This business is not BBB accredited.

Polar Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (708) 448-1929 Fax: (708) 448-3114 View Additional Phone Numbers 13361 Southwest Hwy, Orland Park, IL 60462

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Polar Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Polar Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Polar Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 2010 Business started: 02/03/2010 Business started locally: 02/03/2010 Business incorporated 02/28/2005 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael McLaughlin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael McLaughlin, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Generators - Electric Sheet Metal Work Water Heater - Tankless Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Chimney Builders & Repair Heating Contractors Piping Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Additional Locations


    13361 Southwest Hwy

    Orland Park, IL 60462 (773) 284-9090 (815) 469-4488 (708) 448-1929


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a furnace on 1-2-1014. They told me during installation that they did me a favor and blew out our a-coil for the AC. When we turned the AC on in June 2014 water was leaking from the a-coil. I called again for service. ***** *** opened up the area and told me that the a-coil pan was rusted out and would need to be replaced for $900.00. I did not have $900.00 since I just had a furnace put in so we decided just to let it leak all year long. In May 2015 I had a friend of the family come look at the a-coil because I didn't want it leaking all over the new furnace for another year. He opened up the area and found that the a-coil pan is NOT rusted at all and does not need to be replaced. What happened was when they blew out the a-coil the dirt that was blown fell into the pan and made a **** that caused the water to build up and over flow from the side of the pan. He cleaned the dirt out of the pan and it works fine. When I called several times to talk to the owner I was told he would call me back and he never did. I had paid for my furnace to be cleaned ahead of time for 2015. After not getting a return phone call from them I called again on May 12th to ask that my $79.00 for the furnace cleaning be returned to me she asked me the reason and I told her that I was unhappy that no one returned my phone call and I told her that we had had trouble with 2 of their repairman. (we also had an unethical repairman come out one time before from here but I didn't include that in this complaint) She told me that neither of those repairman worked there anymore and she assured me that the next time they sent out someone they would me well trained and I would not have trouble. I told her that I would like my credit refunded and that I was going to have someone else clean my furnace. She told me she would send my money back the next day. I then went on Facebook and wrote a review that told my story and that they had bad customer service because no one would call me back. Then 20 days later when I did not receive my refund I called again. A man got on the phone and said can I help you and I told him I was wondering if they had sent my refund it was suppose to be in the mail May 13th and I still did not receive it. He said oh your the one who wrote a bad review on F ******** and then he would not let me talk he just kept yelling at me that I was dead wrong and that they would NOT be honoring their 5 year labor warranty on the furnace I bought and that he hopes it costs me hundreds of dollars to fix my furnace. I kept trying to interrupt him to tell him if we could talk like adults maybe we could straighten this out and I would consider taking the review down if he listened to me and he told me he didn't care what I had to say he would send me the refund have a nice day and he hung up the phone on me.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the $59.95 service call and for them to honor their 5 year labor warranty as told to me when we purchased the furnace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/16) */ Polar will respond Via Certified Mail Please provide the appropriate mailing address. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/09/09) */ Hi ******* I got your message today and tried to call back but I figured I would email you instead of leaving a message. To my knowledge I did not get an email from polar heating. I received an email about my complaint from the BBB on June 16th and then an email from you on Sept. 1st that I am responding to now. Our address is ************* Dr Morris Il *****. I would assume Polar heating has our address on file since they have been to at least 5 service calls at our house and put in a new furnace for us. If I need to call them with my address just let me know. Thank you, ******* ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The only people greatly misstating these facts here are Polar. After I paid to have a furnace installed Jan 2014. I then paid $79.00 to have them maintain the furnace in Dec 2015. When I called to have it set up to be maintained they told me that it did not need to be maintained in Dec 2015 and that it would need to be done in winter 2016. I told them to keep my $79.00 and I would have it maintained by them in 2016. Since they would not address my concerns about the 2 different service calls I had preformed after the furnace was put in I requested my $79.00 credit be refunded to me because I wasn't sure I wanted Polar to do the maintenance on my furnace since they tried to have me put in a $900.00 part that was not rusted and just needed to be cleaned out. I did not ask for my credit to be refunded to me unjustly it was my money that they were holding onto to do future maintenance on my furnace. Only after being screamed at and told that they would not honor the 5 year labor warranty on the furnace I purchased because I wanted my credit returned did they send me a refund for the $79.00 credit. In my complaint I am asking for the $59.95 that I paid to them for the service call on 6-16-14 where they told me I needed a new coil because it was rusted and it isn't. They may come look at it, it is still the original one and has not been altered in anyway. I also want them to honor the 5 year labor warranty on the furnace I bought from them. I have also reviewed the contract that I signed with Polar it does not state that the maintenance has to be done with exclusively Polar it just states that it has to be done. I can send them a copy if they don't have one. If warranty work needs to be done in the 5 years I believe Polar should have to honor the contract I signed with them and preform the work. I was told that they would not honor the contract. I also told him while he was screaming at me if he would stop screaming and let me explain myself that maybe we could talk like adults and work it out and I would take down the facebook review. I don't believe that companies should be able to bully you into taking down a complaint. Them honoring a contract that was signed should have nothing to do with my right to my opinion on how I was treated by their company. No one should have to spend this kind of money and be treated the way I was treated. ----------------------------------------------- My complaint # is ********. I responded to the response from the company but I put in the wrong dates. It reads like this: The only ones greatly misstating these facts here is Polar. After I paid to have a furnace installed January 2014. I then paid $79.00 to have them maintain the furnace in Dec 2015. (This should be Dec 2014). When I called to have it set up to be maintained they told me that it didn't need to e maintained in Dec 2015 and that it would need to be done in winter 2016. (This should say Dec 2014 and winter 2015). I told them to keep my $79.00 and I would have it maintained by them in 2016. ( This should say 2015). I'm sorry for the confusion if you have any questions you can reach me at ************ Thank you ******* ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/09/10) */ We returned the $79.00 on June 1st check number ****. Her equipment is registered online with ***** for the parts which you or her can verify by entering in the serial number off of the furnace at the ***** website. Her allegations on the coil are extremely misleading and no work was preformed by Polar. Once again she can have any opinion she chooses too but no work was preformed. She asked for, received and cashed a refund check for maintenance and informed us she would be using another company in the future which is of course her right. she is wrong on the condition of her coil. Just because some one caulks a rusty coil to fix a leak does not mean it is properly repaired. I feel we have spent enough time on this complaint and we wish her well. If she has a warranty issue she should use the new company to maintain her equipment and do any future warty repair work. For the final time I will state that Polar would be happy to honor the labor part of the warranty as long as she lives up to her end of the very fair and clear contract that we both signed. Polar does not give the right for the BBB to publish this response on their web site. This is an unfair complaint that the BBB should have dismissed already!

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue was explained in a previous submission. I noticed I had attached the wrong photo to my first complaint. This is made only to add the correct photo. The person came to my house put on a $59.00 draft inducer wheel and not the entire assembly part which runs around $350.00, refused to leave old parts or give a breakdown of the service, labor and parts. I believe I should receive a refund. I paid them $59.00 for a service call the day before, charged was made to me for $727.00 for what? Who makes that kind of money for fifteen minutes of work. I am a degreed individual and thought in my absence I was getting a new part that I was quoted costs over $700.00. He claimed he was doing me a favor with a 10% discount as a former customer, I paid cash for an air conditioner from them. This is too much almost $800 for a wheel on a furnace!!!When I called Billy he told me I was having buyer's remorse, I am a licensed real estate broker for more than 15 years, I telephoned them previous to today but was told their computer system was down. It has not been 30 days I believe other people have been scammed during this freezing weather.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund In my first submission I discussed what I am looking for. Please see the photo attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ The price she was quoted was fair. The work was preformed in a professional manner. She could have stopped the service at any time and called another company. She is very wrong about the nature of the repair and the cost of the part and also she thinks the labor should be free. She waited till we had replaced the part and everything was working fine till she decided to complain. I feel our company did nothing wrong. Consumer Info NAME: ***** ************* DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX ADDRESS: **** S. ******* XXXXX Chicago, IL EVE PHONE: - CELL PHONE: - EMAIL: ************ We would be happy to go to arbitration on this matter if Mrs. ************* would like. I do not give my permission to have this posted on the internet. That is what she wants. She is trying to blackmail my company after the fact via The BBB.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/29/2013 Jerry from Polar Heating came out to clean both furnaces on the 1st and 2nd floor. Jerry told me that the furnace on the 2nd floor was not working. The furnace was working before and I never had a problem with the furnace before he looked at it. I got a second opinion and found out that he snipped the thermal cord. I got it fixed and the furnace is back working again.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking restitution for what I had to pay to another licensed HVAC who indicated to me that the thermal cord was snipped.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ There is no way ***** *** a Nate certified technition 1. misdiagnosed the problem or Snipped the "thermal cord" Please explain the thermal cord comment so I can better respond to your complaint. a copy of the other companies repair would help.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this complaint on behalf of my father, ****** ******** of Lockport, IL. My father was told a few weeks ago that after a routine furnace cleaning there appeared to be a crack in the heat exchanger and the furnace would have to be replaced. After discovering that the furnace was still under a 20 year warranty for the heat exchanger Polar Heating was called for a second opinion. They immediately confirmed that the heat exchanger was cracked and said that the furance would need to be replaced. We discussed the warranty with ***** at the time the estimate was signed and he said that he would check into it. We weren't sure if we were to return the heat exchanger directly to Bryant or if they would take care of that after installation of the new furnace. The furnace was replaced on 10/5/13 and the two that installed the furnace were told of the warranty and that we wanted to see and/or keep the heat exchanger for return to Bryant. Upon leaving the old furnace was thrown in their truck and we were told that ***** would be returning a call in a day or two. A return call from Polar was never made and we are still not sure how to obtain the reimbursement for the warranty. Replacing just the heat exchanger for about a third of what was spent on replacement was never brought up. My father is 83 years old and I think that this company is another one that is just out to make a buck and take advantage when they see the opportunity. I'm sure that the old furnace has been destroyed and that will be the excuse for no further action. Product_Or_Service: Rheem furnace

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund At least refund of the full price of the heat exchanger which I have been told is between $800 - $900 to replace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/05) */ I feel you have grossly misstated the facts. We came out. You needed heat right away. You were quoted a price for repairing the heat exchange. (Bryant would only supply the exchanger (maybe) not pay for the labor which is the largest cost of the repair. Your father was given a quote for both the new furnace or the repair and your family decided to choose the new furnace . I really do not understand your logic or our complaint

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: in 2007, i bought a new furnace from polar air. Until now, I have had no issues with it. When I called for service, I found my original invoice and read the warranty carefully and it states it has a 10 year parts warranty. When the technician arrived and looked at the furnace, he told me the problem and he needed to come back tpmprrow because he had to order parts. He gave me the new invoice, a service fee of 59.95 which i paid up front, and a parts fee of 590.00. I gave him my old invoice/warranty. He barely looked at it and said to me, sorry, if you dont have your furnace serviced every year, we dont accept that. WHAT?? Show me where it says that! Well, it docent say that anywhere in the warranty. Im just supposed to assume its legit? Not in this lifetime. Since when are we allowed to change the rules in the middle of the game? This is misleading, unethical, and terrible business.

Desired Settlement: I expect Polar Air to honor there 'warranty' and send me a refund for the parts cost!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/05) */ Arctic Heating and Air put the furnace in not Polar . I have been honoring all of Arctic's warranty issues provided the Arctic customers kept up there maintenance with Polar. She did not do any maintenance with Polar so I do not see why she thinks I am responsible for her warranty work.I never installed the furnace. she can take it up with Arctic if she feels like it. I did not buy Arctic and I did not own Arctic. I only bought the phone numbers out of the bankruptcy. I have only been offering to cover their customers warranty if they do maintenance with my company. I guess no good deed goes unpunished. I would be happy to refund her The service call money if she acknowledges that I owe her nothing and she is willing to withdraws the complaint against Polar.