Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc.

Phone: (815) 436-4331 View Additional Phone Numbers 11917 S Aero Dr, Plainfield, IL 60585 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


TR Miller Heating & Cooling services all makes and models. Whether it's your furnace, air conditioner, boiler, air handler, rooftop unit, zoning system, humidifier, air cleaner or thermostat, we have the knowledge and experience to keep you comfortable.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/2008 Business incorporated 04/01/2008 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tim Miller, President Mr. Brian Sloan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Miller, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Sloan, Office Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Radiant Heating Sheet Metal Work Thermostats Air Quality Service Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Ventilating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc. sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Aprilaire, Honeywell

T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Cleaners, Air Conditioners, Evaporator Coils, Furnaces, Humidifiers, Package Units, Thermostats

Method(s) of Payment


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11917 S Aero Dr

    Plainfield, IL 60585 (815) 436-4331 (815) 676-3111


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Saturday 1/16/16 because heat went out. Tech came over and stated I needed a blower wheel and he did not have the correct one so he put a temporary one in and said he would be out with the correct one and install it the week of 1/18/16. I asked if there was another service charge and he said "no, if we do not have the part and have to order it that we will come and exchange it for no charge." He also said that if the part was more they would call and tell me so there were no surprises. They called and set up a time to install the correct part with no mention of a higher price for the part. When he got there he said that the part was $63 more and do I want it. At this point I say ok. So today I call the company from work to get a quote on the same part*********** and they quoted me $208 for the same exact part they just installed. They charged me $377 for the part(********** so at this point I explain that you just installed the part and charged me $377 for the part and not $208 as you just quoted. Well that is when the scrambling started as they new they had been caught lying so they say a manager would call me back. The manager? ***** calls me back trying to justify the lies he has been caught in saying "the second charge is for another service call" and I explained to him that I specifically asked the tech when he came out if there was going to be another service charge and was told that TR Miller NEVER charges to come back out to install the correct part if they do not have it. They clearly overcharged me $169.00. So ***** tries to now make up charges that are not on the bill. First bill states $140 for service charge $314 for temp heat R wheel and second bill states replace wheel(upcharge for new wheel) $63. Total service charge on both bills is $140 and total for wheel on both bills $314 + $63=$377.00. I am not disputing the service charge just the $169.00 they clearly lied about and overcharged me

Desired Settlement: The company needs to refund me $169.00 and after that I would prefer they never contacted me again

Business Response:

I do apologize for not being able to resolve this without a third party.  All our pricing is up front.  No repair, diagnostic, or install can be performed unless authorized by the property owner.  Joel was never over charged.  He agreed to the overtime diagnostic plus the temporary part for heating.  He was also made aware of additional charges to install the correct factory part.  The price to return and install the factory part was to be determined since the supply house was closed on Saturdays.  Upon return, the customer was given the cost to complete the repair and OK-ed this before the work was completed.  Total cost for all services performed plus parts and labor was $517.00. 

Once the repair was completed, the home owner called in anonymously and asked for a quote on repair.  He was verbally quoted $422.00. The verbal quote included regular time diagnostic, parts, and labor.  The difference from what he paid ($517.00) and the verbal quote is $95.00.  The $95.00 difference comes from the requested overtime diagnostic on Saturday and the additional charges to return and install the factory part that was ordered. At TR Miller we pride ourselves in honestly, all of our pricing is up front before any service is performed.  The homeowner pre authorized every charge before any service was performed.  I can supply any service tickets from the work performed needed.  Again, I’m sorry we could not resolve this sooner and hope to continue growing our relationship in the future.    

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Another lie from business, it just keeps piling up.  State should really investigate as if this business is willing to lie about something as small as this then there is no telling the lengths they are willing to go to. Again when I called the second time and asked for a quote just on the part I was quoted $202 over the phone but was charged $377.00 two days earlier. Again the company said there was NEVER a charge to come back out and install a part they did not have, and on the phone ***** said the second $63 was to send the tech out a second time to install the proper wheel.  ***** just simply has a hard time with the truth and that also could be why when I requested to speak with right away it took him over 3 hours to get back to me(needed time to make up a story for why I was being taken advantage of).  I also have a copy of the bills they left and it is exactly as I emailed in the complaint.  It seems ***** likes to make up bills and charges after the fact


**** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on T R Miller Heating and Cooling Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart