BBB Accredited Business since

Unique Indoor Comfort Inc.

Phone: (630) 833-4400 Fax: (630) 833-4436 150 E Saint Charles Rd, Villa Park, IL 60181 http://www.chicagounique.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Unique Indoor Comfort Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Unique Indoor Comfort Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Unique Indoor Comfort Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1993 Business started: 12/30/1976 Business started locally: 12/30/1976 Business incorporated 08/06/1968 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Ignoffo, President Mrs. Michelle Malchiodi, Sales & Svc Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Ignoffo, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Michelle Malchiodi, Sales & Svc Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Service Express

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Unique Indoor Comfort Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 150 E Saint Charles Rd

    Villa Park, IL 60181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per contract, Boiler under warranty but the contractor refuses to service the non functioning Boiler...Also, per contract no balance is due until "upon completion of work"

Desired Settlement: Boiler replaced!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ Mr ****** is not correct in both his claims. He has an outstanding balance outside the scope of our installation contract that is 90 days old. The monies due are for emergency repairs made to his system on requests from him and his construction manager. Sub contractors caused problems with parts of heating system that had nothing to do with our installation, for instance on one occasion he had a whole house back up generator installed the contractor installing the generator shut the gas off to the boiler, when he was finished he never turned the gas back on, the boiler is a natural gas fired boiler without gas the boiler will not function. Pipes froze and burst I fixed these problems. On another case after we were done with our work three months later the plumbing sub cut the radiant in floor tubing caused a leak which we were asked to fix and did. Mr. ****** seems to think that these are change orders and I should wait for the money when the until the entire home is finished. He has been building this home for three years now and has issues with all the sub contractors as well as with the construction managers he has had. This is a classic case where the homeowner is acting as the general contractor without the knowledge needed to function in that capacity, and has made the task of building/installing equipment a nightmare. I have been involved with this job for over a year, I have made corrections to what the previous heating contractor had done to correct obvious installation problems, he has had numerous contractors that work for a while and leave in frustration. This complaint was filed because I turned the account over to collection and legal action. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. The contractor never fully installed the back up electric heat when the "frozen pipe" scenario occurred but claimed it was fully done, invoiced for the same, and had gotten paid for it. If the BCCK UP Electric Heat was fully wired and working the pipes should have never been frozen. 2. Contractor installed a faulty Boiler which to date continues to randomly stops working with a message "Failed Ignition. The Burner failed to light after 5 ignition attempts check gas supply to the boiler" 3. The Boiler's does not turn on because the faulty power switch on the boiler doesn't seem to make contact unless you hold in place with a finger or improvise with a piece of cardboard. 4. Bottom line -- THE FAULTY Boiler needs replacement!! 5. The relationship with the contractor is govern by the contract signed dated March 31, 2013. Per contract the Boiler is under Warranty! 6.Per Article 7 of the contract balance is due "upon completion of work" Contractor still needs to come in to finish the trim. As such there is no payment due at this point...Please see the attached contract! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/28) */ I have turned this customer over for legal action and will no longer be able to respond. My lawyer will communicate with him as necessary. -------------------------------------------------- ******** ********* to me, info Hi *****- Here is the information for our attorney: **** ** ******** Esq. *** ******* ******* Ste. *** Elmhurst, Illinois XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ************ (f) Please contact me if you need anything else. Thank you, ******** ********* Sales & Service Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX x 228 NOTE FROM THE BBB: The business has referred this matter to their attorney. We recommend that you or your attorney make contact with the business' attorney. We are closing your complaint as there is nothing further that the BBB can do. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HVAC repairs were requested. A service tech came to the building and stated he fixed the problem. He was paid for his time. The next day, the same issue started. When the 2nd technician came to the building he stated that the lines needed to be bled and the other technician should have done this yesterday! I was now charged again and this time the rate was higher as it was a weekend rate. The next day, the furnace still did not work and a 3rd tech came out. This tech said it was a faulty item that was reportedly replaced on the 1st service call. Now the bill was higher as it was a Sunday rate. I never received an estimate of repairs, and my card on file was billed. I disputed the bill with my credit card company and they did not pay the other (2nd & 3rd) fees. Calls to the owner were never returned. I have been a customer of theirs for 10 + years and have spent over $10,000 in repairs, installs, and other services, with their company, so I obviously don't have a problem paying them! However, I am still looking for an explanation as to: 1) why it took 3 guys to fix the same problem; 2) why I was charged 3 times for the same issue; 3) why the first guy didn't fix the problem; and, 4) why I was charged a "holiday" or weekend rate..

Desired Settlement: An explanation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Owner/Pre Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@chicagounique.com We try very, very hard to please every customer all the time. We treat customers as if we were the customer. There are, however, some people you just can't please. Mr. ****** is one of those people. In the last 4 years my company as had 4 complaints to BBB, more than I would like, but considering we have worked on over 40,000 pieces of equipment in that time, I am very happy and proud in the service we provide. All employee's here have been thoroughly screened, background checked and drug screened. All are good, honest, respectful people. We do not dispatch a service technician without informing the client of the charges for this call. He was aware of all the charges before we sent our man and agreed to these when he called for service. Overnight and Sunday Service does cost $100.00 extra. Mr. ******'s Boiler at this address is very old, parts are no longer made for it, and he knows that. He's been informed of this on more than one occasion. He chooses to call only when it stops working. He's never done any preventative or cleaning. He calls mainly after normal business hours and demands service at that time. He is unreasonable. This customer has filed this complaint due to a lawsuit filed against him for non-payment. This is not the first time we had to go to the extreme to get paid from him. His complaints are just not true and he has listed them in a self-serving manner. Since we have a formal complaint in court, I cannot comment further at this time. I am not willing to provide future service to this person. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Still waiting for a phone call from the owner to explain the charges. More than happy to pay for work that was done, but not excess charges for weekend or holiday rate to fix what wasn't fixed right the first time. Their own employee admitted that it should have been completed correctly the first time! Still haven't received a phone call. Charges were stopped because the charges were never authorized. All items were "to be addressed on Monday morning". Monday morning came and went and a phone call was never returned. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of the consumer's signed contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/04) */ Mr. ****** continues to speak half truths. We are in the legal process of collection, account has been turned over to our law firm preventing me from saying much more than I already have. I repeat that Mr. ****** has his facts wrong. First, the original call placed on 2/14/13 was diagnosed the Boiler was firing and operating properly. Our service technician purged air from the return manifold and opened a valve that was closed. His second call for service was on 2/24/13, ten days after first call, not the next day as he claims. Upon arrival, our technician found the Boiler operating properly, technician removed some air from the 2nd floor radiation. Finally, the third service call upon arrival, we found the Boiler not operating, note- this is the first time we found the Boiler not operating. Our technician replaced a pilot safety (mercury filled type). Our service charges for this call includes parts and labor- previous calls were only labor related. This is the last response from my company as it is in the lawyer's hands now, final total due will have collection costs included.