Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

FM Home Maintenance and Remodeling, Inc

Phone: (630) 532-8979 Fax: (815) 624-8385 View Additional Phone Numbers 89 Autumnwood Dr, Rockton, IL 61072 http://www.fmremodeling.us


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FM Home Maintenance and Remodeling, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for FM Home Maintenance and Remodeling, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on FM Home Maintenance and Remodeling, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2014 Business started: 03/22/2002 Business started locally: 03/22/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fabio Mendes, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fabio Mendes, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Painting Contractors Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Roof Structures Basement - Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Handyman Services Contractors - Flooring Contractors-Sandblasting/Power Washing Electricians – Residential Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Products & Services

This business offers: Specializes in Home Improvements, Remodeling, Painting, Flooring, Windows, and Doors, Plastering, Carpentry, Electrical, Plumbing, Drains, Roofing, Handyman Services, Finished Basements, Power Washing, Etc.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Mr ******, to do some remodeling, we thought he was trustworthy and honest, but sad to say he took advantage of us. I had talk to Mr ****** about putting in a new water heater. We agreed upon a GE,for $349.00 with a 6 year warranty from home depot. We trusted that, that's what he put in. It had a overflow valve on it why we did not know, just thought it was the way it was with the new models. But the overflow kept leaking, so I would call him and he said it was under warranty and he would fix it. So he come and fixed it we thought but the very next day water was all over. I called, he called me back and said it needed another piece to make it run properly. Only cost us $280.00 more dollars. So I did some calling to home depot and Mr ******, put in a cheaper water heater $275.00, this is not what was to be put in. He also threw all the information and booklet to the water heater away. I didn't not receive a lot of the warranties for the services he did, he said I did not need them, because he guaranteed all his work.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like for him to put the right water heater in. GE with 6 year warranty, I can not afford to pay $600.00 or more for a 40 gal water heater. I just want the one we agreed upon, GE, 6 year warranty and it was $349.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/21) */ Thank you for the chance to submit my side of the story. First off, we never discussed a brand of hotwater heater but for the record I installed a GE Hotpoint brand. I repaired and or replaced many items for this client, when finished, she informed me she was very satisfied with my work and paid me, I deposited her check and soon found out she made a stop payment, I called her to discuss why and found out she was unhappy with one of my charges, we came to an agreement and she wrote me another check, which I was able to cash. Shortly afterwards she called complaining about a leak with the hotwater heater, I replaced the pressure valve, thinking that was the problem but that didn't correct the leak. I called the manufacture and because I replaced some of the basement water piping the manufacture informed me I would need to add a small pressure reserve tank to allow for the increased water pressure. I informed the client of this and that there would be an additional cost involved, she declined and we discussed the situtation,she informed me she was going to let me know her plans. Now attorneys are involved. I would love to get this behind us and make everyone happy. I hope you are able to help. Thank you for your help, ***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on FM Home Maintenance and Remodeling, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)