BBB Accredited Business since

Tradewinds Htg & A/C, a Nicor Services Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 537-5724 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 3042, Naperville, IL 60566 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tradewinds Htg & A/C, a Nicor Services Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tradewinds Htg & A/C, a Nicor Services Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tradewinds Htg & A/C, a Nicor Services Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Lisa Pishevar, Managing Director- Customer and Client Experience Ms. Emelene Barna Mr. Richard Dykstra, General Manager Anu Grover, Product Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Pishevar, Managing Director- Customer and Client Experience
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Trade Winds Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

  • 13450 S. Cicero

    Crestwood, IL 60445

  • PO Box 3042

    Naperville, IL 60566


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our new furnace was installed on 1/29. On 1/31 we noticed that the AC and humidifier were on and making a lot of noise. By 2/2 the furnace still wasn't hitting temperature and we scheduled a technician to come out on 2/3. By this time the house was in the low 50's, the AC unit and humidifier pipes were frozen and the technician had to rewire the thermostat and take AC and humidifier offline. My husband and I are concerned that there was significant damage done to our homes AC unit and are concerned that Nicor and Trade Winds are not going to take responsibility for it. The following day, 2/4, we did not have a scheduled appointment but received a call from a service coordinator that a field technician (someone with expert knowledge) would be arriving at our home in 1 hour. The field technician came onsite and indicated that the thermostat was not properly wired and shorted causing the issue with the AC and humidifier running. He instructed us to order a new thermostat and installed several relays to keep the existing device working. Between 2/4 and 2/7 the house never reached temperatures above 66 degrees. On 2/7 the field technician returned and installed the new thermostat. On 2/8 the house still wasn't reaching temperature and the field technician returned and indicated that a new furnace valve was needed to correct gas flow issues he also mentioned that the exterior gas regulator appeared to be frozen. A second technician arrived that evening with the part and replaced the valve. The house still wouldn't reach above 66 degrees regardless of being set at 75 degrees. On 2/10 the field technician made an emergency call to Nicor Gas and requested a new gas regulator be installed due to gas flow issues. We were given 30 minutes' notice to leave work and be home for the install or we would lose gas from the utility company. Even after the new regulator was installed the house only reached 66 degrees despite the thermostat being set to 75. Nearly every night the furnace can't keep up and drops to the upper 50's. We continue to call in nearly daily seeking a resolution and have been promised by multiple call center employees that a customer care representative would reach out to us. But we have not heard from one since 2/4. Additionally, the Comfort Specialist (Salesman) will not return our calls. To add to the frustration, the fact that we do not have a means to directly communicate with someone at Nicor Home Solutions or Trade Winds that has knowledge about our account is extremely trying. Without a direct contact we spend a considerable amount of time explaining our situation to various call center employees in our near daily calls to the Nicor Home Solutions call center. The call center employees, field technicians, and technicians have been nothing but kind and courteous to us. We are just at a loss for what to do and don't feel like we are getting the appropriate level of attention and action from the company.

Desired Settlement: We want our new furnace to heat our home to our desired temperature. And we would like Nicor Home Solutions to promise that when spring arrives they will perform a full diagnostic on our AC unit to insure that they didn't cause damage to it. If they did damage the unit, I'd expect them to repair or replace the unit given that their faulty wiring of our thermostat caused the short circuit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Nicor Home Solutions has been in direct contact wih Ms. *******. Once we have reached a resolution we will respond back.

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues