BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2005

Official Heating & Cooling

Phone: (815) 344-0400Fax: (815) 344-08001401 North Dr, MchenryIL 60050-4331 Send email to Official Heating & Cooling

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2005

BBB has determined that Official Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Official Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Official Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: On June 16,2014 the company service manager came to fix a problem on our air conditioner. After the diagnostic and repair he said that we had no refrigerant in the unit so he refilled it with 4 lbs R-22 and also said there was a leak but he fixed it and we will not have more issues. I gave him personal check for $488.00. On July 23,2014 we had the exact same problem-no cold air from the unit. The service manager came second time for diagnostic and stated that there is a leak from the unit and suggested that we need to get new air conditioner and that the one he already repaired is not fixable. We asked about refund for the money that we paid for the repair and he said that we can get refund only if we purchase new air conditioner from their company. I thought that it's wrong to force me buying product from them and I called the customer service to dispute the issue. They told me that they will not refund me the money unless I buy new unit from them and when confronted about the poor service they provided they told me that I at least had air for a month.

Initial Business Response
The customer stated in his complaint(from the 06/17/14 visit) that we said "the customers will not have more issues". If you read the ticket that the customer signed and received copy of, again, from the 06/17/14 visit, you can clearly see that our tech stated "suspect condensing coil leak, have seen lots of 5 ton unit leaks" and "watch for ice build up or loss of airflow which means leak" Our tech was very clear on ticket and in conversation concerning future possible issues. Also, what this customer is failing to mention is that this call today was past our 30 day warranty yet we still (and our pleasure!) ate the expense of sending a tech back to the call and paying the tech 45 minutes of labor though charging the customer zero dollars (another loss when we explained at first visit that he may have future issues) We also offered to refund his last service call (another possible loss to us) if he choose to purchase a new unitno one was forcing him to do so, as he stated, we just offered it, he choose not to and he then contacted the BBB. No one at Official stated "at least you had air for a month" that is simply not the way we do business

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company is simply trying to avoid in any possible way to refund the money if they suspected leak they should of suggested replacing the unit right away instead of making it last just past 30 days, so they can get payed. I consulted with other companies and they said that if there is a leak you definitely need new unit.

The company never said how long is the warranty on the repair and it's not stated anywhere on the receipt they gave me. They also where to follow up how the unit is working and they failed to do so.

Final Business Response
We are certainly not trying to avoid any type of refund. Dis-satisfied customers are the LAST thing we want and we always go the extra mile to try to resolve issues even when it means a financial loss to our company (the price of doing business sometimes). We DID suspect a leak which is why it is clearly documented "suspect condensing coil leak" on the customers service ticket...it could not be any clearer. No service company or technician can cause a unit to last a certain period of time and any other company that you consulted that said "if you have a leak, you must replace unit" is wrong, and they are trying to avoid collecting less dollars and instead, going straight to selling a new unit, even manufactures will support that....it is like saying to replace a car if a problem occurs. Our warranties are industry standard and even if it was not mentioned, it does not really have any bearing as we went back free of charge. As far as following up, this will be a "he said/we said" since the customer was to follow up with us as he lives in the home, he was to contact us if air quality became a concern once again and we clearly stated on the service ticket "watch for ice build up or loss of airflow which means leak" Again, we would happily refund the service ticket in question if he needs a new unit (and this is something that not all companies do) and we were significantly lower in total cost of a new unit than the quote this customer received from another company. I am sorry this customers unit failed. It is 11 years old, uses R-22 which is no longer available by federal guidelines and again, our quote was significantly lower than others he received.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
11/30/2011Billing / Collection Issues
04/05/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heat Exchangers, Duct & Duct Fittings, Water Heaters - Repairing, Pipe & Boiler Covering Contractors, Heat Pumps, Sump Pump Contractors, Duct Cleaning, Leak Detecting Instruments, Sheet Metal Work, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Electric Heating Elements, Boilers - New & Used, Air Duct Cleaning, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Thermostats, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Furnace Sales & Service, Furnace Cleaning, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Ventilating Contractors, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top

On September 30, 2011 the business changed ownership still keeping the business name. Under the new ownership the Business has claimed no responsibility for providing refunds owed by the previous owners.

BBB file opened: 12/27/2000Business started: 09/01/1990New Owner Date: 09/30/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary DeFrancisco (Office Manager)
Related Businesses
ACME Heating Co - 1401 North Dr, McHenry, IL
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heat Exchangers, Duct & Duct Fittings, Water Heaters - Repairing, Pipe & Boiler Covering Contractors, Heat Pumps, Sump Pump Contractors, Duct Cleaning, Leak Detecting Instruments, Sheet Metal Work, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Electric Heating Elements, Boilers - New & Used, Air Duct Cleaning, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Thermostats, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Furnace Sales & Service, Furnace Cleaning, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Ventilating Contractors, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
AK & CL LLC
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Official Heating & Cooling

1401 North Dr

Mchenry, IL 60050-4331

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Official Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.