Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

William Ryan Homes, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 995-8700 Fax: (847) 995-1353 View Additional Phone Numbers 945 N Plum Grove Rd STE G, Schaumburg, IL 60173 http://www.williamryanhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that William Ryan Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for William Ryan Homes, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on William Ryan Homes, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 05/14/1991 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Karen Kraft Lauren Edwards
Contact Information
Principal: Karen Kraft
Business Category

Home Builders Contractor - General Green Builder Contractors - General New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
Ryan Building Group Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2700 Patriot Boulevard
    Suite 430

    Glenview, IL 60026

  • 945 N Plum Grove Rd STE G

    Schaumburg, IL 60173 (888) 639-7926 8479958700305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a newly built home on April 29 2016. On May 1 2016, the sump pump did not work and the basement flooded. We called the builder William Ryan to let them know that the basement flooded. That same day Ryan ******* who is the builder came by to look at the flooding but did not offer assistance. I told them that the cold water pipes are dripping water from condensation. Ryan said that its not code for them to install insulation around the cold water pipes. I ended up going out to buy a floor squeegee and floor cleaner. The Plumber did not come for another 16 days to check on the sump pump. Wednesday May 18 2016 Sod was installed. When I got off work I found out that the ground was not graded properly, there are large gaps between the grass and there was garbage tucked underneath sod. We are also stuck to pay the high water bill costs because the builder did not place sod on our property before the closing of our home. May 23 2016 I found water seepage where the floor meets the walls. So the next day May 24th, I called ** *************. They sent out an inspector same day. The water proofing expert said that the drain tile may have been compromised. The cold water pipes need to be insulated, and the rocks in the sump pit need to be cleaned out, which may have caused the sump pump to fail May 1st, and he suggested I also hire a home inspector May 25 2016 I submitted a report to William Ryan that mold was growing on the basement dry wall because of the seepage May 26 2016 Ryan ******* came by and said that if there is mold to use bleach. Bleach is toxic to breath and its only going to be a temporary fix. Ryan left a dehumidifier and did not address any of the other issues we have with the home, the grass, the rocks in the sump pit, the door not closing properly. June 8I hired a home inspector from Brickkicker Property Inspection. The inspector came through to inspect the basement, he also mentioned that the wetness in basement is not normal

Desired Settlement: 1.Repair the wetness in basement, whether it be from hydrostatic pressure, the drain tile or something else. Our builder stated that we are suppose to have interior and exterior drain tiles, but the home inspector said we do not have interior drain tile. 2.Trash and debris underneath sod, there are open areas where there is no grass. Its uneven and wobbly. Help with our water bill for watering the sod, which should have been installed prior to our closing. 3.Cold and hot water pipes in basement need to be properly insulated. 4.Front door to home is misaligned and does not close properly, would like it to be repaired. 5.Kitchen Drawer misaligned. 6.The tree in the front yard is not firmly planted, its crooked.

Business Response:

I would like to respond tho the ****** issues individually;

1) The sump pump was functioning properly on May 2 when Mr. ******* inspected it.  There may have been a ***** issue related to it not working on May 1st due to storms in the area.  However, if the pump had failed on May 1st it would not have been functioning on May 2nd or thereafter.

2) Like all new homes, the ****** home is filled with new building materials that must go through a curing or drying process.  This includes concrete.  Depending on environmental conditions, concrete will both absorb and wick moisture.  It is important to maintain a normal humidity level in your home to minimize this condition.  To help reduce the humidity in the ****** basement we encouraged them to run their A/C and provided them with a dehumidifier.  The dehumidifier must be set to 50% of lower to remove the humidity from the air.  Once the home is stabilized and proper ventilation is maintained the dehumidifier use can be discontinued.  Too much humidity can cause cold pipes to sweat, as the ****** witnessed.  At one of Mr. *******'s visits to the home he found that the dehumidifier was not being used even though the humidity level read 90%.

3) We always install landscaping as one of the final items of construction.  We advise all our homeowners that it is their responsibility to water the landscaping as needed to make sure it does not die.  For the *****, we even loaned them a sprinkler but they did not water their lawn enough.  Proper watering is a homeowner maintenance responsibility.

We provide all our homeowners with a written warranty that provides 1, 2 and 10 years of protection for different components of the home.  We stand behind that warranty and remain committed to fulfilling any obligations to the *****.

*********** *******

Chicago Division President

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I am happy to hear that William Ryan will stand behind their warranty and remain committed to fulfilling any of our obligations!
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ****

1/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently built a new home with william ryan. Ive had nothing but problems with them and there extremely low quality of work. I have written up at least a dozen complaints. several they are now telling me they will not fix. My basement floor was never finished smooth. I the are where my power room will be the floor has a 3/8 hump in 4'. It is like this throughout most of the basement. I have showed it to the builder as well as the owner of the concrete company (**** concrete) The owner ********* stood in my basement and admitted that his crew did a very bad job. There is one floor drain in the basement, in the mechanical room. This drain was set too high. When the concrete was poured they ramped it up to the drain . Rather than tapered it down to the drain. Now the floor does not drain. The builder is telling me it's not a floor drain. It's only for the condensate pump, and there for they will not fix it. it's in the floor it's a floor drain. The way it is if my hot water heater over flows or leaks it will not drain and ruin any finish i do in the basement. I believe these issues need to be addressed and the builder is giving me the run around because they will not be easy fixes.

Desired Settlement: fix my basement issues

Business Response: We previously responded to this complaint via e-mail to BBB referencing the complaint number in the subject line of e-mail.  On 12/30 we will copy and paste that response into this form as well as forward again to BBB.

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We discovered the melted siding about a year ago and informed our builder **** of the problem immediately. After he looked into it we were told it should be added to our 11 month warranty issues. We put it in our 11 month warrnaty issue. The melted siding is caused by the low e windows of our neighbors. We have since put shades on the outside of their windows to deflect the sun. *** from William Ryan was dealing with all of our warranty issues. There was some discussion of if the siding was going to be covered. Then we were told the siding would be replaced. I was told this by *** and then ****** (who replaced ***). After I hadn't heard anything in a number of months. I followed up using William Ryan's website and *** informed me that they would not be repairing the siding and that I should contact the mayor's office. I contacted the mayors office and they brought ****** ****** into an email chain regarding the siding. ****** was asked at least 3 times what the cost to repair the siding would be and never responded. I followed up with************** the builder of my neighbors homes and was told since no house they built had melted siding in my neighborhood it should be the responsibility of my builder (******************* XXX-XXX-XXXX). As she explained my builder is the one that offered the siding that is now melting and they should stand behind their product. Then I spoke to ******* the window mfg and ****** told me that it is an environmental problem with how close the builder puts homes together, where the home is located, and the quality of the siding used. Everyone is telling me this is something our builder should handle. I know they replaced other people's siding in our neighborhood that had the same issue. We have taken steps to prevent further damage but are still getting no help from William Ryan. 12/10/14 info from consumer: On 11/26 ****** ******* reached out and said they would replace the siding. As of today I haven't heard from anyone else regarding when the repair will be done. I will let you know if/when the siding is replaced. Thank you. *******

Desired Settlement: Replace my melted siding.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/01/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, VP Ops Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@********** We're happy to report that this situation has been resolved. The melted siding was caused by windows of a neighboring home built by another builder, which were acting like a magnifying glass. Although we were unable to get the other builder to respond to requests to repair the siding, The Mayor of *********** and I agreed to split the cost of repair to the ******'s home, as they are a valued customer/resident of ours. This case can be dismissed. Thank you.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family had a home built by William Ryan Homes and we closed in 8/12. This included a poured driveway priced in our contract at approximately 20k. We were instructed to put no salt or chemicals down for at least a year, of which we fully complied with and only hand shoveled. During the next spring we noticed scaling and crumbling concrete at the approach and 10ft+ up the driveway. William Ryan told us that this was because of salt from cars and would go no further. I asked for additional proof and followup and received no more response. After the past winter, of which we again applied no salt or chemicals, our driveway experienced severe scaling, chipping and crumbling concrete from the garage door of the home all the way out to the street. This was very embarrassing and upsetting because we paid approximately 20k for a new driveway and now it was beginning to look like an old weathered and chipping, crumbling slab a year later or less. It's to be noted that the garage floor which was poured a few months before the driveway by William Ryan has absolutely no chipping, crumbling cracking or scaling. So if it were salt from cars causing this horrible problem, our cars which we park in the garage nightly should be causing the garage slab to also crumble. I researched this issue online and the results say that the improper mix of concrete making materials would cause this to happen. I also had a professional contractor take a look at it and they said the same thing as my research, without me devulging any of my research findings. I have left multiple emails and voicemail messages with William Ryan homes employees located in the Wisconsin area offices as well as called the Illinois offices and have received no response since an initial email from them asking me to record the issue again in my warranty webpage on the William Ryan site and someone would respond to me. No one has since responded to me in 2 months after multiple emails, phone calls and voicemails. I also have a friend that I sent to William Ryan initially as a referral and I am now rethinking why I did this. I don't have 20k to waste on crumbling concrete and I would like this driveway replaced because at this point a repair would also crumble and separate from the poorly constructed driveway.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking replacement of the entire driveway. My driveway is less than two years old and it is crumbling at a rate that will make it a rocky mess within the next year. It is clear to myself and professional contractor assessment that the sealer or mix of materials was installed incorrectly. WIlliam Ryan has received my money but the product that has been provided to me is of severely poor quality.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, VP Ops Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@wmryan.com While I empathize with this customer's issues, this complaint is for the company ******* **** Homes in WI which is a different company that the ******* **** Homes, INC in Illinois. This customer is not a customer of ours. They should either reach to the ******* **** Homes in WI or file complaint with the BBB against the ******* **** Homes in WI. Please remove this claim from our file. Thank you, ******* ****** Vice President of Operations ******* **** Homes, INC

11/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We closed on our home on 3/26. Our purchase included a "fully sodded lawn" and a fence for the backyard for an additional $9k. Neither was installed at the time of closing. We started asking our superintendent, **** ******* about the status of the sod in April. We were told at least 10 times between April and early June that it would be installed "next week". In mid-June, we reached out to *** ****** @ WRH for help. We were living in a mud pit due to all of the rain and needed to be able to use our lawn. *** claimed the delay was that there was a sod shortage in the area. I have talked to many local landscapers and sod suppliers, and not one had a problem sourcing sod. At this point, *** agreed to reimburse us for the fence interest since closing, as well as pay for our floors to be cleaned due to the mud. We haven't seen any action on this. We went back and forth for weeks, and finally were told the sod would be installed on Monday, 7/8. We were given no further information or instructions. My husband was off work Mon 7/8 and Tues 7/9 so that he could be home to discuss the watering needs with the landscapers. On Mon, 7/8, we were both home and waited all day. Our lawn was still covered in weeds that were at 6-8 inches tall. At 6:00 pm, someone showed up with bobcat and graded for about 30 minutes. There was no communication from WRH. On Tuesday 7/9. a truck dropped a load of sod in front of our house around 9:00 AM. That sod sat in front of our house, in the hot sun on one of the hottest days this summer for over 24 hours. No sod was laid, and there was no communication from WRH. On Wednesday 7/10, **** had to work 24 hour shift. I was home alone with my 3 year old and infant twins. The landscapers came early and started grading. At some point their grading attachment on the bobcat broke, and they used a rake to finish grading by hand, resulting in many weeds in our lawn. The sod was laid starting around 10 AM. The sod had been on the pallets since it was cut at 3:00 AM the day before, so at least 30 hours. In this heat, sod shouldn't be on a truck more than 12 - 24 hours max. It was laid on completely dry dirt that was barely graded. Around 1:00 pm, **** ****** knocked on my door and asked me for an entire set up of hoses and sprinklers. We were not told ahead of time that these would be set up by the landscapers. My husband talked to the landscaper and they offered to go to ******, buy and install what we needed, and we could reimburse them. Because we knew the sod had to be watered right away and our hands were tied, we had to agree. We ended up paying $770 to the landscaping company to install the sprinklers with timers on Wed, 7/10. They ran out of sod, and had to come back Thurs, 7/11 to finish the side yard. According to ***'s sod ticket, this sod was harvested at 3:00 AM on Wed, 7/10, so that sod sat for 30+ hours in the heat also. On Thurs 7/11, we were unable to check on the details of what the landscaper had done with the sprinkler system as my husband didn't get home from work until that morning, and I had been previously scheduled for major surgery so were at the hospital all day. However, the sprinklers had been installed on 7/10 by the landscaper on timers, and were watering the sod. By Friday 7/12, the sod already looked bad - but not because it had not been watered as *** claims, but because it had already started to die on the pallets before it was laid on bone-dry dirt. **** started doing additional watering with a hose on the bad spots. Despite our best efforts and continuous watering since the day of install (with huge water bills), the front yard sod has died and is covered with weeds and crab grass. *** contends that this is our fault for not watering the sod. However, this is completely false as the sod has been watered 2x/day since installation. Additionally, the sod was not installed on the date that we were told, and there was no communication about the change in date.

