Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

K. Hovnanian Company

Phone: (630) 210-8888 Fax: (630) 946-6629 1804 N Naper Blvd STE 200, Naperville, IL 60563 http://www.khov.com/chicago View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K. Hovnanian Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K. Hovnanian Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K. Hovnanian Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1958 Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated 02/21/2013 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andy Konovodoff, Division President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Konovodoff, Division President
Business Category

Home Builders Condominiums Building Contractors New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
K, Hovnanian Homes

Additional Locations

  • 1804 N Naper Blvd STE 200

    Naperville, IL 60563 (630) 210-8888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought new home (new construction) on 11/24/2014. Just after one summer and starting 2nd summer, the air conditioner was broke down. On 6/27/16 and 6/29/16, we asked ******** ****** ******* and Air Conditioning and ****** ******* & ******* to check the problem. Both of them found there is a leaking due to improper installation of the air conditioner. On 7/8/16, we sent email to K Hovnanian Homes to explain the problem and ask for $465 reimbursement. There is no response from the builder.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate it if K Hovnanian Homes could reimburse $465 to us.

Business Response:

This customer had an issue with their HVAC system and did not give us the opportunity to fix the problem.  We offer a 2-year warranty with the HVAC system in the home and all the customer had to do was contact us and we would have had our trade fix the issue.  They decided to go outside our warranty process and have the problem fixed at their own cost.  We will not be reimbursing any monies spent that were not authorized.

Sincerely,

***** *****

 


2/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The development I live in is brand new and nearing completion. The lot next to mine is currently under construction. I have reason to believe the painters for that house used my hose to wash their tools (my grass, spigot, hose and siding have white paint on them). That in and of itself wouldn't be so bad, except that the hose was left on for what is estimated to be an entire month until the Village called to alert us to the spike in usage and approximately $3500 in water and sewer usage. It was at that time that my wife found the hose on the back corner of our house laying in the grass, running wide open. I approached our KHOV site manager and told him the issue. He was cooperative, but only to a point. He looked at my photos and came to look for himself and seemed to draw the same conclusion that I did; it looked like white paint. The water had not been hooked up on that site at the time of painting and the manager acknowledged that the workers (20 feet from my hose) might have done it. But after talking to his sub-contractors and supervisor, he decided that his schedule for the painters did not match the time of the usage (by a couple days) and that he didn't know what else he could do. I think it is clear to him and I both what happened. I have a recorded history of his workers driving their equipment over my yard, stacking and leaving boxes of materials against my house for over a week, leaving coffee cups and other garbage to blow into my yard, etc. The lots are so close together that the usual black fencing that defines the property lines had to be removed so they could dig the basement and get equipment into the back yard. The lack of this fence has led to many boundary crossings. It seems like KHOV is happy to let it go to court and see what happens, but that is poor customer service considering this is a brand new community with other developments going up in the area. Bad word of mouth will far surpass the cost of the contractors' negligence.

Desired Settlement: I would like KHOV or its sub-contractors to accept responsibility and pay the Village for the usage of the water. Our typical usage based on the 6 months we've lived here is under $100/mo, so the quoted usage cost of $3,595.70 (plus a possible partial month's usage on the next bill) is extraordinarily surprising and burdensome. The Village has said they can make an adjustment which will waive the sewer fee, but not until the bill has been sent out, which should be this week. If the sewer fee is removed, the final payment may be less than the number quoted above. Regardless of the final cost, with or without the sewer fee, I should not have to incur the usage costs for any of the water that was used without my knowledge.

Business Response:

BBB Claim number: ********

To whom it may concern:

K. Hovnanian Homes will reimburse Mr. **** for the water usage at his home in the amount of approximately $3,500.  Mr. **** will give me a copy of his water bill in the next couple days per our conversation on 2/3/2016.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Community Manager

K. Hovnanian Homes

Cell ************

2/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K Hovnanian homes has not yet lived up to their warranty agreement and service repairs. They have failed to fixed items including; failing to meet state code for insulation in outside walls, cracks in room shower, failing to vent Over The Range Microwave, failed to fixed windows that allows air into house, toilets that allows waist to come back up after flushing, failed fixed exposed painter tape in ceiling. K Hovnanian is the worst home builder in the Illinois and the nation.

Desired Settlement: K Hovnanianto buy home back or fixed all below: Insulation in all outside walls include over the windows, toilets replaced, new windows installed, patio door fixed, microwave install based on manufacture's specifications, bathroom cracks fixed and fix exposed painter's tape in ceiling.

Business Response:

Response to ***** ***** Complaint:

I met with Mr. and Mrs. ***** of Friday 1/22/16 at 2:30 pm to discuss the following issues:

1: They do not like the fact that the microwave exhaust goes into a sheet metal box on an outside wall that does not allow insulation to be installed in that area of the wall.  They also were upset that cold air can draft into the microwave and cause frost.  This has only occurred on the absolute coldest day of the year and this has not happened since.  We have installed their microwave exhaust system to our specifications which have been approved by the City of Aurora.  Mr. ***** wanted me to remove the exhaust box, insulate the area and use a straight connector from the back of the microwave through the wall.   I explained that this will not alleviate the problem of the potential of having cold air drafting back into the microwave.  Mr. ***** has referenced a video of an unaccredited source on the internet and wants us to match how the gentleman on the video installed the fan, which is routing is up through the cabinet above, using a 90 degree elbow and then a straight piece of pipe through the wall to a spring loaded exhaust box.   I have agreed to install the ducting to this method even though it is done correctly per our spec and per city code.

2: There is damage on their hall bath shower that was not noted on an orientation form because it was not there at the time of their closing.  I had agreed at our  1/22/16 to send our fiberglass repair guy out to get it done when we agree to set up a service date.

3: Mr. ***** does not like the tape seams on his ceiling.  We have already had the drywall company out for 3 days repairing them and he still is not happy. I agreed that if they want us to work on them more we can do it, but I would like to do it at the time of the 11-month warranty work.  (Again, I feel they are fine). They agreed to this in email correspondence pasted below:

From: ***** ***** [*****************@hotmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 26, 2016 12:34 PM
To: *****, *******
Subject: RE: Friday Meeting

Thanks for the prompt follow up from our Friday meeting.

Just to make sure that our expectations with regards to the outside wall and microwave are understood, we have listed them below:

1)     It is our expectation that the existing vent for the microware will be removed  and the hole closed and sealed. The entire outside wall should  be insulated.

2)    The existing microwave  should  be reinstalled using the appropriate equipment and tools.

We have decided to wait until the 11th month to resolve  the issue with the ceilings and will get back to you with the toilet selection as soon as we have received the options that are available to us.

                                         

Thanks again for the support!

4: There is a window in the master bedroom that we have to replace and I agreed to have this done at our 1/22/16 meeting.

5: Mr. ***** is upset that his toilets do not have enough flushing capacity to handle the size of his bowel movements.  I explained to him that the state mandated toilets only have a flushing capacity if 1.28 gallons per flush.  He says that this is a health and safety issue and that the toilets are defective.  I disagreed with him but agreed to upgrade him to either of the toilet upgrades that we offer.  He chose to go with the ****** ********** toilets that we offer.  I explained that these toilets have the same 1.28 flushing capacity and that we will not be liable when the new toilets still do not handle his bowel movements. 

6: There has now been a new issue brought up which is he wants us to remove drywall to insulate above all windows.  This is coming up because I tried explaining to him that there is no insulation above any window due to having a structural header above every window.  He clearly does not understand construction as this is impossible and this will not be done.

K. Hovnanian has been upfront and diligent in responding to Mr. ****** concerns.  He is an unreasonable customer that does not understand how new homes are built.

******* *****
Community Manager
K. Hovnanian Homes
************

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: K Hovnanian has integrity.

Sincerely,

***** *****

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After Repairs to electrical lines by local utility, seed blanket was placed improperly and left to sit over winter. In Spring it was discovered that backfill was not performed and several rocky areas remained. Builder was contacted and a second attempt at the seed blanket was performed, again without back fill and grading.

Desired Settlement: At this point, we have no back yard for our kids to play in for the second summer in a row. We are requesting proper grading and sod placement at this time. Builder has not been able to give us an estimated time of repair and I believe that the builder does not have proper control over their subcontractor Classic Lanscapes of Naperville.

3/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closing on our newly built home was supposed to be July 15, 2014. The closing date was delayed and moved to July 21, 2014. However, we left the water utility in our name from July 15. Sod was placed before closing by the builders and they used the home's water supply to water the new sod 24 hours a day, for the weeks leading up to our closing on July 21, 2014. Being the water was already in our name, we did not authorize nor anticipate this use. Our typical water usage, as evidenced by our past 7 months, has been about 5000 gallons of water per month. According to the water company, American Water, 166,000 gallons of water were used in the first billing cycle, (July 15 through August 14, 2014). K. Hovnanian agreed to pay only 25% of the $1,600 water bill, which is to suggest that we used 124,500 gallons of water ourselves in our first three weeks living in our new home. Again, as evidenced by our water usage since that first billing cycle, our average water usage is 5000 gallons, 119,500 more than we historically consume. We feel K Hovnanian should take full responsibility and pay the remaining $1200 for this unauthorized usage.

Desired Settlement: $1200 additional dollars should be paid directly to our water bill from K Hovnanain to American Water as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** - Community Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@khov.com K. Hovnanian Homes will pay the $1200 additional dollars to Illinois American Water as requested. If you have any questions please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX Sincerely **** ******** Community Manager K. Hovnanian Homes

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this home as new construction in april 2011 and I have had a nightmare ever since. My ac unit and furnace have needed repair 10 times. As of today the first warm day of the year my ac is not working again. My home flooded from top floor to basement due to a faulty plumbing component in the laundry room. My cement work on my front porch has been patched once and rebuilt once and is crumbling again. My siding on my home was replaced on the top half of my home and is about to be replaced again from faulty installation, on top of that my home now looks horrible from the exterior due to the siding not matching correctly. Looks to be different shades all over the home. From my interior flooding I was told it would have no effect on the floors should be no creek g and the carpet would go back to not being able to see the seams the cut to take out the pad and replace it. That was wrong 1 year later still seams and bad creaking all over the floors where there was water damage. I have had several electrical problems where I had to replace wiring due to improper installation and poor equipment used. The overall grating of the land and false statement that they use dirt was incorrect. As can be noted by all of my trees dead due to improper soil and planting and the builder never replacing since first summer I moved in I'm still waiting. Wood trim outside around porch and garage doors was rotting after 6 months of installation and never replaced saying its normal wear and tear. The driveway has dips and rises in several places and has never been fixed was told normal wear. As far as the furnace I have had every component replaced In it at least once some parts multiple times. Same goes for the ac unit almost every part new and yet as of today it no longer works again. They just patch items knowing they are not fixing anything correctly and it always comes back. The work orders on this home are still open from over a year ago. Even the water spiket outside leaks and never turns off just drips and I'm still waiting for them to replace it. I do t believe that someone should spend 300k plus on a new home and have all these problems with no true resolution just bad patch work that keeps breaking down.

Desired Settlement: I would be more than happy with my ac and furnace replaced and other items fixed correctly and home completely done with residing. I don't believe I am asking for anything unrealistic just what should have been done already. As it is because they wouldn't cover some of the items I have had to spend out of pocket a few thousand dollars. This should not be something you should have to do on a 2 year old home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/06/13) */ Homeowner closed in April 2011. All items with regard to warranty period have been corrected and the homeowner has signed off. Homeowner is currently out of warranty. No further action is required.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on K. Hovnanian Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)