Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 296-3444 Fax: (847) 439-1702 View Additional Phone Numbers 945 Tonne Rd, Elk Grove Vlg, IL 60007 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aconehourair.com/ View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description


One Hour Heating and Air Conditioning is a heating and air conditioning company which installs, maintains, and repairs heating, air conditioning, and electrical systems for residential and commercial. Located in Elk Grove Village, IL, this company serves Buffalo Grove, Wheeling, Mount Prospect, Niles, Prospect Heights, Palatine, Rolling Meadows, and Arlington Heights. The company was established in 1948 and focuses on servicing both commercial and residential systems.

This company specializes in central heating and air conditioning, indoor air quality, whole house air filtration, duct cleaning, repair and replacement, and maintenance programs. Heating services they provide include the maintenance and installation of heat pumps, furnaces, radiant heating systems, heating systems, and boilers. For air conditioning, this company offers installation, maintenance, and cleaning of systems, in order to keep them running smoothly and efficiently. They can also create custom solutions for computer rooms in order to keep servers and other electrical equipment cool, preventing outages and damage to equipment. Their HVAC services include humidifiers, dehumidifiers, air quality equipment, thermostats, energy management equipment, and water heaters.

In addition to their heating and air conditioning services, One Hour Heating and Air Conditioning provides a full spectrum of electrical services, including emergency electrical services 24 hours a day, seven days a week. This company can provide general troubleshooting, such as when light switches or outlets fail, appliances are not functioning, landscape lighting fails, or a prior electrical installation was performed improperly. They can install a variety of electrical accents, including lights, electrical panels, ceiling fans, and more. Free estimates are available for their services, with 24-hour emergency service available. Their technicians are background and drug tested, and have at least five years in the industry before hire. A full 2-year warranty is available on all repairs.

Visit the website for One Hour Heating and Air Conditioning to view the full list of services they offer, learn more about the company's history and mission statement, and contact the company to schedule an appointment for electrical, heating, and air conditioning service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

123 Customer Reviews on One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 123
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 123

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 2004 Business started: 02/01/1991 in IL Business started locally: 02/01/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Wykle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Wykle, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Radiant Heating Thermostats Air Quality Service Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Energy Conservation Products & Services Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Electricians Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Airwize American Comfort's Heating and Air Conditioning Associated Heating Group, Inc Best Heating Dependon Heating & Air Conditioning PJ Heating
Products & Services

This company offers HVAC- Heating and Air Conditioning Company, Also Duct Cleaning, Indoor Air Quality


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1821 Walden Office Sq Ste 400

    Schaumburg, IL 60173

  • 8770 W Bryn Mawr Ave Ste 1300

    Chicago, IL 60631

  • 945 Tonne Rd

    Elk Grove Vlg, IL 60007 (847) 439-8585 (800) 590-2663 (847) 296-3444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just got a property and previous owner had a warranty on the AC unit which he purchased less than 1 year now...When trying to turn the AC it does not work...So I called customer service and they assure me that the unit still under the warranty with 1 year free labor charge(Please listen to the recording)...When the the technician came in we figure out the fan was not turning because the thermostat was not working properly so I had another thermostat and asked if he can replace it he said for that he will need to charge me 99$ I said nicely that's fine I'll just do it myself since have done it before...He concluded that the thermostat was the issue and the AC unit has no problem... I went ahead later and replace it the thermostat myself the fan working fine but the air is not cold...So thought maybe an issue with the furnace since we already concluded the issue not the AC unit so I called another company to check on the furnace but they say the AC unit still has a problem with the compressor...I called customer service they say they won't honor the contract for *** **** *** since I refused to pay last time which is not true since the lady on the phone assured me I have to pay nothing.

Desired Settlement: Need AC to be changed or fixed/

Business Response:

On your initial call (5/27), you were advised of the evaluation fee of $139, to which you agreed. We arrived at your home, diagnosed the initial problem was the thermostat that was not attached to the wall correctly due to construction being done in the home. We also did offer to install your thermostat on the wall for an addition $99, at which time you advised us you would be installing the thermostat on your own, and you refused to pay us anything at all. No additional testing was done on the system by our company to determine whether, or not, the system is functioning properly, because we could not move forward under these circumstances. 

As stated on our Agreement/Proposal:

“WARRANTIES (Under terms of warranty, annual scheduled service must performed on your equipment by American Comfort’s One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning)

  1. You have had other companies working on the system.
  2. The warranty was not assigned to you during the purchase of your home, it is still held in the name of the previous homeowner. 
  3. We cannot be held responsible for other contractors working on the system that may/may not have resulted in the failure of your air conditioner. 

