BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2007

Perfect Home Services

Phone: (630) 206-4187

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service19
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had purchased a complete new furnace and a/c unit about three months ago. Today I realized that it was already no longer heating. I called and was told that I would have to pay for the service call. I was told that there would be a FULL guarantee for 15 years. That would NOT include service call fees. Person who called me was extremely rude and could care less that it was below zero and I had no heat. All he was concerned about was the money. Once I got upset (which he was clearly counting on based on his attitude), he hung up on me. I then called the answering service back who said that they would have someone else call. The same guy ended up calling back but now said that I would have to wait because there were now suddenly two people ahead of me. When I called the answering service (******) back, she said that she was working on something for me. After waiting some time, all she did was transfer me to some girl named *** who would do NOTHING. *** had no idea why I was transferred over. Bottom line, it's well below zero and I can't get anyone out here. I was hung up on by **** at the company, I was completely blown off by the answering service...and here I sit with no heat. I paid $8,000 for this furnace and can't get anyone to help me here.

Desired Settlement
I want the repairs completed at no cost to me. I want a FULL apology from the company for how I was treated here. I want a copy of the 15 year guarantee. I also want a copy of the 2 year service agreement that I was promised but after three months have still not received.

Business Response
This customer has since been taken care of. We do not believe we were in violation of any BBB policy and that this complaint should be removed from our record. We sent a technician to the customers home and the issue was unrelated to any work that we previously completed.

02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair man stated the cause of an error code E2 was due to a blockage. Repair man cleaned a "minor blockage" which did not correct or eliminate the error code. I asked the company to not charge my credit card for that portion of the bill and no one ever called back.

Desired Settlement
Refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
We apologize for charging your credit card when services were rendered. We always run credit cards as soon as service is completed. We did issue you a refund for the minor blockage. The finance department issues refund checks on the 15th of every Month. Your refund should be in your mail box any day. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact us.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Perfect Home Services completely re plumbed our home including $700 to install a $150 re-circulation pump that never worked. The $700 included material and labor to install it properly while the house was gutted. We have had 5 of their plumbers out here who have documented the problem and did nothing to fix it, and only gave excuses that they "will get back with us." They never do. We have had the manufacturer of our tankless water heater out (that Perfect Home Services installed) to verify the install was done incorrectly, and there should have been a return loop in the line from the heater to the furthest point of the house back to the tankless for our installation. The manufacturer verified that the "cheap" way they piped our hot water into our cold would "not work" with their system (again, the system Perfect Home Services installed). At this point, it was turned over to the "owner/son" who we believe is acting negligently in completely ignoring the problem for the sake of taking as much money as possible with doing as little as possible. Another time, they plumbed our bathroom tub directly into our septic vent line, then gave us grief during the install about "it being correct" and during a call we had to make to get them out to fix it. I believe their contractor's license in the State of Illinois should be reviewed and stripped for purposefully doing the wrong thing while trying to ignore the problems

Desired Settlement
Without further delay or expense, Perfect Home Services needs to plumb a return line from our kitchen sink to our tankless water heater as to make the re circulation pump work as it was intended to with the system they installed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
We have refunded Mr. the full amount of $700 for the install that was incorrect. A check was issued on 7/15/14. We do apologize for the inconvenience we have caused this homeowner.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is not acceptable that Perfect Home Services continues to not tell the truth, and I hope the State licensing board takes note of this and how they trashed our water system for the sake of taking as much money as possible.

No refund check has been issued to us. Our finances will be open to the State and a court to prove no check was issued, as I expect Perfect Home services will be open to the same.

One shouldn't expect anything different than a "check was in the mail a month ago" response after 5 of their plumbers and the owner-son refused to do the right thing from the beginning. Multiple times, they abandoned us after 'purposefully' installing the pump their cheapest way possible and 'purposefully' ignoring the fact that it was not ever going to work. With so many failed attempts to fix this issue, it is clearly gross negligence coupled with purposefully trying to circumvent manufacturer's guidelines and code.

This case is to remain open until a refund check has been received, or closed on the fact that the business continues to ignore the problem and refuses to issue a refund.

There were plenty of times to "apologize," and I hope future customers understand the amount of aggravation we have had to endure, and that there might be "apologies" to their taking your money and doing the wrong thing over and over again while leaving it for you to figure out what the problems are with your plumbing.

Final Business Response
Refund check was not negotiated. We are sending another check today and have stopped payment on the previous check. We have attached the check that is being mailed out today. We are mailing it to Mr.'s address that we have on file. We will respond if/when the new check is negotiated.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have a contract with Perfect Home to do yearly checks on my heating/AC systems. on 5.29.14 the recent AC check the tech indicated one of the levels was too high and needed a follow up for the next day - tech put request in for service. after no one showed up i contacted customer service and made another appointment - no one showed. I called the owner ************** on 6.3 & 6.6.14 leaving messages on his cell phone and never received a return call.

Desired Settlement
would like a tech to inspect the AC and check for proper level and do any repairs necessary without charge.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** - Servi
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
******,

We do apologize for not responding to you. Your scheduled appointment was put in the system for 06/02/2014 however, there was a clerical error which made your appointment unreadable to the dispatcher. When you called in on 06/02/2014 and asked to speak with the owner our CSR rep thought you were a telemarketer and put you into the marketing voicemail box that is rarely checked. I will be having the Call Center Manager contact you to schedule your repair appointment. The cost of your repair will be zero dollars. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
although the excuse I received for all the confusion was very weak, the technician did come out to check the levels. Was also disappointed that the owner did not make an attempt to apologize.

09/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
August 6 I called Perfect Plumbing for sewer rodding to clear tree roots blocking lines (causing a backup). This was a problem that I had in the past and had it cleared by a different plumber who could not come out that quickly. I was quoted $79 from Perfect with a camera for this service (important to ensure block clear) and told they would come out same day. The technician that came out told me that I didn't get a camera with the service. Technician didn't seem to want to work. His equipment was malfunctioning and had to leave without fixing problem. Seemed to me that he didn't want to get dirty. Dispatch called and was very professional and apologized for my dissatisfaction. I asked for a different technician and dispatch was very responsive. Got someone out right away. The second technician insisted that the service would not take care of the problem and that it would be pointless to have it done. Gave me pricing options that ranged from $400 ish dollars up to thousands of dollars. Kept pointing out the tree roots in the yard, that were no surprise to me (that's why he was there). Tech told me he would proceed however I wanted. I told him I wanted the lines cleared and I was sold a service to do just that, for $79. I was very frustrated and told tech to proceed with the service I was sold. Tech proceeded then into procedure told me he was unable to clear lines and he wanted my "permission" to use a larger cutter (more expensive option) but because of my trouble he would not charge me. I didn't understand the "catch" at first. When I asked why he needed my permission to clear the line, he said it could damage the line and needed my "permission". This was hours into my service call. I declined further service and sent technician on his way. I will not be "bullied" with scare tactics and high pressure. While the technician was correct in saying that the $79 job would not be sufficient, I had no trust in this company to proceed with what was needed (hours after it began). I did not have a good feeling about the outcome of the service. Sell me the correct service for the job and provide exactly that. In the end, my regular plumber came out the next day and provided service to clear the lines without bumping up pricing from my quote, or padding himself with permission from me just "in case" he broke something. Perfect Plumbing did not charge me, as they did not complete the service (per my request).

Desired Settlement
None. Change your practices. Don't sell services that are not adequate and then bump up pricing (so significantly) after service has begun. I will pay for good service. "Bait and switch" is what I got with Perfect Plumbing.

Business Response
Perfect Home Services went out to the customer's house on 8/6/13. Our first technician that arrived onsite was unable to perform rodding service due to the machine malfunctioning. We responded right away by sending another one of our technicians that was in the area. Our second tech arrived onsite and attempted the rodding service per the customer's request. While our technician was performing the rodding, he got to about 20ft down and the rodding cable got "bound" and kinked. Our technician explained to the customer that they had a massive tree root infestation. (When he pulled out the cable there were pieces of the tree roots visible.) Our technician at that time offered to put a larger cutter head on the cable, but was very concerned as the customer's drain tile was made of clay. (Clay tiles can be fragile and can crack very easily.) Our tech offered to assist with clearing out the root mass with a larger cutter (which does cost more because it is much more involved than simply "poking a hole and restoring flow"), but did ask the customer for permission as the process can cause damage to the clay tiles. At that point the customer declined. Our tech also offered other possible options to the customer due to their situation, but the other options provided were more money than the customer wanted to spend. Our technician noted the customer advised him that the system hasn't been maintained in over 2 years. Perfect Home Services did try our best to honor the $79.00 special, but as you can see, the customer's situation was much more serious than just a simple back up. It was in our professional opinion to caution the customer of the potentially unstable situation. Cracking clay tiles can lead to the collapsing of the customer's line which is a horrible position to be in. We did not charge the customer anything for the two trips and for the partial service we provided to her. We have attached both invoices for your review.

Page 1 of 3
02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 7, 2014, I renewed my home maintenance contract for my AC unit and furnace with Perfect Home Services in Naperville. In vendor terms, it is called as 'VIP Program'. Perfect Home Services is the original installer and dealer of my ***** heating unit that includes *********** heat pump and ***** gas furnace.

Recently, on November 25, 2014, I made an appointment for routine heating tune-up service. Technician *** from Perfect Home Services did the tune-up on November 25, 2014. My heating system has a heat pump and a furnace. *** checked the furnace; but did not check the heat pump. When asked *** acknowledged that he does not have the skill set to service heat pump. Since his work is incomplete, I did not sign the certificate of completion.

When he left, the house temperature increased uncontrollably to 85⁰ and the humidifier system started to have water leak. I immediately called the customer service, and she responded that the service is completed and it is my responsibility to take care of the problem. At the end of the call, she advised me to withdraw from the VIP program.

Nevertheless, I did not withdraw from the program. After 4 repeated calls, they finally sent another technician, ****, on the same day. He replaced the thermostat and the outdoor temperature sensor, and the issue seemed to be fixed. I signed the certificate of completion. He informed that, if the issue reoccurs, he will bring a ***** engineer to fix the issue after December 1st due to Thanksgiving Holidays.

Again, on November 27, 2014, the heating system stopped working and the house temperature decreased significantly overnight. In the morning, I called the customer service and they sent me another technician ****. He discovered that there was wiring issue between the thermostat and the heating system. He temporarily fixed the wiring and he suggested to replace the wiring system. Moreover, he also mentioned that technician **** will contact me back with further details about this reoccurring issue.

On November 30, 2014, I noticed again the heating system stopped working from night before. Likewise, I called the customer service requesting for technician. After many calls, the company refused to send any technician. Furthermore, they told me that they will contact ***** Company as well as advised me to contact the manufacturer by myself, and so far I have not received any reply from the Perfect Home Service or ***** Company. Moreover, they asked me to fix the current issue through another contractor.

Since my house temperature was decreasing rapidly, I was worried that it may cause further complications such as health problems, freezing pipelines, and other damages to household items. I immediately hired another contractor, **** ***** Heating and Air Conditioning, with the help of my home warranty insurance. They fixed the heating issue temporarily by replacing the transformer, control board, thermostat, and rewiring of the heating system. Currently, only the furnace is working temporarily to provide the heat for the house. Unfortunately, since the contractor is not authorized ***** dealer, he could not fix the Trane heat pump.

Desired Settlement
In summary, I did not have heat for about three days and nights, settled with nonfunctional heat pump and electronic air filtration system, and broken thermostat, which I paid to be replaced by Perfect **** Service on November 25, 2014. Due to bad wiring by Perfect **** Service, many of the heating components have to be replaced by **** ***** as mentioned above.
To resolve this issue,
- I would like to have my heat pump, humidifier and air filtration system repaired or replaced as mentioned in the 10-year manufacturer warranty (enclosed copy of Perfect **** Service Warranty on ***** Products)7.
- I would like my money to be refunded for the broken thermostat, outdoor sensor and other heating system components, caused by the bad wiring done by Perfect **** Services ($549.06 as noted in the enclosed certificate of completion4).
- Finally, I would like to be fairly compensated at $5000.00 for undergoing emotional stress from Perfect **** Service.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
We apologize we were unable to service your unit. Our technicians our not specialists with regards to heat pumps and did the best they could to accommodate you. Though we do not like to loose customers we feel it would be in your best interest to find a contractor that does specialize in heat pumps to service your manufacture warranty item. The warranty as stated above is with *****. You can contact ***** for a list of vendors that do specialize in heat pumps.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the proposition from Perfect Air Service. According to ****** it is recommended to go through ******* Comfort Specialist' in local area, which is Perfect Air Service. It is easier for Perfect Air, who is authorized dealer of *****, to get the technical support for my heat/AC unit. It is also ******** recommendation for homeowners to perform unit repairs through their local authorized dealership.

Furthermore, as quoted in the advertisement on Perfect Air's website, "Perfect Air is proud to offer our industry leading, all inclusive 10 Year Parts and Labor warranty on all new heating & air conditioning systems we install. Buy a new system from us and rest assured you won't pay a single penny for any repairs for 10 years!" As the installer of my heating unit, I want the Perfect Air Service to honor their word by fixing the unit entirely, and not false-advertise to their customers.

Moreover, according to Perfect Air's website, they also offer warranty on repair as I quote: "Perfect Air also offers the industry leading 3 Year Parts and Labor warranty on all repairs that we make. If we make a repair, we guarantee it for 3 years." Since the repairs did not last a week, I want the Perfect Air to honor their guarantee. In addition, the work order form, which is the form that customer signs after work are completed, clearly indicates that all repair parts have 1-year parts and labor warranty. Since the parts replaced by Perfect Air failed within the 1-year warranty period, it is Perfect Air's responsibility to accommodate the repair failures not through another contractor.

As their technicians are not specialized to fix my heating unit as stated above by Perfect Air representative, even though they are the installer of my unit, I demand the following from Perfect Air:

Replace my entire heating/AC unit as whole to the current updated model
Fix or replace my home humidifier and air filtration system, which is currently not working due to bad wiring resulted from all the repair failures
Refund my money that I paid for all the repair services, which includes the broken thermostat, outdoor sensor, and other heating unit components replaced by Perfect Air technician during their visits. The amount is about $549.06.

If the Perfect Air cannot fix or replace my heat/AC unit entirely, I want the Perfect Air to be responsible for the following:

Pay the repair fees of fixing my entire unit through another contractor
Refund the money for all the broken parts, which includes the broken thermostat, outdoor sensor and other heating system components, caused by the bad wiring done by Perfect Home Services as mentioned in complaint, which is about $549.06.
Finally, I want fair compensation at $5000.00 for undergoing emotional stress, high water/electric bills during the month of the repair failures, loss of my work hours, which are all resulted from the poor repair service performed by Perfect Air Service

If the above demands are not accepted by Perfect Air, further actions will be taken through consumer rights for false-advertising and not honoring the guarantee/warranty. I hope the Perfect Air stay true to their words.


Final Business Response
We apologize for the inconvenience. We do not hold ***** warranty on the products. We are not a ***** manufacturer, we are a ***** dealer. We do not feel comfortable sending a technician to your home that is not experienced with heat pumps. If you contact ***** directly they will be able to recommend a service company that specializes in your ***** unit. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Heating unit was not working properly, quitting heat after about 64 degrees. Called for fixing heating problem. An inexperienced technician was sent on 11-04-2014. Challenged his experience.

A permanent employee of the company and certified-he mentioned. Diagnosed a problem with thermostat; challenged his diagnosis. Assured it was the PROBLEM. Changed thermostat; charged $420.88. (Same problem after three days of installation. Notified problem.

Same person, ****, came. Diagnosed some other repairs with Gas Valve ($734.64) and Control Board ($697.90), total $1,432.54. He was not sure as to those changes of parts would solve the problem. Wish-washy diagnosis in his first visit and uncertainty in his talks led me to believe of his inexperience and lack of training in the heating unit I have. Asked for checking and removing the thermostat as there was no problem with the it in the first place. IT WAS EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM AFTER CHANGING THE THERMOSTAT. He could not do anything to change or fix the problem without changing additional parts. Could not go through their predatory charges of the thermostat and misdiagnosis; refused other repairs by the same novice person.

