr **** as to why the job is still not finished yet. He has not showed up at my house for 2 weeks now and has not called ne nor my husband. Today is 11/20/13, it is going on 3 weeks since we gave this job to Majestic Custom Enterprises.

This job was supposed to be done in 4 days, the company received a check in the exact amount that was requested for advance payment at start up, which is over 75% of the entire cost of the job. The job is not done, I have lost my bathroom and the job owner is not showing up to do the job. In fact, no one has been here since mid last week.

My bathroom is in an unusable state and my entire house is full with their stuff. I have their tools and some dry walls all over my basement and I have kids in the house. ll the stuff removed from the bathroom on 11/5/2013 are still all over the place in my backyard. They were not disposed properly. Mr **** has rendered my bathroom unusable, and have made life a living **** for me and my family these past few weeks that I encountered him and gave him this job. I now bath my 1yr old and 3yr old daughters in the kitchen sink. That ought not be so. I am really hoping the BBB would be able to help me resolve this problem with Majestic Custom Enterprises owned by Mr **** ******.

This company has rendered me nothing but pain, suffering, regret for hiring them and disappointments all the way. I used to think that any business with A+ BBB rating was to the one to go for, but now I don't know if I am right or wrong. I guess I'll find out.

Thank you in anticipation of your swift and positive responds.

Initial Business Response
this job has been completed

yes there was a temporary delay the crew showed up to work on several occasions but could not gain access to work drywall to do the project was set in the very empty basement because we were instructed to put it and the other items out the bathroom there demolition had to be done and we were given specific instructions as where to put items removed from the bathroom items were stored along the wall with vanity and other items to be reinstalled in the bathroom

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The bathroom is still not functional because the faucets are not working right, the entire job was done haphazardly and is neither neat nor satisfactory. These guys show up to my house whenever they want to, without prior notice and without calling to make sure we are home.
Also, the entire garbage from the demolition is still sitting in my backyard alley and is a big concern for me. I need them to get rid of it and make my bathroom functional and usable for me. Perhaps they need to change the faucet or at least do something to make the bathroom work right.

Business Response
From: Majestic Custom Enterprises Llc <************@aol.com>
Date: Tue, Mar 11, 2014 at 5:27 PM
Subject: Re: complaint # XXXXXXXX
To: ********@chicago.bbb.org


I called the owner about the payment he had issued which was uncashable or undepositable ,he told me nothing about the faucet not working
The only issue im aware of with the faucet we addressed and that was the water dripped from the tub spout while the shower ran,we changed it ,purchased another tub spout 3 times

I advised them if it happened again they had a warranty on the product as well as a warranty for labor and was fully operational when we departed
The only other issue with the faucet was the positioning of the handle in which the wife insisted after installation she wanted the handle to be positioned another way inspite the plumber telling her how it was supposed to be positioned
We changed it 3 times as a result

We have absolutely no problem to honor our warranty and service anything related to it just was not made aware. The customer was notified repeatedly things that were not purchased new they wanted reinstalled we would not assume responsibility because they were old and outdated
We did the job we were supposed to do weve been only able to process the initial deposit

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues, but not within the Bureau's timeframe.

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Mr. ****** received a check from the church in the amount of 8,000 on August 4, 2013. His crew started installing the fence on August 6, 2013. They installed a portion of the fence. They told us they would be back the following week August 13, to complete the job. We gave him his second payment in the amount of 4,000. Mr. ****** hired a crew to do the job by the name of ******** We called ******* and asked him what was the problem because Mr. ****** was telling us he was coming and he would never show up. ******* said that Mr. ****** wrote him a bad check so he could not complete the job until he gave him his money. We called **** from a different phone number and asked him about the situation he first stated that ******* was not telling the truth. Then he said he would call us back! He did not call. We called him from a different phone number and he answered we asked him what was going on he said he was waiting on someone else's check to clear so he could clear this situation up. He said he would call us back! He did not call. We called from another unrecognized number he answered and I asked him what was going on? He keeps giving me excuses and telling me he would call me back but he never returns the call.

