Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Paul's Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 222-8888 Fax: (708) 795-8888 View Additional Phone Numbers 6609 26th St, Berwyn, IL 60402 http://www.paulsheatingandcooling.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paul's Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Paul's Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paul's Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2000 Business started: 07/01/1980 in IL Business started locally: 07/01/1980 Business incorporated 11/07/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Sinadinos, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Sinadinos, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Pauls Heating & Cooling

Additional Locations

  • 10004 W Cermak Rd

    Westchester, IL 60154 (708) 681-1221 (708) 749-2797

  • 6609 26th St

    Berwyn, IL 60402

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On X-XX-XX I requested a repair call for my Central Air System. Upon arrival **** Checked my thermostat, furnace and ac unit, this is where he found the unit to have almost No Freon when he connected the meter. He stated a Leak test costing over $200.00 was not a guarantee to find the leak but given that there was still Freon in the unit not an option as it needs to be empty to perform this several hour test. **** them said what I should do is to fill the Unit with Freon at a cost somewhere in the area of between $500.00 & $600.00 then next spring when the unit is empty I could then pay to have a Leak test performed. My question to him was how can he guarantee that the Freon would be empty by next spring when it still had some left now, almost one year to the date X-XX-XX of my last service call from ****'s Heating to fill the Freon Last spring. I stated I was not satisfied with his non acceptable solution to my unit failure and I even tried calling the office but the woman said that **** was doing his best to save me money. I didn't see how my spending about $600.00 to have the Freon replaced leak out again as it did from my last years replacement of it was saving me money. I did not want to pay for the service call as I felt this was Not a completed service call to repair my unit, **** wasn't giving a Fix to my repair as he didn't have one but only an expensive patch to maybe last a year. After **** left I called another company and again requested a service repair. When the man arrived he also checked my Thermostat, Furnace and AC Unit and when he connected the meter and found almost No Freon he removed the cap from the relief valve he found it to be leaking Freon. My options were very simple at this point, why spend so much money on a repair when I could put it on a replacement unit to which was nicely installed the same day. Sadly I would not be making this complaint if **** had taken the 30 seconds to remove the same cap to find the leak and ****'s Heating would have been making the New Instillation. I know $69.00 may not seem like alot of money but in today economy It is a Huge amount and I for one cannot afford to throw my money away.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the refund of the $69.00 service repair call as Pete was not able to repair my unit as he didn't know where the leak was.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/05) */ Our technician went out to assess why the customers' air conditioning unit was not cooling. Upon inspection he found the air filter on the furnace was not installed correctly, he explained to the customer and corrected the direction of airflow. Moving outside, he removed the caps and attached the hoses and gauges determining that the unit was almost empty. He also checked the entire copper lineset discovering no visible leaks. At this time, he explained that if we just put the Freon in again, it will leak out again by next year, just as it did the previous year. He went on to recommend a "high-pressure leak test" for a flat fee of $200 (including 2 hours of time/labor). He also advised the customer, as we do all customers in this case, that it is not guaranteed that we will locate the leak and or leaks in the system in the time given. Never did the technician say that the unit would have to be empty in order to run the "high-pressure leak test". He did tell her that if the unit was empty he could guarantee that he could quickly locate it. One of her main concerns was spending $200 and still not finding the leak. At this point the customer became distraught about the situation, which is when the technician then gave her the option to put in freon with dye at a cost of $309 including the service call. The customer became even more distraught and walked away talking to her friend/neighbor. The technician continued to explain the situation many times along with all of her options in which she just could not understand. She then made a phone call explaining the situation to someone else and in turn made the decision to just pay the service call and have the technician leave. She did not understand that the technician was trying to save her money, instead of trying to sell her a new air conditioning system when hers was only 10 years old and the average lifespan is give or take 20 years. The customer then chose to walk away into her home, making technician wait over 15 minutes to collect his check and move on to his next call. She called the office and spoke with a manager who told her that if she didn't like the technician, we could send someone else to her. She told the manager that she wanted to purchase a new unit. The manager explained to her to pay the technician the $69 service charge and it would be applied to the new unit when a different technician arrived. The technician spent a total of 1 hour at the customers' house. The customer was never told that it would cost $600 to repair her unit. The service charge of $69 includes coming out and diagnosing the problem with the unit. Our technician did diagnose the unit as well as give options to the customer on repairing the unit so this was a completed service call in which she chose not to do the repairs. The customer even states that when another company came to her home they found the unit to be "almost empty" just as our technician did. Also please note that you cannot remove the cap from the relief valve because it is hermetically sealed internally within the compressor meaning it cannot leak freon out. As far her statement about saving her money, she would have spent "hundreds" with our technicians options to repair, and yet she chose to spend "thousands" to replace a 10 year old unit instead. Our company nicely installs units every day the same day as well. Althought the customer feels that unit needed to be replaced, ****'s Heating and Cooling felt that the 10 year old unit could have been easily repaired at a much cheaper price and possibly gotten another 10 years of life from it. The customers' resolution to this problem is not justifiable because services were rendered. Once again, our service charge is $69 to come out to diagnose the problem, which in this case was a leak in the system, options were given and in this case no repairs were made. The service charge still applies. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Upon inspection of my unit **** informed me there was a Freon Leak but did not know where. Was informed a Leak Test would determine where the leak was but as my unit was not 100% empty this was not a guaranteed option and that his suggestion was to replace the Freon at a guess estimate of $500.00-$600.00 for roughly 5 1/2 lbs of of the 6 lb capacity of my unit and then this time next year the unit would be empty and a Leak Test could be performed with results. My question was how could he guarantee my unit will be 100% empty next year when almost a year ago to the date his company had filled my unit with Freon as it was almost empty. Once again they were telling me to replace the Freon again this year to leak out over the course of a few months at a Very High Price, not a Cost Effective move as its not a fix to the problem. I was never given an option of Freon with dye for $309.00 as stated in this response, I have no idea what this option is/was. I did make a phone call while outside with **** to which he was fully aware I was calling my Brother, the other Home Owner. I also then went into my home to call his office to express my dis satisfaction but was just informed that they could send out another tech to which I declined stating I would call out another company and was asked to go back out there to pay their Tech. The $69.00 charge for the service call to diagnose the problem was not performed to satisfaction as **** knew there was a Freon Leak but did not know where to be able to repair. Once again as stated previously I did Not receive a diagnosis to the problem which needed to be addressed and or repaired. The charge was for diagnosis of the problem with an acceptable repair option to which I was not given one. I expressed my dis satisfaction to the tech as well as marking in the check memo ( Not Acceptable Service ) and on the Job Invoice where I was supposed to sign acknowledging satisfactory completion of work I stated No. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/07/03) */ The initial complaint the customer had was with paying the $69 service charge. Again, our service charge of $69 is to come out which includes driving to the home to take a look and let you know what the problem is. This is also called the "diagnostic fee". Our technician did just that. He told the customer that she had a leak in the system and that more work was needed, at an additional cost, in order to locate the leak. Our technician could not "guarantee" that the Freon would leak within a year, however just as the customer stated in her response, it was almost a year to the date from the last time it was filled. So based off the evidence in the invoice that stated this information and the 20 plus years of experience our technician has, it was very likely that the same thing would happen and could quite possibly take a full year to leak out again. He never said it would leak over the course of a few months, as the customer states. She states repeatedly that he did not diagnose the problem, which is not true. The diagnosis is that there was a leak. Locating it was more extensive than the service call includes, which was all explained to the customer. So for our $69 we gave her the options to repair her unit, however she chose to call another company and purchased a brand new unit from them. As she states, in today's economy $69 doesn't sound like too much, but it would be a lot cheaper to repair a 10 year old unit than to buy a whole new air conditioning system that in the end costs thousands of dollars. Our $69 charge was utilized when our technician drove to the customers' house and performed a diagnosis that revealed a leak in the system.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 28, 2013, Paul's Heating and cooling was hired by my 85 year old mother-in-law ******** to do a standard winter furnace tune-up. The furnace is only 11 years old and was in working condition. *** the technician told her he needed to replace an unspecified part(not listed on invoice or bad part was not shown to her) for total invoice of $186.95. A perfectly working furnace broke down and stopped working on November 12, 2013. My wife, ***** ************ suspected fraud and did a search on Paul's Heating and Cooling and found many similar complaints from elderly victims. We decided not to go back to Paul's and utilized a recommended company from my mother-in law's handy man *** ******* who we have known for 40 years. **** Heating and Cooling was hired to troubleshoot the problem. We found that no part was replaced only cleaned off as the invoice from ****'s had stated and that the wiring had been tampered with probably causing the blower motor to burn out. A new blower motor and thermostat had to be installed along with the wiring reworked for the furnace to work. Invoice to fix what was tampered with was $425.00. I, **** ************ the son-in law along with Handyman *** ******* were on the job site as **** Heating and Cooling found the problem and fixed the furnace. My mother-in law ******** had to sleep with no heat in her home for 3 nights until the furnace was completely fixed.

Desired Settlement: Looking to be refunded $186.95 for the original invoice repair that was never done by Paul's heating and cooling along the $425.00 for the new motor and tampered wiring fix by **** Heating and Cooling.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/03) */ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We did not expect this company to respond any other way but to deny. The invoice does say you replaced a sensor but upon inspection of the heating unit we found that the sensor was never replaced but just cleaned up as I did state in the first letter. Nor was the bad sensor ever shown to Mrs. ******** nor left behind as is customary by most reputable repair places. We searched the garbage and found no evidence. We also checked your company out after the incident and found many of the same type of customer complaints from elderly residents in the area. I understand that you don't know what every one of your technicians is up too but I do know that the research I did showed was a definite pattern of deception and that is why we decided not to go back to your company in the first place and be ripped off for even more money. I don't accept your response because I know what occurred and know it is just a he said she said situation at this point. We expect at the very least to be refunded the original invoice of $186.95 and will look at our options to get this remedied. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/07) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Paul's Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)