Desired Settlement: The sod that is dead and covered in weeds / crab grass needs to be removed and replaced. Due to the late installation of the sod in the heat of July, instead of by 4/30/13 as required by our purchase agreement, as well as the additional watering for several extra weeks due to the poor condition of the sod when it was laid and the ongoing dispute, WRH should pay for the water and sewer bills used to water the grass. Due to the lack of notice by WRH of the actual installation date, we were backed into a corner and forced to pay a landscaper last minute to install a sprinkler set up with timers. WRH should reimburse us $770 that we paid to the landscaper. If the sod had been installed on 7/8 as planned, we would have been able to source and install our own sprinklers and timers. Due to the loss of the use of our lawn for more than 4 months, the dirt and mud tracked in our home during that time, the interest paid on a $9k fence that still is not installed, time spent disputing this with WRH, their non-responsiveness, as well as the way we have been treated by WRH, we feel WRH should be liable for damages as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** VP of Oper Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@wmryan.com I'm sorry, but I just received this notice on 9/10, even though it was dated 8/30. It says that I must respond by 9/9, but only just received on 9/10. Please give us an extension to 9/13 in order to respond properly. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) William **** Homes has agreed to replace the sod. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/10/28) */ The letter below was sent to the ********* as resolution. As a side note, I'm still not getting notices even with the switch to notice by Fax. Please look into this. ***** From: ****** ****** Sent: Monday, October 28, XXXX XX:XX AM To: ******** ******* (*******@gmail.com); **********@gmail.com Subject: Replacement of your dead sod Importance: High Although ******* **** Homes maintains that the failure of your sod is a homeowner care issue and not a faulty sod issue, we didn't realize the hurt and shame this issue was causing our other homeowners. In the interest of our homeowners, ******* **** Homes is offering to replace the dead sod within the front and forward side yards of your home free of charge. This offer requires you that you water the sod daily, in the morning for 2-hours each section. The sod is not to be watered after 3pm. It also requires that you fertilize the sod right away with a new grass fertilizer with weed control (we recommend Scotts'(r) Starter'(r) Food for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer) The installation of this sod does not come with any warranty and will be your sole responsibility to maintain this sod as noted. This offer also requires you posting that "this situation has been resolved" on Ripoff.com and the release of your claim to the BBB and any other websites that you may have posted to before the sod will be installed. As the season for sod installation is coming to a close, in order to install the sod yet this year, we would need your acknowledgment to this agreement by noon tomorrow (Tuesday 10/29). If we do not hear from you, then we will assume you have found another resolution for your sod and this offer is withdrawn. This offer is the only offer that will be made. I look forward to hearing from you. ******* ****** Vice President of Operations C: XXX-XXX-XXXX F: XXX-XXX-XXXX *******@wmryan.com Find your NEW home at www.WilliamRyanHomes.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on William Ryan Homes, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)