Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Merts Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (708) 754-4768 Fax: (708) 754-7804 View Additional Phone Numbers 3102 Holeman Ave, Steger, IL 60475 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merts Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Merts Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 10/16/2000 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Julie Weidenaar, Office Manager Mr. John Mucha, President
Contact Information
Principal: Julie Weidenaar, Office Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Air-Tron, Inc.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had to call Merts to troubleshoot the problem with the heating furnace. The furnace was fixed. But what happened to the water heater next to the furnace? It stopped working. Sometime after serviceman left, there was no hot water. I called Merts again to say that I thought the serviceman did something wrong. When serviceman was here, I he went to the fuse box, and he opened it, put his hand inside, and closed it and went back to the furnace. I spoke to ******** from Merts. She’s mechanical. All she said, a serviceman well be sent and quoted another cost. Very quick was she in promoting the service and the cost. I immediately felt there was something wrong with this picture. ******** said that one thing had nothing to do with the other. Of course I know that, I said. But serviceman must have done something by mistake when he went to the fuse box. We don’t know! The water heater is automatic. If the pilot goes off, the instructions say you could smell gas. There was no smell of gas. It’s supposed to lite up automatically, no matches or such. It was turned off. No lites anywhere. Merts needs to send serviceman to come back and fix it. He caused it. He should fix it. Or reimburse the cost of other serviceman.

Desired Settlement: Merts needs to send serviceman back and fix it. He caused it. He should fix it. Or reimburse the cost of other serviceman. Serviceman made a mistake.

Business Response: Merts was contacted by Ms. ******* to come out and look at her furnace, her complaint was that she did not have heat.  Ms. ******* refused to give us her name, we contacted the number we had on our files and spoke to her sister.  Ms. ******** sister told us to go ahead and go there, she also stated that Ms. ******* and her brother werre having a sibling disupute on the tempature that the house was kept at.  The brother turned the gas off.  Upon our inspection nothing was malfunctioning with the furnace the gas valve to furnace was in the off postiion.  Merts had nothing to do with the water heater.  It is not our repsonsibility to settle sibling disputes.

11/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2014 I hired Merts to clean my air ducts as general maintenance. Within a few weeks of their work, virtually my entire home was covered in dust. Never, in 20 years prior had I experienced a dust problem, and within 14 days of the work being done I had an incredible layer of dust covering my floors, carpeting, cabinets, walls, drapes, beds, personal belongings, and practically everything within the walls of my home. After contacting them to bring this issue to light, they were totally dismissive of the problem and simply told me that they were not at fault. Furthermore, they were hesitant to provide any insurance information, making it difficult to pursue alternative courses of action. I was eventually referred to their insurance agent, ***** ****** at ******** Insurance Agency who still to this day has not provided a policy number. My insurance agent, ***** Insurance Group, was eventually able to open a claim with Merts' insurance carrier, ***********, by finally convincing someone to open a claim even though I did not have a policy number. Without the policy number, this took several days to accomplish. My agency just kept calling *********** before reaching someone that was willing to help. I had ******************* come to my home on 4/30/14 to write an estimate for the dust removal: $15,688.79. Beyond the lack of accountability for the poor work, I was treated rudely by the sales team and felt bullied into a position of no recourse.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a reimbursement of all out-of-pocket expenses for the dust removal, whatever that figure ultimately is. At the very least, I think it will be my $1000 deductible + whatever portion of the dust removal is not covered by my own homeowners insurance. My out-of-pocket expenses are likely to be in the $8000-$9000 range.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/01) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I write pursuant to your letter dated July 1, 2014. Before I begin my rebuttal, I want to state that prior to case #XXXXXXXX becoming activated, my husband and I had a long-standing (19 year), positive relationship with Merts Heating and Air Conditioning. The unfortunate circumstances that prompted my letter to the BBB could have been avoided had a series of negative experiences not taken place when I attempted to resolve the issues relative to my case becoming active on June 18, 2014. Herein is a timeline of what has taken place with a brief explanation, where necessary. Additionally I will address the negative comments in the response BBB received from Merts. August 21, 22 and 28, 2013 House thoroughly cleaned. My husband was ill and we wanted it pristine. October 2, 2013 - My husband passed October 11, 2013 - (Nearly two months after cleaning) Memorial service at my home. NOTE: Friends who came to clean said, "*****, your house looks fine. It doesn't need much." November 15 - Representative from Merts ******* performed winter tune-up. Furnace was given a clean bill of health. November 20 - Merts performed duct cleaning. NOTE: Christmas decorations were up because my husband loved Christmas and wanted them displayed. Subsequent to his death, I was unable to take on the task of removing said decorations due to the grieving process. I felt closer to my husband. The decorations mentioned are now all stored, with the help of many friends. 11/21/XXXX-X/20/2014 Noticed some health issues with breathing and sneezing, as well as tightness in my chest. Wasn't observing environmental changes as carefully as usual. Avoiding home due to sadness at the loss of my husband. 2/20/2014 - Furnace went out. Called *** ****** a local independent, who indicated duct work was done incorrectly, causing excessive dust accumulation and a dirty furnace filter. 2/22/2014 - ****** ** ****** of ******* **** Heating and Cooling reviewed the duct work and agreed with the finding of Mr. ****** Late February a friend, *** ******* (XXX-XXX-XXXX) visited. When she came in she said, "What the **** happened to your house? It looks like a dust bomb went off! I've never seen your house look like this!" First week of March - I attempted to contact Mets regarding the botched duct cleaning. Please recall the 19 year relationship. Only subsequent to my complaint did things to awry. In fact Merts was reluctant to deal with me at all and used avoidance as a tool to discourage my claim. it was very disappointing that our history and our loyalty was a non-issue. 3/27 - Merts representative ******* reviewed household conditions. While the Merts letter to you reflects "nothing out of the ordinary", the reps service report indicates "fine dust throughout house on filters in furnace. Customer said duct was opened to clean main trunk line, but no visible openings in duct. Dust started after ducts were cleaned..." 4/3/2014 - *****/****, Merts owners, out of town until 3/31. No call by 4/1/4/2. I called again on 4/2/2014. On 4/3/2014 Sean (rep who did the work) offered to redo the duct cleaning. I indicated that since the job had been incorrectly done the first time I wasn't willing to risk and second time. I reasserted my desire to speak with the owners. Did not hear from them. Called again on 4/7/2014. Immediately felt I was being put off and they did not want to address the issue of dirty ducts. Meanwhile it is now over 1 week since Kevin came out to assess the situation. 4/7/2014 - Approximately 4:15P - Talked to ***. Was not a friendly conversation. He had no regard for the years of loyalty. He is not the owner and, once again, I have not been treated with respect as I have asked to speak with owner repeatedly and he has yet to respond to my request. 4/8/2014 - *** came to the house (not the owner). Prior to his arrival he called. While speaking on the phone he became so aggressive, that I was frightened and told him I wasn't comfortable with him coming because he made me fear for my safety. He arrived and, after some conversation said perhaps they were partly responsible. He refunded my initial costs for the duct cleaning. Also indicated he hoped I wouldn't go to the BBB. I cashed the check and used the money to pay Mr. Duct to clean the ducts properly. 4/18/2014 - *** **** came out to clean the ducts. Their notes indicated, "The ducts looked like they'd never been cleaned". They showed me a video that clearly indicated they were right. 4/21/2014 - After four phone calls, *** ********** rep for Merts insurance called. He asked many questions but refused to provide information regarding the company he represented; leaving me no recourse or company name to give my agent. He did provide a phone number. It was my hope that the two companies could resolve the problems and I could continue resolving issues surrounding my husband's death. 4/21/2014 - Followed up with my insurance company. Agent **** ***** called to verify the phone number. He asked who *** ********* worked for and "*******" indicated **** ****** ***** He then contacted IM regarding opening a claim on the same day. IM was very uncooperative, but on 4/30/2014 an adjuster was sent to my home. NOTE: At this point I'm still breathing poorly and unable to clean because of the pending action. Shortly after, at the urging of my adjuster, I filed a claim with my insurance company (Allied Insurance), so that I could finally clean my home and eliminate the health problems associated with the dust. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/07/21) */ see attached scanned document NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide an inspection report from your insurance company documenting the problem with the dust and its source. That document may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A previous response was sent on July 6, 2014. In the response you will note a succinct timeline. Additional information would include the following: My first contact with Mert's stating the duct cleaning service was not done according to EPA guidelines was prior to March 24, 2014. On March 27, a representative from Mert's came to my home and wrote a work description which contradicts that nothing out of the ordinary was found. I quoted the content of his comments, but will also follow up with a fax of his statements, if necessary. With regard to the furnace filter, 5 days prior to the duct cleaning, Mert's had performed a furnace tune-up and failed to change or check the filter. Furthermore, the refund check was issued only after much hassle and the comment that "this should satisfy you and we hope you will not contact the BBB." I have never indicated I was satisfied nor have I spoken highly of Mert's. Each person I worked with was not cooperative and despite repeated requests, I was never able to speak with the owners regarding the case, referred to them on March 27th. This information is documented on their invoice. In my conversation with "******" of the EPA, I discovered that Mert's is not on the certification list of the NADCA (National Association of Duct Cleaning). Subsequently I received follow up information from "*****", outlining EPA standards for duct cleaning, which will be included in the fax. Mert's did not meet those standards. She advised me to request a Materials Data Sheet from Mert's, which I did. Mert's, however, did not oblige. I asked the Town Inspector to intervene on my behalf. he said it was appropriate to ask for this information and personally contacted Mert's. He reported to me that Mert's Material Data Sheets indicated there were no chemicals used in the cleaning, but I was not provided a copy of the MD sheets, and it was concluded that Mert's used an improper method which resulted in a poor job. My insurance company suggested that I REQUEST THE NAME OF THE INSURANCE COMPANY THAT INSURES MERT'S. I REQUESTED THAT INFORMATION AT LEAST 3-4 TIMES, TO NO AVAIL. On April 21, I received a phone call from an agent who said he represented Mert's. I was uncomfortable with the conversation, as he would not identify the name of the insurance company. I asked him for his name and contact information, which he provided, so I could return the call. I then went to my insurance agency and through my agent was able to confirm that he was an agent for Iowa Mutual, which insures Mert's. The initial contact with **** ****** was done through my agency and not by Mert's. It took over a week for my agency to get **** ****** to open a claim. They were reluctant and uncooperative when complying to the request. On April 18, I had another contractor who followed the EPA guidelines, complete the work properly, since two local contractors said the procedure had to be done again or my heating and air conditioning units might be ruined. Their names and contact information were provided to the adjuster for Iowa Mutual on April 30, when he came to my home. I have written documentation of the condition in which they found my ducts as well as photographs. This also will be provided in the fax. The adjuster at that time did not render a decision as to negligence, but told me I would have an answer in 7-10 days. The letter I received from Iowa Mutual is dated June 24, more than two months after the April 30 contact with the adjuster from Iowa Mutual. The letter dated June 24, does not explain why their investigation found no negligence on their behalf. It only states it was based on information provided by me and Mert's. The letter to the BBB, dated June 30, is inaccurate and does not represent the truth. It is, therefore, essential that I provide this additional information and indicate their questionable integrity. As previously indicated, names and numbers of the adjuster were provided on April 30. Three other contractors found the work negligent. Two names were provided, along with contact information, in my previous communique. It is off-putting to me that Mert's has described me as belligerent and irate when, in fact, those were the exact words I used to describe the manner in which the representative named "***" treated me. The President, ***** ********* indicates in his letter of July 18, that Mert's encourages contact when a customer is not 100% satisfied. I contacted them...over and over, with not response, followed by ignorance when I asked to speak to upper management. So, I remain confused as to the company's desire to be contacted when their performance is unsatisfactory. In my case, after 19 years of loyalty, I have received nothing but false accusations and rudeness. I expected better.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Merts Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)