Called the customer services several times. When got contacted, refused to do anything other than to replace the entire heating unit, estimated about $3500.00 as my unit was 20 years old, though actual usage of the unit was less than 6 (six) years. Cold hearted, calculated people in the heating business, I experienced first hand. Installed a thermostat, retail price about $75.00; charged almost $421.
(1) Misdiagnosis
(2) Replaced wrong part; unnecessary repair
(3) Excessive charges for the misdiagnosed, wrongly replaced part
(3) Refused to accept the thermostat.
(4) Thermostat-not installed properly- mounting screw on base plate not fastened, keep on turning.
Want to:
(1) Return the misdiagnosed thermostat
(2) Remove all service charges for misdiagnosis and wrongly replaced thermostat.
(3) Stop predatory , excessive charges on unnecessary repairs
(4) Stop looting and harassing senior citizens. Other neighbors have the similar complaints against them.

Desired Settlement
Want to:
(1) Return the misdiagnosed thermostat
(2) Remove all service charges for misdiagnosis and wrongly replaced thermostat.
(3) Stop predatory , excessive charges on unnecessary repairs
(4) Stop looting and harassing senior citizens. Other neighbors have the similar complaints against them.

Business Response
We apologize that you feel as if we did not provide you with a correct diagnosis of your 20 year old system. We sent a technician to your home on 11/4/14 for a thermostat that only reaches 64 degrees per your words. Our technician did highly recommend replacement of your 20 year old system due to the system having several issues. You believed that due to the fact that you only use the system 2 months a year, the system is only technically a few years old. As you stated in your complaint. Your first issue was the 20 year old mercury thermostat that was in your home was no longer functioning. When our technician replaced the thermostat the system started to work. Our technician again stressed that your 20 year old system needed further repair. You again refused anymore services at that time. We sent a technician out to your home a second time on 11/13/14 as a warranty call for your thermostat. The technician explained that there was nothing wrong with the thermostat that we installed and again advised you that your system needed further work which you again refused. You called in for a warranty call again on 11/14/15 and requested to speak with the Service Manager, *****. ***** explained to you that your issue was not the thermostat. She explained to you that your 20 year old system needed further work and asked if the technician explained that on site. You told ***** that the technician did explain all of that to you and even recommended replacement however, you felt as if your system was only a few years old due to you only using the system for 2 months out of the year, as you stated in your complaint. You refused any further service or repair. You were insistent that the issue was the thermostat we installed. ***** than explained to you that we could not keep sending technicians to your home for warranty when the system is not working due to an unrelated issue when you were refusing further service. She offered for you to contact another company for a second opinion and if it was in fact the thermostat she would reimburse you for the other companies charges. We record all of our calls and that was the last time you called in for service. Again, we would be willing to reimburse you for any charges from another company if they had to come and repair our work.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The RESPONSE is totally ridiculous and unacceptable.
The OLD THERMOSTAT was NOT the PROBLEM; it was replaced incorrectly and misdiagnosed as the heating problem. Heating problem was not DUE TO THERMOSTAT. $420.88 charged for services for replacing a $70.00 thermostat is a rip off.
You are still banging on the 20 year old unit, which is repaired, running and functioning correctly with a $35.00 Thermostat (as you disposed off my old thermostat, which was functioning as it should be).
I would like to return your high cost hemostat which was installed improperly with a return authorization.
The first-time diagnosis was completely wrong, as the second one.
You are in the business of ripping off people with unnecessary replacements and expensive unwarranted repairs.
A credit is needed upon receiving the thermostat you installed.


Final Business Response
I apologize that you have a price complaint. As with any business we structure our prices to what we believe is a fair price in order to conduct business. If we charged customers the cost of parts only we would not be able to run a successful business with certified technicians. As you stated your furnace is now repaired and working. We are glad that you found a company that fits more with in your budget. We will continue to stand behind the warranty on the thermostat that we installed. If you have an issue with the thermostat please feel free to contact us.

10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a coupon from the company for A/C tune-up service at $47.00. At the time of making the appointment, I made it clear that I have two units and that the coupon price shall be good for both the units. However, the technician billed me at some higher price for the service on second unit and angrily left without accepting my check for $94.00 that I gave him per the coupon price on two units. He did not leave any record of the service he had performed. I mailed my check to the company the same day requesting them to acknowledge receipt which they never did though they promptly cashed the check. At the next heat wave, none of the two units worked and company refused to do anything about it despite of the fact that the coupon said "No Breakdown, Money Back Guarantees."

Desired Settlement
1. The Perfect Home Services should pay for getting the fix to be done by some other reputable company because I no more have trust in the service of this company and its service man. I believe that the malfunctioning is due to the service man playing with the circuit board of each unit (He told me that he has fixed them though they were working fine to start with).

2. This complaint should go into the permanent record of this company signifying that they do't treat their customer right.

******** K ****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
Please see the attached.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Perfect Home Services response is entirely self serving and is full of inconsistencies and contradictions.

1. Their response states that their service manager approved the disputed price and then I "became belligerent and violent." Why would anyone become belligerent and violent after the disputed price has been accepted? Does it make any sense?
2. Their statement that "I refused to pay" cannot be farther from the truth. The fact is that I handed the technician my check for $94.00, the cost of service on two units at the coupon price as was agreed at the time of making the appointment. He wanted full price for the second unit but after talking with his service manager, he reluctantly seem to accept it. He asked for my drivers license and from it, he scribbled my license number on the check that I had provided him. This is a proof positive of the untruthfulness of their contention that I refused to pay.
3. The technician asked me to sign the invoice. As he had earlier made threats of collection agency, I requested him to write on the invoice "Paid in Full" which he flatly refused. I said I can write it myself but he did not allow me to do. My insistence to this request infuriated him. This is when he abruptly and angrily left taking the invoice back but leaving my check behind.
4. Being an honorable person, I promptly mailed that check to the company. To avoid any further argument about my payment, I spent extra money to mail the check under the postal Certified Mail category.
5. The company has not provided me with any document recording the service performed or the receipt of payment.
6. Their statement that I was "using profanity" with their technician is an insult because I never ever use profanity or swear words with any one and did not use it with that technician.
7. I have lived in this house for 34 continuous years and have used numerous services during this period but have never encountered such a problem.
8. Their coupon bravely proclaims "No Breakdown, Money Back Guarantees" but were of no avail to me.
9. The response is not at all acceptable. Any one contracting with this company should be aware of this company's attitude towards its customers.


Final Business Response
We do record all calls that come in and out of our phone lines. Out of respect for this customer, we as a business do not feel it would be appropriate to comment any further to this complaint. We stand by our original statement. We wish Mr well however, we will no longer do business with him.

05/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
12/4/2009 I purchased my first home. 12/19/2010 I called Perfect Home Services to my home regarding raw sewage that overflowed in my basement. They scoped my sewer line with a camera and it was determined that I had an opening in my sewer line the size of a quarter. The camera showed that parts of my clay sewer line (original line built in 1953) were broken and missing pipe and parts were root bound. I was quoted 2,000.00 to 4,000.00 to replace the pipe that was broken in several places. I was quoted 7,000.00 to 8,000.00 to replace the whole line; house to one foot in front of street.I paid 7,000.00 for a whole new sewer line, only received about 10 feet of pipe and instead a warranty on old and new pipe. 12/17/2012 I had raw sewage backup in my basement. 11/28/2013, my toilet upstairs overflowed. This company has refused to fix my sewer line in full and now wants to charge me an additional 2,000.00 to repair 16 feet of pipe. I am in threat of another backup.
Product_Or_Service: Sewer Line
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I need this company to honor their warranty and replace the pipe they refused to replace initially. I had an attorney but he became ill last spring. If this company does not want to honor their warranty and the whole new sewer line I paid 7,000.00 for then I would like my money back so I can get my sewer line working the way it is suppose to. I have been bullied and treated badly by this company. Unless I take them to court I don't think they will honor their warranty.

Business Response
Customer purchased a sewer line repair and warranty (see invoice). Customer contacted us a year later on November 8th,2013. PHS offered to repair the line (please reference offer letter from December 2012) Customer declined. Customer retained an attorney. PHS reached out to said attorney several times with out a response. PHS closed the claim due to inactivity from the customer. Customer contacted PHS again a year later on (11/8/13) asking to now accept the original offer of repair. Since a year had passed since the original claim we needed to make sure that that the damage had not increased due to the customers lack of follow up. PHS sent a sewer line professional to asses the damages on (12/4/13). At this time the professional found more extensive damage then originally a year prior. The customer allowed the damage to get worse by failing to allow PHS to repair the damages when they were first reported to PHS. PHS again offered the customer the repair of the original damages and explained to the customer that she is responsible for the additional damages caused by her failure to act. Again, customer has refused our offer of repair.

Consumer Response
I have a contract that warranties all old and new sewer line pipe that I paid $7,000.00 dollars for with Perfect Home Services. Perfect Home Services wanted me to sign off of my original contract if they repaired part of the broken pipe and not all of the broken clay pipe that should have been replaced with my original contract. I will not sign off on the companies responsibility that warranties their product. I need my sewer line in working order.

My health, my daughters health and my grandaugters health requires this company to abide by their warranty.

The attorney I had working on this case for me encountered medical issues and I did not have the finances to obtain another attorney. My daughter, baby grandchild and myself can not live in a home that has a sewer line that has backed up in my basement twice and is act risk of being completely inoperable.

I did not pay 7,000.00 and have my whole front yard dug down 11 ft. right before Christmas to have a portion of a pipe replaced. I have a contract that guarantees the old and new because the representative threatened to walk off the job during the installation when challenged about the sewer line quote that was changed three times.


Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com

We offered to repair the line that was under warranty in 2011, Customer had an attorney that we tried to contact several times to initiate repair with no response. We did not hear from customer again until 2013 asking for repair and clean up of home due two 2 backups.

Due to the time that had passed we needed to send a sewer tech to the home to diagnose the pipe again to see if the pipe was in the same order and eligible for repair. Tech found that the pipe had deteriorated more and there was more damage. We explained to customer that due to her lack of follow up on the needed repairs the repair would be more extensive. We offered to not only honor the original repair but to also pay for the clean up. Customer however, would be responsible for the additional cost of the repair. Our offer was: PHS will line (16) ft section of pipe from the clean out to the house (a few feet extra into the house) normally would charge $4500, but we will charge her $2250
- We will jet the line normally we would charge $1100, but we will do it at no charge just this once for free, We will have our Vendor complete the clean up/sanitation of the home at no additional cost to customer. Customer has refused repair.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
12/18/2010 Original backup, I was told pipe from house needed to be replaced and hedge wall would have to be removed as well as bushes in addition to other breaks. I was then told I didn't need to replace pipe to house. I wanted the whole sewer line pipe replaced since the line was exposed 11ft. down in my front yard and it was not. I was charged for a whole new sewer line and received a partial one.

12/17/12 Third backup after work done, I called Perfect Home Services; I have the email which details the conversation with Perfect Home Services and the City of Aurora and quote from ServPro which all confirms the dates. I did not wait to contact Home Services until 2013. see attached

I had to finance the $7,000.00 paid to Perfect Home Services for the sewer line with the warranty on old and new pipe. I don't have 2,000.00 to pay anyone for anything. I have 100.00 in savings.

When my sewer line backs up in my basement again, my daughter due June 10 with my granddaughter and I will not be able to live in my home.

To have a working toilet/sewer line is a basic necessity and I paid $7,000.00 to make sure that basic necessity was never again compromised.

Perfect Home Services needs to make my sewer line right.



Business Response
Customer refused to allow us to repair work under warranty in a timely manner. Therefore the damage increased. Due to the additional damage the cost for repair is higher. We offered the customer a discounted rate to complete repair and customer refused again. We stand by our decision. We can not cover the cost of damage that was due to the customer's neglect. As time proceeds the damage will increase again and the cost of repair will increase again.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am now seeking help through the court system and have filed a Complaint against Perfect Home Services.

05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had called Perfect Home Service on 2/20/13 after seeing there advertisement on the internet for there rodding service. My girlfriend and I had noticed a smell in the house and needed to figure out what the issue was. I called Perfect Home Service to come out and perform a rodding of the pipes. After several attempts, there was no success.

After they access the crawl space and checked the pipes under the house, they found a section that had been broken. They told me, I should have the pipe fixed and then wanted to perform a hi-pressure jetting service to clear out the pipes, which if this would have corrected the issue, I would have not had a problem with the service.

I then made the appointment on 2/22/13 at 9 a.m. On the morning of 2/22/13 at 9 a.m, no body had come, still not at 9:30 or 10:00, not even a phone call, I had to call them to find out where there people were at? They responded by saying the worker was in a meeting.

He finally showed up around 10:30. Turns out the plumber dispatch to perform the repair was an apprentice and he was there by himself, when I was told that the foreman would be present. He came in and performed repair in 45 minutes and took a photo with his phone and sent to the foreman as his way of inspecting the apprentices work. I was also told this repair would take a few hours and several workers would be needed. after completing the repairs he then exited the crawl space and had gotten sewer water/residue all over the fridge as well as the front door and left it like that, which I feel is a potential health hazard, also considering there are animals in the house.

I spoke with the foreman about the issues and he said he would talk to his employee. They then jetted the 50+ year old clay tile pipes and still did not fix the issue but told me I can apply the money to the needed repair. I called another company, they came out put the camera in the pipes and found the issue and what should be done. There was a collapsed pipe which I felt was caused by the jetting.
Product_Or_Service: hi-pressure jetting

Desired Settlement
I believe the pipe that was collapsed by the trap in the front of the house was caused by hi-pressure jetting the 50+ year old pipes and cost me extra money to replace that section of pipe. I should receive a full refund, included the money I paid them originally and also $1500 for my troubles and extra cost for replacing the collapsed pipe from there unnecessary hi-pressure jetting service, which is there way of luring people in to spending more money than they need if they want a 2nd opinion.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
Option of repairs were provided to Mr. Mr. choose to go with the jetting option (which was the least expensive) and was informed that this would not fix his issue on a permanent level due to a collapsed pipe. We informed Mr. that if he choose to go with the permanent repair after the jetting we would give him the credit of the cost of jetting towards the final repair. Services were completed and approved by the homeowner. Mr. paid a $400 deposit and was to pay the final balance of $1,200.00 upon completion of work. Mr. was then informed of the cost of a permanent repair. Mr. said he needed to think about it before making a decision. We left messages for Mr. on 03/01/2013 and on 03/13/2013 with no response. We called Mr. again on 03/21/2013 to discuss the final payment owed of $1,200.00 and Mr. stated at this time that he would return our call as he was currently at work. We never heard from Mr. again. This payment was then placed in collections on 05/28/2013 after several attempts to collect payment via regular mail. Mr. is still currently in collections for non-payment of services rendered.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, the hydro-jetting was not presented as an option, it was explained that this was the next step in figuring out the problem (Sounds like someone needs to speak to their employees). If you look on the invoice you submitted on line, you can see that there is no indication of this being performed as an option. I also noticed that there is no comment made on the mess left in the crawl space, all over the fridge and on the front door by the apprentice you sent with no foreman to supervise or how it was explained to my girlfriend she can use the water as normal with no worries, she tried to use the washer and water came up through the toilet. I even questioned the foreman when he suggested the hydro-jetting, if that was needed or he could just do a camera inspection to see the problem and he said the hydro-jetting was needed. I believe it is sad for the good companies out there, when poor companies, like yours, try to take advantage of people and makes life more difficult for honest and trust-worthy companies to do business without being questioned. FYI the house is all my girlfriends not mine at all.

Final Business Response
Customer has not paid the balance for services performed. Therefore a refund is not acceptable. Customer is filling a complaint a year after work performed in order to justify non-payment and stop collection actions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm glad to see you have all the answers now, that was not the case when I needed my sewer problem diagnosed. As for waiting to submit my claim, I did because I'm be harassed by a debt collector to pay for a service I did not need in the first place. As anyone can see I'm not the first to complain about this company and there poor work and decisions. You need to hire competent workers, not salesman! I have been a auto technician for over 20 years and would never charge someone $1600 to perform unnecessary procedures and then tell them they need an engine replaced, but that's were experience comes into play and knowing your job well and keeping the customer's best interest in mind, not there wallet.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing - Contractor, Electricians - Commercial, Electricians, Contractor - Electrical, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.