BBB Accredited Business since

Logan Square Aluminum Supply, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 395-2900 2500 N Pulaski Rd, Chicago, IL 60639 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Studio 41 is a home accessories store that sells kitchen, bath, hardware, and cabinetry goods to both contractors and the general public. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves Chicago and the surrounding areas, including Evanston, Winnetka, Lake Forest, Naperville, Schaumburg, St Charles, Downers Grove, and Arlington Heights. The company is a division of Logan Square Aluminum Supply and was founded by immigrant Isaac Silver over 40 years ago. The other two divisions which make up the company are Remodelers Supply Center and ClimateGuard Windows.
This division is open to everyone, including homeowners, contractors, designers, and architects. They sell products for kitchens, bathrooms, and windows, as well as cabinetry and hardware. Brands stocked include Bain Ultra, Americraft, Barclay, Baldwin, Delta Faucet, Fairmont Designs, Kohler, Native Trails, Schlage, Smart Cabinetry, Turnstyle Designs, and Whitehall Products. Products for kitchens include faucets, sinks, and soap dispensers. Bath goods include bathtubs, sinks, faucets, showers, vanities, cabinets, toilets, bidets, mirrors, towel bars and rings, shelves, and sink parts. Their hardware includes cabinet pulls, door knobs, appliance pulls, switchplates, signs, hooks, and door accessories.

Studio 41's cabinetry options come in a variety of styles, colors, and sizes, and their website includes an inspiration gallery with photo selections from their different lines of cabinets, as well as kitchen design services, which allow individuals to view free design advice from the comfort of their home.

Visit the website for Studio 41 to learn more about the company's background and mission, view the inspiration gallery for cabinetry options, and peruse the company's online showcase of hardware, cabinetry, and kitchen and bath goods.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Logan Square Aluminum Supply, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Logan Square Aluminum Supply, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Logan Square Aluminum Supply, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 05/16/1979 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Louis Silver, President Mr. Barry Cohodes, CFO Mr. Jim Liszka, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Barry Cohodes, CFO
Principal: Mr. Louis Silver, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Home Accessories Hardware - Retail Cabinet Hardware Kitchen Accessories Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Windows Windows - Vinyl Tile Sales Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Bathroom Remodeling Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Awnings & Canopies Bathroom Accessories Baths - Equipment & Supplies Cabinet Doors Cabinets Doors All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
Clark & Barlow Climate Guard Manufacturing Kohler Signature Store By Studio 41 Studio 41

Additional Locations

  • 1140 Milwaukee Ave

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 824-6280

  • 1170 Milwaukee Ave

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 813-1420

  • 1180 Milwaukee Ave

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 635-8071

  • 1320 N Route 59

    Naperville, IL 60563 (630) 357-1320

  • 1450 Mitchell Blvd

    Schaumburg, IL 60193 (847) 985-1700

  • 204 W 83rd St

    Chicago, IL 60620 (773) 846-8300

  • 225 W Hubbard St

    Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 321-5900

  • 2500 N Pulaski Rd

    Chicago, IL 60639 (773) 395-2900

  • 2622 N Pulaski Rd

    Chicago, IL 60639 (773) 278-3600

  • 3160 Skokie Valley Rd

    Highland Park, IL 60035 (847) 266-1900

  • 322 W Hubbard St

    Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 646-4061

  • 4767 W Touhy Ave

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (847) 676-4767

  • 775 Village Center Dr

    Burr Ridge, IL 60527 (630) 655-8096


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a replacement window. I paid for a replacement window. My receipt VERY CLEARLY states this. After 3 weeks I am told I only paid for glass. And now the vendor refuses to provide me with the product I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want the product I paid for, at the cost I was quoted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/22) */ Mr. ***** contacted our service department regarding broken glass in a window purchased from us in 2014. The receipt very clearly shows a replacement glass unit only. There is a note on the receipt that refers to the original window, so our production team could reference the original window order, if necessary. Mr. ***** cancelled the order after the replacement glass unit had been made. We refunded his money ($85.53). We reached out to Mr. ***** and received a detailed email from him that indicated he had replaced the broken glass himself. We then spoke to Mr. ***** to better understand the entire problem. There may have been a misunderstanding about the replacement glass unit that he ordered, since he was expecting a full sash unit (frame and glass), not just the glass unit. We expressed our concern that the window would not perform to the original factory standards because the glass seal had been broken and would no longer have the energy efficiency of the original window. To thank Mr. ***** for taking the time to communicate with us and for his inconvenience, we offered to make a new frame, install the glass unit into it, and then visit the property to install the new sash and window locks. This would be at no cost to him. He accepted our offer. We expect to have the new sash available in a few days and will contact him then to set up the delivery and installation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The vendor has done an exceptional job addressing the issue.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered bathroom products from Studio 41 and paid for their delivery. When they arrived, my contractor asked the shipper (***) to place them inside my condo. 3 weeks later he received a bill from *** for $97 for inside delivery. At no time was it disclosed to me either by *** or Studio 41 that inside delivery would cost extra. I called Studio 41 on 8/30 and spoke both to my salesperson ******* **********) and her manger. They both told me that the shipper (***) is charging me for the inside delivery, that Studio 41's shipping charges were for curbside delivery only, and they are not responsible for delivery charges inside the condo. I disagree. The shipping address I gave to Studio 41 (which also appears on my invoice) has my condo number. If Studio 41 only does curbside delivery, they should have made it clear at the time I placed the order. They claim that curbside shipping is standard in the industry, but I certainly bought bulky products before (from other stores) where delivery charges included inside delivery. In any case, my main problem is not that inside delivery costs extra, but that I only found about it when I received the bill when it's too late for me to decide if I want this service or not. I did not hire *** for the delivery, I paid for delivery to Studio 41, and I should not be surprised with additional charges from the shipping company they hired.

Desired Settlement: I want Studio 41 to give me my $97.00 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ The customer placed an order and knew that it was to be shipped by common carrier from the ******* area to ********* *** The common carrier was only responsible to deliver the order to the street address. The customer's contractor was responsible to take the items from the delivery truck. But the contractor asked the common carrier to place the items inside the condo. The common carrier then billed the contractor for the inside delivery. This was a proper charge since the contractor authorized it. We will send a check for $97.00 to the customer to close this matter.