 

As we can do nothing further for you, I suggest that you contact the manufacturer directly to have the unit warranties transferred into your name. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint* ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

When you guys came to the house for the first time and figure out the thermostat was not working...That was actually the final finding...and I was not told that you guys need to install the thermostat to finish the inspection...My understanding finding the thermostat as an issue was the cause of the AC unit not working...I did not pay because the unit is under the warranty for 10years and the unit still under 1 year free labor...Also I'm challenging you to get the recording that says I was told I have to Pay the 139$...I was told it's free of charge since the unit under the warranty. 

 

I did call another company the second time since you guys told me that there is nothing wrong with the AC unit....So I thought was something wrong with the furnace...that's why I got another company to take look at it...But actually what they found was the compressor on the AC unit.


Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: The warranty with thy system was valid with the prior owner. Please contact the manufacturer to seek a suitable service center for the remainder of your manufactures warranty. 

10/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Comfort Club Purchaser- ******* and ****************** *** N ********* Dr ********* IL XXXXX Covered Air Conditioner Make-Rheem; Model- RAKA 030JAZ; Serial-5339FXXXXXXXX Covered Furnace Make- Rheem; Model-RGDGIOEAHER; Serial-DF5D302FXXXXXXXX; Comfort Club Sales- **** ****** On 8-12-09, my elderly parents entered into Comfort Club contract with One Hour, which promises (for both heating and air conditioning); "precision tune-up, professional cleaning, and rejuvenation ... PLUS, one Safety Check(each) annually." On 11-10-09, my parents purchased a new furnace unit with installation. Safety Inspection items listed in red, on System Efficiency Report, are incomplete or omitted on multiple reports even though listed as required. On report dated 10-14-13, for example, no items flagged as 'attention needed'. Quote for AC replacement presented to parents on XX-XX-XX for $4771. Comfort Club agreement lists seven 'Benefits' to membership. My parents paid monthly, from X-XX-XX to X-XX-XX for the promise of services which were not performed according to One Hour's own System Efficiency Reports. My parents made the required monthly payments, and One Hour was unable or unwilling to perform at least three of their seven contractual obligations as listed on their Comfort Club contract. #1 Multiple Safety Check forms do not identify any deficiencies in AC, with many required items not documented as completed. #4 Suffered increased utility costs to operate an inefficient AC system which was not identified as such during several professional and precision evaluations. This is contrary to promised reduction in utility costs in contract which states "Savings on utility bills can easily pay for annual service." #7 On 11-10-2009,$2875 furnace purchase and installation charge did not expressly note or reflect in any way a 10% discount according to the Comfort Club membership engaged in on 8-12-09. #7 $4771.00 quote for replacement AC unit did not identify or specify a promised 10% membership discount (for "equipment and services") as required by Comfort Club contract. Because of the substantially large AC quote, recommended by One Hour for a complete replacement, I contracted another HVAC company for a second opinion on July 8, 2014. Fan setting and Freon levels were incorrect. When repaired by the other company, the quality and efficiency of my parent's air conditioning immediately improved. No other company serviced my parent's HVAC system since they entered into One Hour's contract on 8-12-09, until July 8, 2014. One Hour's technicians, given the tasks specified on their reports, should have been qualified and able to identify and adjust/repair improper fan speed and overcharged Freon levels within nearly five years of the Comfort Club contract. One Hour confirmed with my parents, my ability and my parents' desire that I speak on their behalf to address One Hour's lack of adherence to the Comfort Club contract. I attempted multiple contacts to address concerns on my parent's behalf, in which concerns were repeatedly dismissed and responses delayed. July 6, 2014 spoke to **** about deficiencies in workmanship and performance under my parent's contract. Fan setting and Freon overcharge were dismissed by **** as "unbelievable" July 14, 2014 emailed customer care and owner in writing to cancel contract, explain non-performance of contract and requested response, and no response to date. July 22, 2014, Rose referred me to ****. Voice message not returned July 23, 2014, spoke to **** and asked for refund for July 2014 payment and October 2013 payment when safety inspection performed. No response. July 25, 2014, spoke to **** and was told Carl **** call back. **** later informed me that "they did nothing wrong" and the accounting department has cancelled the contract. I was also informed that my request for a two month refund will not be honored.

Desired Settlement: After further review of my parents' records, I seek this settlement. 1) 10% discount not applied on furnace installed on 11-10-09, performed three months post Comfort Club membership. Sales- Rick B Make-Amana; Model- AMH80904BX; Serial- 0905751283. $2875.00 $287.50 2) Refund one year membership dues for non- performance of contract from 8-12-09 to 7-14-2014 12 months @ $24.95 $299.30 3) Having to contract another HVAC company to diagnose and resolve/repair HVAC deficiencies due to One Hour non-performance. $120.00 ------------- Total submission $706.80

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ We began servicing clients system in 2009. Our first visit was to clean and check the A/C. No problems were reported by client at that time, and no problems were found other than an older system. The client signed up for maintenance agreement, and we have continued to service both the furnace, and A/C for the last 5 years. Over the last 5 years the client has not called us or brought to our attention any issues with AC not working after we have performed annual maintenance. After the last A/C inspection on 07/16/13 If you refer to the techs system efficiency report, the technicians readings show that the required super heat was with in the + or - 5 degrees it should have been, and was normal. This means the freon levels are at what they should be at. Only recommendations made was to consider options on replacing system due to it being older and less efficient than today's standards. At that time the client decided to wait. When we came out to do the furnace maintenance in October the client asked if we could send someone out to give the A/C replacement options, which we did. The estimate was given on 10/16/13 and have not been out to the client since. If client was having any problems with A/C not working they were never reported to us. Customer stated he had a friend, or neighbor who was in the business come out and found it overcharged and the fan set wrong. The friend made adjustments to the system. Client did not call us and bring any problems to our attention, and did not give us any opportunity to confirm if this was the case or not. Keep in mind the client had his friend out making those adjustments a year after our last A/C inspection. The client also was not able to provide an invoice with his friends diagnoses. Over the 5 years of service we have not added any freon to the clients system, and the readings have always been in proper range. The client never called with any problems about A/C not cooling properly either. If system was over charged it was not done by One Hour, and again checked out normal on Maintenance visits. Client requested monthly comfort club to be cancelled, and was done so per his request. System efficiency report for AC and furnace are complete. In addition to this clients invoice states that all components have been checked and all is OK, both of which the client signed off on. On the A/C checklist only 3 boxes are not checked. they are as follows: #23 Condition of start assist: There is not one existing to check, but it was recommended to have added on bottom of report by tech. #24 Test defrost timer: On heat pumps only. Client does not have a heat pump. #25 Test reversing valve: Again a heat pump only control. As for the furnace that was installed in 2009. Price given & agreed upon was after all discounts had been applied.Agreement and cost of install was accepted on 11/06/09. The job was signed off on, installed, and accepted as satisfactory by the homeowner. No problems with price or not receiving discounts was ever brought to our attention. If there was then those issues would have been addressed before we had a signed agreement with a final install price. All services have been performed as agreed upon. Comfort Club has been cancelled per clients request. No additional reimbursements are due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My parents only received HVAC service from One Hour, from X-XX-XX to 7-14-2014. No other company was contacted until I had another service evaluate my parent's AC unit on July 8, 2014 due in large part to One Hour's completely unnecessary and unwarranted recommendation in the Fall for a replacement. One Hour states that numbers 23, 24, and 25 on service records do not apply, even when it is obvious that there is a box to check when something does not apply. Each form in my possession is filled out differently. Reports reveal grossly inconsistent documentation between technicians over several years. The 7/16/13 signature does not match all of the other reports' signatures. My mother, the client, did not sign the 7/16/13 report. This report included extra charges that your client may not have authorized if given the chance. One Hour asserts that documentation is important when it comes to "signing off" on their work, but does not hold their technicians to the same standard to properly document, even allowing someone other than the client to approve their work. On Proposal/Agreement (11/6/09), as well as **** (11/10/09-service #XXXXXX), no discount for the $2875.00 total price is applied nor implied, and no indication of a verbal discount is written. AC quotation (10/16/13) has no discount applied. Because no discount is expressly indicated, none was given. Documents submitted by One Hour demonstrate that a discount was not applied. One Hour cannot prove the price was already discounted just by merely stating it. Attached is photo, taken by me on 7/8/14, of garbage found in line and improper sealing of drain, as well as receipt for items needed to repair drain line that day. Finding garbage in the pipe should have been noticed by One Hour during routine inspection of #87 on System Efficiency Report on 7/16/13, and if not then, on 10/13/13. One Hour replaced condensate pump on 11/17/11, job #XXXXXX. The diagnostic service, on 7/8/14, was performed by a technician; not my friend. No invoice was ever asked for or inquired about during any and all of my contact with One Hour. Keep in mind that complaining about not getting something, for which you never asked, is misleading and dishonest. Had they asked, I may have felt as if they were as responsive to my parents' needs as when they presented their nearly $5000.00 quote for a new AC in October,2013. One Hour cannot say for certain that Freon was not added. One Hour makes no mention of the fan speed being improperly set. "The client never called with any problems about A/C not cooling properly