BBB Accredited Business since

Train Sets Only

Phone: (815) 462-4720 Fax: (815) 462-4720 View Additional Phone Numbers 1040 Industry Rd, New Lenox, IL 60451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.trainsetsonly.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Train Sets Only meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Train Sets Only include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Train Sets Only
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 03/16/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Christel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Christel, President
Business Category

Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Retail Internet Shopping Hobby, Toy, and Game Stores (NAICS: 451120)

Alternate Business Names
The Train Shanty, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers model railroad and wooden railway products.


Additional Locations

  • 1040 Industry Rd

    New Lenox, IL 60451 (815) 462-4720 (888) 548-7246

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered an item as birthday gift for my grand child nearly 10 days before his birthday. On a Monday (30th of June) as I recall. It should have arrived the following Tuesday or Wednesday AT THE LATEST. The company is only 60 or 70 miles away from the Delivery address and had they of shipped in a timely manor it might have even been there the same week. But apparently they have gone on vacation from the 4th until the 20th. AND DID NOT SHIP THE GIFT before leaving even though they had 4 days to do it before their vacation. And had no notification on the site when I ordered that they were going away. I assumed this was a responsible business so I didn't check on shipping status until I talked to my daughter last night and she told me the item never arrived in time for his birthday party. Now I look like a **** fool since there was no gift there from me. This is simply an outrage.

Desired Settlement: REFUND.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: *************************** Customer ordered out of stock merchandise we had listed assuch on our website. We emailed the customer the day he ordered to ensure he was aware of this and also advised of his options. He already sent.us an email while we were closed. We have already canceled his order and refunded him as requested. Customer obviously did not read stock status message on website nor read our courtesy email the morning of his order as both of these clearly indicated that the item would not be shipped immediately.