BBB Accredited Business since

Highlander Improvement Co

Phone: (630) 283-0764 View Additional Phone Numbers 2198 Gladstone Ct STE C, Glendale Heights, IL 60139

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Highlander Improvement Co. is a home improvement company which provides interior and exterior remodeling services for residential, commercial, and industrial clients, including the installation of siding, gutters, and roofs. Located in Glendale Heights, IL, this company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Lombard, Villa Park, Bloomingdale, Carol Stream, Wood Dale, Bensenville, Wheaton, Glen Ellyn, Addison, Elmhurst, Winfield, Medinah, Roselle, Itasca, Bartlett, Hanover Park, Berkely, West Chicago, Downers Grove, Warrenville, Lisle, Westmont, Clarendon Hills, Hinsdale, Willowbrook, Oak Brook, Oakbrook Terrace, Streamwood, and Schaumburg. The company has been in business since 2011 and is a member of the National Roofing Contractors Association, the Northern Illinois Home Builders Association, and the National Association of the Remodeling Industry. The company is licensed, bonded, and insured, and is locally owned and operated.

This company provides improvement services for residential, commercial, and industrial customers, including solving common building problems related to damage of exterior elements of the home. This includes the replacement and repair of roofing, siding, gutters, window and doors, and soffit and fascia. Highlander Improvement Co. can provide roof vent repair, skylight repair, interior and exterior painting, roof inspections, hail and wind damage services, shingle placement and repair, and black mold remediation and prevention. Their products, including siding, roofing, and windows, come in a variety of sizes and colors in order to suit the different décor and tastes of their customers, and are built to withstand the extreme weather of Chicago's harsh winters and brutal summers.

Visit the website for Highlander Improvement Co. to learn more about their services, view galleries of their work, and contact the company to request their services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Highlander Improvement Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Highlander Improvement Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Highlander Improvement Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2012 Business started: 06/30/2011 Business started locally: 06/30/2011 Business incorporated 06/30/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rafal Karkoszka, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rafal Karkoszka, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Home Improvements Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Soffit & Fascia Carpenters Construction Estimates Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Highlander Improvement Co has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2198 Gladstone Ct STE C

    Glendale Heights, IL 60139 (773) 709-8949 (630) 283-0764


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Highlander Improvement Company install a new roof, gutters, and Fascia. They completed the work on 9/16/13. The total price for the install was $11,070.65. After I made the final payment I received a lifetime warranty certificate. I was happy with the work until now, the Fascia blew off the side of my roof. I called Highlander on 11/3/14 I spoke with ******** and she said this is covered under the warranty. ******** said that they would have someone call me back to schedule an appointment. 2 days had passed and I never received a call back. I called them again and ******** promised me that she would look into this. She called me back and said that someone would give me a call today to set up a service call. Once again I never received a call from them so I called them back on 11/6/14. ******** said that she was going to call me today, she asked me to email them pictures of the roof issues. ******** said her boss wanted to make sure he sent the right person out and that they had what they needed to do the repair. I emailed her the pictures still no response back. I called back on 11/12/14 I asked to speak with the owner and of course he wasn't available. ******** said that she will have someone from the production team call me to schedule an appointment in a few days. Once again no call back! So on 11/17/14 I called them ******** said she apologizes for this she will talk to her boss about this and call me back. ******** did call back she promised me that the installer would come out on Saturday 11/22/14 so that I wouldn't have to take off of work. He will give you a call when he is on his way it will be early afternoon. I waited and once again another no call no show. I called back on Monday morning 11/24/14. I asked to speak to the owner ******** said he was on the phone she said she will call the installer to find out what happened. She called me back and said that she apologizes for the mix up and that the installer will call me today to set up a good time for me to do the repairs. Of course they never called that's why I'm filing this complaint with you about Highlanders horrible customer service. I feel that I've been more than patient about this I'm tired of talking to ********. Any help that your team can give me with this matter would be greatly appreciated! Thank You in Advance! ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I just want them to do the repairs or pay the bill for me to have another company do the repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/12) */ We were notified of this situation during our busiest time which is the end of year - we try to accommodate everyone's request before the holidays. The homeowner reacted too suddenly with the complaint, we wanted to fix the issue but we weren't able to come through as soon as we would have liked because the subcontractor who was doing the job last year doesn't work for us anymore; we had tried to have him repair it since it was his workmanship at fault. He had assured us he would be repairing it, however due to numerous attempts to confirm the repair and a no show we decided to dispatch it to a new subcontractor. The color of the fascia which the homeowner had was custom made and we had to go drive to the homeowner and collect a sample then locate a supplier that had it available. The new subcontractor installed the fascia the same day he was notified. We apologize for this, it is not always possible to do things as fast as the client would like as this is the building industry and we are dependent on numerous factors, weather being a main one, especially at this time of year.