Initial Business Response
From: Majestic Custom Enterprises Llc <************@aol.com>
Date: Fri, Nov 22, 2013 at 10:32 PM
Subject: Re: Delinquent Complaint for Majestic Custom Enterprises/XXXXXXXX
To: ******@chicago.bbb.org


this issue has been resolved
the customer stated they were waiting for response from you to verify
thanks let me know

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/25/2011Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: To make a long story short....
On August 13, 2013, I entered into a contract with a Majestic Enterprise Customer LLC, **** ******, owner, to remodel my kitchen with the expectation/understanding to be completed by October/November 2013. A total of $8,500 was given (1st payment of $5,000 on 8/13/13 & 2nd payment of $3,500 on 9/6/13, as he stated the price of the cabinets increased). The kitchen cabinets were to be ordered from *********, ************ Street, Chicago IL., where he previously purchased and had nice products. I requested my flooring from ****** ************ showed him a sample of the flooring. Upon receipt of the 2nd payment, he stated he would order the kitchen cabinets and flooring. After not getting any updates, on 9/30/13, I visited *********, during my conversation with the designer consultant; he stated no order for kitchen cabinets were placed by the contractor at the designated location. The consultant even showed me the kitchen cabinets that were recommended to **** at the time of his visit to *********. Upon learning of the new information, I immediately sent a text message to the contractor (****) asking him to contact me. After not receiving a returned phone call, I sent an email expressing my concerns. He replied via email..."Mrs **** your order was placed the day after you gave the deposit for the cabinets you chose." I responded to his email to request for the purchased order. In October, I contact him again for a status update on the remodeling project and the whereabouts of the cabinets; stated he has not heard from the vendor. Later in October 2013, he delivered 6 boxes of flooring with one more box to be delivered, which I have not received thus far (he stated it is on his truck). At that time, he still did not have any details information to provide me. For the past months, I had to continually contact him about the remodeling project because there were no communication from him. Each time I contacted him, for a timeline and/or when the kitchen cabinets would arrive, he would only give excuses and stated he would call back. I contacted him several times in December, even left a voice mail message and sent text messages; all have gone unanswered. On December 31, 2013, I mailed a certified letter to the contractor notifying him that he had until January 9, 2014, to response; he did not answer back to the certificate letter nor did he call. Most recent attempts were the month of January 2014, I contacted him; he only gave more excuses why the kitchen cabinets had not arrived. During our one of our conversations he blamed the vendor for delay. I requested for a conference call with *********; but he decided different. Also, asked do I need to seek legal help?. He stated he would take care of the matter and to give him one week to have it resolved. I explained to him that I/we have been very patience throughout the entire process; he agreed. One week later, we did not received any calls nor emails from the contractor. On January 30, 2014, I contacted him again, this time he promised to send me the purchased order for my cabinets; however, no mention of when the remodeling project would start. I sent a follow up email to him, no reply from him. On January 31, 2014, I contacted him, but no answer; left a voice mail message. As of today, we have not received the purchased order for the kitchen cabinet, as he stated. More importantly, as of today, we have not received the kitchen cabinets nor no mentioned of when the remodeling project would start; as well as we have not received any returned phone calls, emails, or text messages from the contractor. Based on the above, I would considered this a breach of contract failing to perform the task. At this point our (my husband and I) patience has ran out and we do not wish to continue conducting services with Majestic Enterprise Customer LLC. **** ******, owner and request for our money back

Initial Business Response
we are awaiting for the manufacture in which the cabinets were ordered from to refund the purchase this week . the cabinets were ordered and paid for the flooring was ordered and delivered to customer..
this issue will be resoled in the very near future

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response provided to BBB by the contractor is startling because the contractor has not communicated nor provided any correspondence that would support the cabinets were ordered. We agreed upon a price based on the chosen manufacturer; we did not discuss nor agreed to order from any other manufacturer(s). As stated in my initial complaint, after not getting any updates from the contractor on the delivery of the kitchen cabinets. I visited ****** ** and learned that there was no order placed by the contractor or his business. Therefore, I cannot rely on the contractor response. Please note, during a recent telephone conversation with *********, I was again informed no order was placed for kitchen cabinets by the contractor or his business. Yet again, I cannot rely on the contractor statement. Throughout the entire process, we had to contact the contractor numerous times and he has not been responsive. Therefore, we no longer want to do business with Majestic Custom Enterprise or the contractor. The best resolution for this complaint is a return our payments (refund).
Yes, six boxes of flooring were delivered; however, this is not in dispute.


Final Business Response
Majestic Custom Enterprises Llc <************@aol.com>Fri, Apr 18, 2014 at 8:59 AM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org
the refund will be delivered to the **** residence on the upcoming wednesday
We do apologize for the way things turned out



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off, to accept the business response it would have to be contingent upon me receiving my refund before or by March 31, 2014, no later.

It is disappointed to read the response. Once again, the contractor states he is waiting on the manufacturer; this is the same story given when I contacted the contractor in January. In addition, what is a delay for returning the second payment that was given on 9/6/13; any remaining funds should be returned immediately? Overall, I strongly feel the response is another excuse for delay to return my refund. Please note if this issue is not resolved by the above date, the next step would be to go to arbitration. If not settled during arbitration, the contractor leaves us with no other choice but to seek legal actions. Therefore, I hope this issue can be resolved by the above-mentioned date.

In general, the contractor has demonstrated poor business practices to the customer. This process has caused us great pain and sadness; therefore, we no longer want to accept any more excuses; just want our refund by March 31, 2014

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Upon signing and placing a deposit on 8/13/13 of $12,500 to have the basement of our home decommissioned and turned into a 2Bdrm/1Bth, the work has not been consistent in terms of a day-to-day basis.

We (the consumer) have to contact the seller (Mr. **** ******) almost on a daily basis to see if any work will be performed within our home as contracted. Excuses that have been given: delays at Home Depot w/products needed for the job; coming to the jobsite unequipped; no communication from Majestic - if we do not contact them, no communication will be had; no description of services on a daily basis to determine project finish date. We were originally told the project would be completed within a month's time.

Initial Business Response
our staff member has had opportunity to speak with the customer and addressed the issue we have worked to resolve this issue or customer concern the project is in final stages

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I do not accept this response from the business as this new foundation issue has just presented itself and has not been a contributing fact of the lack of services being delivered. Upon the discovery of the new foundation crack/leak, days (a entire week) had went by without any work being done. I have also addressed the workout equipment & TV that remain in the basement during the construction building phase as the items are full of dust and other items. The owner stated that the next time the items should be moved which I simply replied that a drop cloth should have been provided to cover these items while the work was being performed. Now our question is if the Treadmill is no longer functioning properly will we be compensated for this or will the item be replaced????? The owner seems more interested in being paid to provide services however he sees fit vs providing the services he has been contracted to do....

NOTE FROM THE BBB:
Please provide a copy of the consumer's signed contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX.

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Final Business Response
this customer says we are not communicating we communicate with the one person on the contract the information is being or not being communicated by them .

As previously mentioned we came to do this job and other issues not related to our contract surfaced and as a courtesy we suspended work to allow them to fix the problem before the walls were closed as per their request

We received a 1 time payment of XXXXX.00 dollars of XXXXX.00 dollars and the project was in its final stages and did other work such as moving everything from the basement with no additional compensation on the last day i called and informed them i was on my way i got there and she informed me to contact the inspector and locked the gate the items mentioned such as the walking machine ws covered and cleaned by us

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Contractors-Drywall / Plastering, Contractors - Flooring, Contractor - Interior Trim, Moldings, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Windows, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Storm Windows & Doors, Shutters, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Doors - Installation, Doors, Countertops, Cabinets, Millwork, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Flood assistance, Hardwood Floor Maintenance, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Insulation Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Garage Builders, Contractors - General, Concrete Contractors, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.