Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Master Tech HVAC, Inc

Phone: (847) 275-9585 Fax: (847) 829-4142 204 Northwest Hwy, Fox River Grv, IL 60021 http://www.mastertech-hvac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Master Tech HVAC, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Master Tech HVAC, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Master Tech HVAC, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1987 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/19/2008 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Gopin, President Ms. Jackie Gopin, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Gopin, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating Sheet Metal Work Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Pumps - Service & Repair Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Sales & Service Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Master Tech

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Master Tech HVAC, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 204 Northwest Hwy

    Fox River Grv, IL 60021

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/5/15 I called Master Tech to check and clean my air conditioner. Master Tech said I needed a new motor for 954.00. He suggested I get a new air conditioner for 3200 or a furnace and air conditoner for 8500.00. Master Tech sent me a credit application so the payments would be interest free for 18 months. I called another company ******** who installed my air and furnace 10 years ago. They said a new motor would cost 356.00 and would install the next day. The new company - ******** came out with a motor but said I didn't need a motor, that I only needed a capacitor for 95.00. Fifteen minutes later I had air for 214.00 for parts and labor. ******** said Master Tech not only mis diagnosed my air conditioner but never cleaned it. I called Master Tech and asked them to credit my 50.00 for mis-diagnosing and not cleaning my air conditioner. I spoke to **** at Master Tech who asked me if I respected him. I said I didn't understand. **** said well if you went to a doctor and he mis-diagnosed you, you will still have to pay for his time. I said this is an air conditioner not a human body and a doctor has a degree. He said people at Master Tech have a degree. I said again - you mis diagnosed and did not clean the air conditioner therefore I do not owe you 50.00. **** said I needed to respect their time for coming out to look at the air conditioner and if I didn't say I respected him, he would not credit my 50.00. I said Master Tech did not respect my time. I took off work and you wasted my time - you did nothing for 50.00 except try to sell me a motor or new air and furnace that I don't need. I took off work again the next day for ******** and they came out and fixed the problem with a capacitor not a motor and didn'try to sell me a new unit. I believe Master Tech tried to scam me into buying a new air conditioner and furnace. At the very least I wanted my credit card credited 50.00. **** said he was going to credit me 50.00 but since I wouldn't say I respected him - he changed his mind and will not credit my credit card and hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement: 50.00 for a service call that did not clean my air conditioner and mis-diagnosed the problem with my air conditioner

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/14) */ This complaint is totally made up and only based on our pricing! If the customer didnt like our pricing than there are many other companies they can call! we are just as educated as doctors and should be treated with the same respect! We cme out and did a correct diagnosis and told her it was a capictor but she didnt want to listen to our tech. again this is a complaint based only on PRICING! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If Master Tech had told me I only needed a capacitor then I would have had Master Tech fix my air conditioner right there on the spot. Instead I have a Master Tech receipt stating my condensing fan is locked up, the capacitor is blown, and the compressor has over heated. The receipt says my air conditioner was checked and cleaned. It was not cleaned. I have a hand written note from ****** the tech saying I need a condensing fan for $954.00 plus indoor/outdoor coils to replace the whole thing. (his words) ****** disconnected my air conditioner and told me not to use it. Furthermore from ****** I have an investment agreement stating how much a new air conditioner would cost and how much a new air conditioner plus furnace would cost me. The agreement states if I bought a new air conditioner and/or furnace then it is written from ****** that my 50.00 service call would be taken off the cost of the new air conditioner and furnace. Furthermore, Master Tech sent me forms to fill out so I could get a year to 18 months interest free financing on a new air conditioner and furnace. That same day ****** called me late in the afternoon to see if I had filled out the forms and when did I want to install my new air conditioner and furnace for 6200.00 for both. I received nothing for 50.00 from Master Tech except to waste my time and try to sell me a new air conditioner and furnace. My air conditioner only needed a capacitor not a condensing motor and I certainly did not need a new air conditioner or furnace. ****** misdiagnosed the repair of my air conditioner and first tried to sell me a motor for 954.00. and then ****** thought it best not to repair the air conditioner but to replace it and the furnace. I called another company who came out the next morning and said I did not need a motor or condensing fan and for 95.00 replaced the capacitor. Fifteen minutes later I had air conditioning. When I called Master Tech to refund my 50.00 -**** at Master Tech made it a worse situation. First **** said he would credit my account 50.00 but if my air conditioner crapped out the next week - would I be honest and return the 50.00? **** said a capacitor was not going to fix the problem, that it was only a bandaid. I told him if the air conditioner broke in the next couple of weeks or so - I would give him back his $50.00. I thought our conversation was over and **** was refunding me my $50.00. However, **** said he had another question for me - he asked if I respected him. I didn't understand the question. **** said we came and looked at your air conditioner and you have to respect me and the tech's time. I said you both are wasting my time - by misdiagnosing the repair of my air conditioner and trying to sell me a new one. **** said if you went to a doctor and he misdiagnosed you - you would still have to pay him. I said a doctor has a degree and there is a difference between a human body and an air conditioner. **** said we have degrees here and if you don't say you respect me then I have changed my mind and I won't refund you your $50.00, I wouldn't say I respected him so **** said he would not refund my $50.00. I stayed home from work for nothing because Master Tech mis-diagnosed my air conditioner and tried to sell me another air conditioner plus a furnace. The 2nd company came out first thing the next morning and fixed my air conditioner in 15 minutes and I was off to work! Hence I am writing this letter to the BBB to have Master Tech credit my charge $50.00 for no service and not cleaning the air conditioner. I can fax the service call from Master Tech that states they cleaned and checked my air conditioner- which they did not. I can fax the service agreement from Master Tech which states what a new air conditioner and furnace would cost me. I can fax the forms Master Tech wanted me to fill out to finance interest free my new air conditioner and furnace. Thank you for your time in this matter. ************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/20) */ This complaint is based on pricing and we will no longer discus it. They are trying to get free work from us because they dont like our prices! There was no mistakes made. The story they are telling is completely made up!

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Master Tech HVAC, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart