BBB Accredited Business since

Mike's Bremen Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 532-2266 9620 194th Pl, Mokena, IL 60448

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike's Bremen Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike's Bremen Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mike's Bremen Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1990 Business started locally: 04/01/1990 Business incorporated 06/09/2005 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Carrano, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Carrano, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Ranges & Ovens - Service & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

This company offers We repair or replace Furnaces & Air Conditioners, we also repair all major appliances.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mike's Bremen Service, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7824 Joliet Drive N.

    Tinley Park, IL 60477 (708) 479-6161

  • 9620 194th Pl

    Mokena, IL 60448 (708) 532-2266


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 18, 2015 I called Mikes Bremen Service out to fix my furnace. They said they fixed it by recutting the low voltage wires and cleaning the flame sensor. They charged me $109.95. They left and told me to call if it did not work still. I called an hour later and they told me they would come back out and replace the thermostat to see if that was the problem. I asked them how much and they nothing until we see if it works. They came out installed thermostat and it still did not work. I called to tell them that I did not work and I did not need to keep it and they said they had to charge me $120 for the visit and would take back the thermostat. I was floored and asked them why I had to pay for their services when I called them out to fix my furnace and it was not fixed. They have no right to charge me $120 when they did nothing to fix my problem. I called out their services because I did not know what the problem was. I did not ask them to come out and start trying to fix random things until they solved the problem, which they never did anyway.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for $120 refund back for the service charge they charged me without my permission. I agreed to pay the $109.95 for the original service call and I agreed to pay $60 for the thermostat because thats what they told me they would refund me for that but not the service call. They never said that the service call would be $120 otherwise I would have NEVER called them out and I could have changed my own thermostat for free. Thats not what I called them out to fix.

11/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with the contractor, Mike's Bremen Service, while suffering from debilitating side effects caused by my pancreatic cancer surgery. He talked about installing the gold series furnaces and Silver Series XI 16 SEER air conditioners. I asked the contractor to quote installing Gold ZM series with variable speed fan and Silver 16 SEER air conditioner. He quoted $6,300.00 I was concerned that the Gold ZM was too complicated. He said if I wanted to install the Gold XI furnace with single speed fan it would be about $300 cheaper. He said he would throw in an upgraded Gold humidifier with an outdoor air sensor when I asked about that feature. I called the contract that afternoon and told him I would like to go ahead with the installation he quoted. I then called him back and to clarify that I wanted to change to the Gold XI single speed fan furnace and a new line set rather than reusing the old line set. I told him could work out the final details when he arrived Monday morning to install the equipment. After all he said it would cost about $300 cheaper for the Gold XI furnace so there was not much to discuss. The contractor's technician arrived early to start the demolition. The contractor showed up much later in the day and helped finish the installation. He never stopped to talk to me at all. He did not show me the equipment after installing it. He did not tell me he had switched the equipment. I paid the contractor and then signed off on a receipt which I did not read. His technician wanted to show me something but, the owner kept loudly telling him, "Let's go!" The technician ignored him and showed me how to change the position of the humidifier air valve. Then they both quickly ran out the door with my check. Weeks later after recovering from an illness I notice he had not installed the agreed upon equipment. He installed a much cheaper Silver Series SI furnace Model AHU1B080A9421B and a much cheaper 3 ton Silver SI 13 SEER Model 4TTB3036E1000A condenser with a mismatched 3.5 ton Model 4TXCB042BC3HCB coil. He also had installed the cheaper Silver series humidifier. Contract said he was would give me a free upgrade to a better humidifier (Model Gold AHUMD 300A) with an outdoor air temperature sensor. Instead he installed the cheaper Silver humidifier (Model AHUMD200A). My cost to have the correct model humidifier installed is $350 Contractor was supposed to install a Gold XI furnace. Installed much cheaper Silver SI furnace. Cost decrease for much cheaper furnace: $750.00 Supposed to install a 16 SEER Silver XI air conditioner condenser with associated 16 SEER evaporator coil. Instead installed a much cheaper Silver SI 13.00 SEER air conditioning Condenser and 13.0 evaporator coil. Cost decrease for much cheaper air condition system: $750.00 Failed to properly size the air conditioning evaporator coil. Installed a 3.5 tons evaporator coil on a 3.0 ton condenser. This leads to lower operating efficiencies over the life of the unit which means higher electricity bills for the life of the unit. The oversized coil also causes the compressor to work harder resulting in premature failure of the compressor. Cost decrease for loss of efficiency and shortened compressor life: $300.00 The air conditioner condenser was installed with a part missing off the fan cover (See Exhibit #5). Cost to have someone provide and install this part: $280.00

Desired Settlement: Resolution 1: My preferred resolution of these problems is having the contractor return and install all the correct equipment free of charge. After all I already paid him $6000.00 for the better quality equipment and installation. Resolution 2: In lieu of install the correct equipment I am asking for a rebate of $2,430.00 which is very reasonable all things considered. I am also stuck with lower quality equipment for the next 15 years.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company installed an attic fan in my home on 8/28/2012. I paid $580. Fan did not seem to be working the spring of 2014 but weather was mild and it was hard to tell. Finally called them with the problem in early August as the weather heated up and they were hesitant to check it out. Once I made it a service call to check my A/C and furnace they arrived on 8/1/2014 and confirmed my fan was out and charged me $129, which I paid. They said they would be back to replace the fan in a few days. They arrived on 8/7/2014, replaced the fan and left a bill for $350 with my wife. They told her it might take 10 days to check to see if they could get a warranty credit. I called and spoke to Mike a few hours later and he did not seem happy that I was asking about the $350 charge. He told me he would try to get a credit for us from the manufacturer within 10 days. We waited to hear from him and did on 8/19/2014 when he called my wife at 7:30am. He told her he would credit us $100 and we owed him $250. She told him I would call him later as she was getting the kids off to school. He told her "it seems like you people don't think you should have to pay the bill". She once again told him that I would call him. She said Mike was very confrontational and demanding that we pay him. My wife never said we wouldn't and only told him that I would call him. She felt harassed as we were simply waiting to hear back from him. I called Mike's office an hour later and spoke with ******. I asked her for the make and model of the fan to check on my own about the warranty and told her I would check out the manufacturer's warranty when she gets the make and model to me. It seems that the standard practice for Mike's Bremen is to show up and do work without any price discussion and hit you with a bill that was not preauthorized by the consumer prior to work being done. When my attic fan was installed on 8/28/2012, I only requested an estimate and when it was given at $580, I asked when they would be able to install the fan. He told me that they already had the hole cut in my roof. I NEVER authorized the work but since they were almost done, let them finish and paid them. On 8/19/2014, when I spoke to ******, she told me that a full installation on an attic fan is $500. Once again, I paid $580 on 8/28/2012. Strange. For me to have to set up a service call to get them to look at my broken attic fan cost me another $129 only to have them come back and want to charge me another $350 to remove and replace the faulty fan with, hopefully, a good fan that will last me 20 years like it should. Neither of those charges were stated ahead of the work performed either. In fact, the invoice on 8/1/14 for the A/C and furnace check does not even state that the furnace was checked, only that the A/C was. I believe that we were led to believe that the fan would be replaced under warranty when they came back to do so. They were never upfront with cost or conditions until I asked AFTER receiving the bill. Due to the fact that there was no set price or condition of employment, I feel I am not liable for payment.

Desired Settlement: Void the $250 charge to replace my defective attic fan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: Mike *******-Owner Contact Phone: 708-532-2266 Contact Email: ************** In response to case#******** Back on 8-28-2012 Mr **** called to have us install an attic fan with 30ft of electric in a very difficult attic (no flooring, balance between rafters)fast forward to 8-1-2014. we were called to clean & check air conditioner and check attic fan due to not hearing it run. Serviceman **** cleaned and checked a/c and adjusted vent dampers for 2nd floor, then went up into attic to see if attic fan was running, found out motor was locked up, remember this is a very difficult attic to get to attic fan. So **** stated we will have to get a new attic fan & check manufactures warranty and come back. Mr **** stated we seemed hesitant which I think he is hyper sensitive to just about every conversation that takes place. We were not hesitant we just wanted to make sure it was or wasn't working & trying to save service call for customers because most people don't hear attic fan running when they generally are, so that's what we kind of lean towards. When we changed the attic fan on 8-7-14 we came into the kitchen area and waited for 1/2 hour while Mrs **** was talking to someone else, never asked if there was any charge, so I gave her the bill for 350.00 and she didn't say anything & we continued to wait , then finally she said I will have my husband take care of it and call you. Mr **** called back about the 250.00 bill , i sensed by his tone and lack of conversation that he wasn't happy with the charge. so I told Mr **** I would see if I could get any money off If I return the motor and call him back. I called back 4 5 days later and left a message on the their phone, no response. I called back a couple days later again and left another message to see where they were with the bill, trying to get a feeling to their thinking, still no response. That is when I called back at 7:30 am and tried to talk to Mrs **** and she wasn't wantig to talk about it and deferred to Mr **** and said he will call you, that's when I stated you don't seem to want to pay the bill? Not confrontational or demanding just wanting a response which all she did ws defere to Mr ****. I said that is fine you just need to communicate that to us. Mrs **** left me hanging never stated if she was unhappy about anything. so I left her house and previous conversation confused.Mr **** also never said anything about being unsatisfied until I received this email from BBB informing me so.Never had the conversation about being unhappy just vague, elusive then going to BBB. So I was right when I sensed their indifference but they never communicated anything one way or the other, That is why I was trying to get a response over three not returned messages of what their intentions where. Another thing the original service call ticket never stated furnace check they only said a/c was not cooling and to check attic fan. When we came back to install attic fan **** asked Mr **** if a/c was working better and he said YES. We are at the mercy of the manufactures and the products the produce, I cant help the fan didn't last 2 years. I didn't make it. But as far as installing a new motor I wont do that for nothing, It is a tough attic, 100 degrees, 2 story roof and hard to maneuver which comes with risk physically. There is little profit for this type of repair or job. I will re think every time I do one from now on. Travel time with man hours is 4 hours - not worth it. nobody would do it for that cheap. This complaint is baseless and a mark with BBB for a silly misunderstood reasons, brought on by Mr & Mrs ****'s lack of communication with us. Lastly I called Mr **** about the complaint 8-14-14 told him I wish he would have told me his thoughts. And lowering bill to 250.00 due to motor under warranty. Mr **** said he would pay the bill. Today is 8-27-14 and I have not received any payment as of yet. Sincerely Mike ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My complaint to BBB about Mike's Bremen Service stands as initially stated. The response from Mr ******* is almost comical as the information stated is either embellished, omitted, or just false. Mr ******* called me on 8-22-2014 after receiving the complaint from BBB. He told me that he couldn't believe I would get BBB involved with my issue. I believe my complaint to BBB clearly stated my issue with the unfair practices of Mike's Bremen. The initial installation of my attic fan on 8-28-2014 should never have happened. Mike was there to give me a quote. I had him do the work and agreed to the price of $580 after he told me they had cut the hole in my roof and were installing the fan. I never agreed to a price prior to work being done but had him finish what was started and paid him. I thought there was a problem with the fan and paid $129 for an A/C check just to get someone out to check the fan. Mr ******* stated several times that they don't like to check the fans because usually people are wrong about it being out. Once the fan was determined to be broken, there was never any discussion about cost, only that they would be back to replace the fan. Once again, the work was done, without an agreement, and I received a bill for $350 more. Mr. ******* did not know what the warranty was initially, which seemed strange that he would not know the products he installs, and it took several days for him to attempt to call me about the warranty. My phone was not working from the weekend of 8-15-2014 as my wife explained to Mr. ******* on 8-19-2014 at 7:30am. We had been waiting to hear back from Mr. ******* about the fan warranty and when he called, he harassed my wife about the bill. She told him about the phone being out over the weekend, the fact that she was trying to get the kids off to school, and that I would call him shortly. He continued to harass her. I called his office an hour later. Mr. ******* now complains about how hard the job was, how he would never do a job "that cheap", and about how sensitive we have been to his harassing calls and letters. He also states how I told **** that my A/C was working better. I never spoke to **** and actually told Mike that my A/C was working fine to begin with. My complaint to BBB is to warn consumers not to use Mike's Bremen Service because of our treatment from them. The fact that their business practices include doing work without being told or not having a quote until after work is done seems a normal practice for them. When you question the price, you can expect to get an argumentative response from them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/24) */ See Document Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unable to open and read the attached proposed solution. Please put latest response in a readable format.