3/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered Shaker style kitchen cabinets on December 21, 2013 (order number CKPXXXXXX). Our salesperson was *****, and after spending about 2 hours with her and showing her the exact model that my husband and I wanted, and I took a picture of that model before we left, we paid for half of the kitchen that night, the other half would be paid upon pickup. First we were told the cabinets would be ready Jan. 15, but after calling to check the status, ***** said she never told us that and the cabinets would be there by February 2, 2014. I called January 31, and I was told by a receiptionist that the cabinets wouldn't be at the store until maybe February 3rd or 4th. I called back on February 4th, and our cabinets were there, but no one called to tell us. After my husband picked up the cabinets and opened the box, he noticed it was the wrong order. We called the store right away and ***** first told us that she would see what she could do after we told her these were not Shaker cabinets. A moment later, she said that there was nothing she could do and the sale was final and that is what we ordered. She then hung up on us as we were still talking to her. My husband and I drove to the store with the cabinets and asked for a manager. The manager we dealt with was ****** ***** was there as well, but after we showed them both the picture of the kitchen that I took that night, and the exact model that we worked with the entire night, ***** stated that we never ordered that model. We were told by ****** that in Studio 41, the Shaker style was called Rockport in the Smart category that we ordered (we ordered soft-close cabinets and plywood-make for the sink area underneath the cabinets). That is on our receipt. Again, she stated we never ordered the model that I have the picture of. The manager was very rude and said that we should have been more informed about what we were buying and that Studio 41 has different names for cabinets than other stores do. She said that in their store, the cabinet that we ordered was called "Squire." What is the name of the cabinet then?? That name was never even mentioned during our purchase process. During this process of us dealing with the manager, ***** left for lunch and did not finish taking our complaint. The manager said that she heard all she needed to hear from ***** and she was not needed there anymore. We have never seen this manager before that day, and she let the salesperson that sold us the kitchen simply leave. This was beyond unacceptable and unprofessional. We then got a quote from ***** for an additonal $1500 to change our cabinet doors to what we actually ordered. She stated that someone made a mistake somewhere, and someone has to pay for it. At that point, my husband and I told her that we will be disputing this with our credit card (which we did right after leaving the store), because the manager stated we can do whatever we feel we need to do. After stating that we will also report this to the BBB, it was stated that Studio 41 has been there for years, and they will be "fine." We told the manager that we have the cabinets with us, but she said there is no refund or exchange and we can do whatever we want with the cabinets. We are currently storing cabinets that we cannot use. We have already placed a dispute with our credit card company for failure to deliver a product that we ordered and paid for. I am hoping that the BBB can help us resolve this in a timely fashion, as we have already waited 7 weeks. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: We have waited 7 weeks for cabinets that cannot be used. They are not what we ordered and someone made a mistake at Studio 41. We will not be paying for someone else's mistake, and the quote that we got to replace the doors on the cabinets was uncalled for and disrespectful. We were called liars to our faces by both the salesperson and the manager. We either want the cabinet doors to be what we actually ordered, without any extra charges that the store needs to make up for - or our entire money back. These cabinets are being stored in their respective boxes and if the store cannot work with us, then we are prepared to give these cabinets back and expect our money back for failure to deliver a promised product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/20) */ The customer placed an order for cabinets with a plain front door. They chose this door because they did not want to pay the higher price for a 'Shaker' style door. We have signed documents from the customer for the floor plan and cabinets ordered. The signed receipt clearly indicates that the cabinets were a 'Special Order' and there would be "No Returns Or Exchanges'. After the customer had the cabinets, they indicated that they wanted different doors. We offered to replace the plain front doors with a 'Shaker' style door at a deeply discounted additional price of $1,500. The customer declined this offer. We did not make any mistake on the order and were not rude to the customer. We believe that this is an attempt by the customer to get a better cabinet at the same price. In order to resolve this matter, we are willing to allow the customer to return the cabinets, in an unused, original factory condition and in the original packaging. We will then refund the purchase price less a 20% restocking fee. We make this one time offer despite the 'Special Order - No Returns Or Exchanges' policy clearly indicated on the signed receipt. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When we came into Studio 41, we specifically told the salesperson that we wanted the Shaker style in Smart Cabinetry. She told us that in Studio 41, it is called Rockport, which, once again is why we signed the receipt. We have included the picture that we took the night of December 21, 2013, which is the style that we told her we wanted (in Smart manufacturing), and that she told us we were getting. This is the model that we used for the entire night. But once again, Studio 41 says that that did NOT happen....nothing we say happened is the point that we are trying to get across. This is the second response from the store, and now these cabinets have been called Rockport, Georgtown, Squire and now there is mention of Kountry Wood Products. What Studio 41 does not understand here, is that the salesperson NEVER went through any of this. We told her we wanted Shaker, and she told us that in the store this is called Rockport. This is the photo of the style of doors that we have referred to the whole time at the store when we went in after the wrong delivery, and on this dispute. We told her we wanted this style, in Smart cabinetry. We were working with a cabinet Salesperson - we're not the ones that made a mistake here. The store never called us to let us know the cabinets were there in February - we made the phone calls. Now, the store didn't bother to call when the glass doors were ready - we had to inquire about it on here as well. What is store policy? The customer calls pretty much daily to ask when the merchandise arrives? Again, we were told the store would call us. That never happened. All that we would like at this point, is for Studio 41 to take these cabinets back (they are in original packaging and have been since this started) and return our money. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/03/05) */ The first cabinets the customer looked at on the showroom floor are made by Kountry Wood Products. These cabinets are a 'Shaker' style and are known as Georgetown with a dark Maple finish. The second cabinets the customer looked at on the showroom floor are made by Smart Cabinetry and have a plain front door. These cabinets are known as Rockport with a dark Maple finish. Information sheets for both cabinets were available on the showroom floor and are attached. We believe the customer took a copy of the Smart Cabinetry Rockport information sheet with them, since these are the cabinets that they selected. Smart Cabinetry also makes a 'Shaker' style cabinet, known as Squire, but these are not displayed in our showroom. So the customer could not have taken a picture of Smart Cabinetry Squire style cabinets in our showroom. The cabinets made by Kountry Wood Products are much more expensive than similar door style cabinets made by Smart Cabinetry. The glass doors have been in our warehouse since the middle of February, but have not been made available to the customer due to the dispute on the order. We also prefer to handle glass items as little as possible. Since the customer declined our offer to take the cabinets back with a 20% restocking fee, we will be happy to have the customer pick up the glass doors when they acknowledge in writing that they will no longer dispute the order with the BBB and their credit card company, and will provide us a full and complete written release.

9/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Special ordered kitchen (order CISXXXXX / brand: Cardell) on March 25th. Cabinets arrived on 5/21 with 7 backordered items. Upon inspection, 13 items had to be replaced (dents, chips, worn paint). List and pictures of damaged items were provided to Studio41. Studio41 provided a 3% credit (of total order). Damaged items were reordered (free of charge) and several were delivered on 7/19; upon inspection, several items were damaged again and had to be reordered. Studio41 provided a 2% credit (of total order). Remaining items (from original and replacement orders) were delivered on 8/1. It was also discovered by the construction team that Studio41 forgot to order a fridge panel. This has now been ordered and is currently scheduled for shipment on 8/15. The delay in delivery and constant quality issues, have cause me to extend my rent (for additional 3 months and counting) as the home is not ready for occupancy. Additionally, I needed to reschedule other installation and renovation appointments. I've requested that Studio 41 provide me with an additional credit for at least 1 out of the 3 months of my extended rent caused by the product quality issues and replacement / back ordered delivery timing. I was told I should follow up with Cardell (cabinet manufacturer) for any additional credits. I did not find this acceptable as I was not dealing with Cardell directly but rather Studio41. Upon further communication, Studio41 stated that Cardell would provide me with a refund for additional installation costs of reordered cabinets; this is still open and has not yet been filed. Studio41 also notified me that they will be discontinuing the sale of Cardell in their stores due to many known quality issues.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $800 accounting for 1 months' rent (in addition to 5% credit already issued and credit to be issued from Cardell for additional installation costs of reordered items) Total current delay is 3 months. I understand delays occur, but in this instance, the quality and delay issues are not acceptable. 1 month's rent is a reasonable request given the actual time delay incurred.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX We apologize for the problems that Mr. ******** has experienced with this order. We have already isseud credits in excess of $500 for the delays. At this time, there are still somne open issues with the cabinets. Once those issues have been resolved to his satisfaction, we will be willing to consider some further consideration to him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) no resolution is in place Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/09/25) */ On September 17, we received an email from Mr. ******** that indicated the only remaining items were a drawer slide and touch up kit. We had previously provided him with a drawer slide and it was not what he wanted. We expect a different drawer slide to be available in the next ten days. He will need to return the other drawer slide to us. We had previously provided him a touch up kit. He has requested another one. We expect the additional touch up kit to be available in the next ten days. NOTE FROM THE BBB: We are judging your complaint resolved and closing it. If you do not hear from the business by 10/14/13 please notify us and your complaint will be reopened.

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service