either." One Hour's solution is to advise my parents to replace the unit, due to age, and not document a contractual discount. Improper, incomplete, and inconsistent documentation indicating that the work was missed, or not done at all. Poor professionalism and workmanship which may have increased utility costs and maintenance costs which contradicts Comfort Club contract. No discounts were applied per One Hour's Comfort Club contract. Because no other contractor was engaged to service the AC unit, and my parents were satisfactory and current Comfort Club members, I maintain that One Hour should be responsible for $706.80 Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Recommending elderly clients A/C products in the fall season is not proper. One Hour representatives should have advised my parents to wait until spring to guarantee their current A/C is not serviceable and not merely old. When you told my parents it was a good idea to replace their A/C, they believed you. My parents have paid more than $4300.00 to One Hour. They deserved better for their loyalty to you. The frank suggestion that this is my attempt to discredit one Hour is not meaningful to this process. What discredits One Hour is not being fully aware of ALL that transpired until recently. It is worth repeating that I sent an email with letter attached to customer service and Mr. *****, on July 14. No confirmation, no inquiry, and no response. The tactics they choose to employ against my sincere and reasonable complaint discredits One Hour. Whether willful mistakes or not, it diminished the quality of service my parents received and complicates my appeals. One Hour dismisses consistently inconsistent documentation practices as no cause to question workmanship or service quality when in fact problems were found. HVAC company invoice reflecting $120 payment is available. Stating a 10% discount was given without providing proof is not credible. One Hour did not adhere to the Comfort Club contract as promised. Proof that my specific claims are without merit has not been provided. In addition to the $150 (12 months reduced to 6 months) offered by One Hour for service not provided; 10% furnace discount $287.50 HVAC second opinion $120.00 Total $557.50 Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/10/08) */ As our last response mentioned, we are sorry we could not come to an agreement on the equipment. Our final offer will be to refund the $150 for the work not completed that was part of the comfort club.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very disappointed in this company. Friday night 8/22/14 my Ac was acting up, called the 24/7 line and was told tech would be paged. He called and I explained the problem, he immediately started saying excuses why he couldn't come out, one being it was too dark outside. With some pressure from me he agreed to come take a look. When he arrived he assessed the situation. Water was somehow dripping onto the circuit board causing it to short out. He wouldn't go any further to troubleshoot where the water was coming from, just said to leave Ac off for the night and a tech would come in the morning. So my family including two small children had to sweat it out for the night. The next morning a tech did show up. The Ac was all dry and he took a look inside and out and didn't really find anything concrete that would explain where the water was coming from. He then spent the next 45 minutes trying to get me to sign up for the club and pay a monthly fee. I felt he spent more time on selling rather than troubleshooting. This evening I noticed water dripping again from the drain pipe where it comes out of the coil housing. I looked along the PVC piping and noticed water seeping from the seams of the pipe indicated high water pressure. Water was again dripping into the furnace and onto the circuit board. I looked at the end of the pipe and noticed it was clogged. I removed the end of the pipe and water gushed out. I removed the end of the pipe and cleaned it thoroughly, then reattached it. Since I have done that, which took all but a few minutes, and I am not a trained HVAC tech. The water is no longer dripping. Why with two different techs coming to my house, neither bothered to look at the end of the pipe to see if there was a clog. However the first tech was quick to charge me the $109 service charge and the second tech put his heart and soul into trying to sign me up for the club. I want my $109 refunded since neither tech really fixed the problem. I am the one that had to troubleshoot and fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $109.00 because the company was unable to fix a simple problem and just provided excuses as to why they couldn't. Had they looked at the drainage pipe during the assessment, they would have found the problem and could have easily fixed it on that Friday, 8/22/14 night. Also, they focused more on trying to sign me up for the club. I will never do business with this company again, nor will I refer them to anyone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/25) */ Hi ****, I am sorry about the experience you had with our company. At our company we believe in 100% customer satisfaction which CLEARLY did not happen. I apologize for your experience and please do give Carl a call back to discuss what happened on your service call, we would like to prevent this from ever happening again. We will be refunding your $109 because it looks like we totally blew the call. Again, please accept my apology. We would also like to offer you a 1 year membership to our club membership program because of your experience. Please give the office a call and ask for Carl. Best Regards **** *****

10/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is not the dollar amount so much as the principle! I called and asked to have my service contract on the furnace, air conditioner and hot water heater cancelled effective August 21, 2013. I have been billed now for the past two months. I called them and was dealt with in a very rude way. I have been a service club member since 1996, purchased an aid conditioner and a new furnace (2/2012). I feel betrayed!

Desired Settlement: It's simple. Simpy refund the $39.90!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@aconehourair.com I spoke with ***** this afternoon and apologized. The money is being credited back . Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

123 Customer Reviews on One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart