Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Williams Stoker & Heating Co.

Phone: (773) 549-7997 Fax: (773) 549-4040 1823 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657 http://www.stokerheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Williams Stoker & Heating Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Williams Stoker & Heating Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Williams Stoker & Heating Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 03/03/1971 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jurgen Scharpenberg, President Mr. Dittmar Schaefer, VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dittmar Schaefer, VP
Principal: Mr. Jurgen Scharpenberg, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Dehumidifying Equipment Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Ventilating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Stoker Heating Co.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Williams Stoker & Heating Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2013 we had a power failure and the new boiler system settings were all reset to default. The boiler controls all hot water and heat in my home. The technician who came to my home did not know how to program the boiler and called another technician over the phone to walk him through all the settings for ALL zones. I was with this technician when he called the senior technician and asked how to reprogram all zones. In November, when we turned on the heat there was no heat. I called again and this time the Senior Technician came out and reprogrammed the boiler correctly for all zones again (hot water and heat). NOTE: These are the same settings that were programmed by the first technician in September. The boiler controls both hot water and heat. Everything works fine now and has since he was out. Stoker heating is now requesting I pay them for inferior service that should have been done correctly the first time. I have tried to resolve this numerous times with the office staff and left messages to have my phone call returned to no avail. I spoke with reception and billing staff on 8/31/13, 10/19/13, 10/28/13, and on 12/3/13 and recently again on 6/27/14 and 6/30/14. I have asked to speak to different owners and managers and no one has returned my call. I have sent payment for one service call which has not been processed. I have been a long time and repeat customer of Stoker heating and have recommended them to others. However this matter is unresolved and I continue to receive invoices with past due and interest charges accruing.

Desired Settlement: The settlement is for Stoker to cash the check for the work performed successfully and not bill me for work that took two service technicians to complete. Stoker should have trained the first technician better or sent the senior technician to my home the first time to program the boiler. In addition since I sent the check for the service that was performed within the billing period I do not expect to pay interest or past due charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ************ Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@stokerheating.com Upon reviewing Mr. *********'s complaint, I did discover that Williams Stoker & Heating had received payment in May, 1014 for one invoice for the amount of $216.00. I see this payment was never processed and for that I do apologize. I will make sure the check is deposited and Mr. *********'s account is credited. I spoke to the Senior Technician regarding this matter as well. After the initial system installation he made several visits to site to fine-tune the system at Mr. *********'s request- at no additional charge. Rather than a tit for tat approach with this situation, on behalf of Williams Stoker & Heating I am willing to accept the terms of resolution outlined by Mr. *********. Hopefully by now Mr. ********* has mastered the operation of his system and we will all be able to move forward. I apologize for the annoyance that this may have caused Mr. *********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Williams Stoker & Heating Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart