Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

King Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 687-6898 Fax: (708) 687-6078 101 Ontario St, Frankfort, IL 60423

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that King Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

26 Customer Reviews on King Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 26
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 26

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 09/01/1968 Business started locally: 09/01/1968
Business Management
Mr. Timothy E. Willson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy E. Willson, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

King Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 101 Ontario St

    Frankfort, IL 60423

  • 4813 159th St

    Oak Forest, IL 60452 (708) 687-6898


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called King Heating because the pilot light on my water heater did not work. I was told if they did a diagnostic they would deduct that fee from the work done. I was not told that it would cost me more for the work if I didn't agree to have it done that same day. The service rep thought my heater was under warranty and quoted me $295 to replace a part and clean the heater. The average quote from other companies was $147 to $180 for the same work. When I told King Heating they were charging double everyone else, they refused to reduce their cost. I later found out from the manufacturer and another company that all it needed was a cleaning which is $85 to $95. When I called King and informed them all the water heater needed was a cleaning and not a part they quoted me a cost double what everyone else charges to cover a 2nd service call. I was told it would've been cheaper if their technician had cleaned it while he was there but had the technician given me the option of a cleaning only, then that's what I would've gone with. So now I have to pay someone else to clean my water heater when I've already paid King Heating the same fee so now I'm paying twice. Essentially King Heating is adding an additional $89.95 into the cost of the 2nd service call when they actually do the work and then deduct it out so you're not getting a credit toward the work being done. The technician wrote on his paperwork that my water heater needed to be cleaned so why didn't he do it since he was there instead of charging me for absolutely nothing. King is placing the ownership of trying the cleaning first on me but they are the professionals that know the process better than me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money since I have to pay someone else the same fee I paid them to clean the furnace. I also would like a refund because it appears (based on my experience) that the credit they give you for the estimate/diagnostic is added to whatever work is done so you really aren't getting a credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: Kenneth ******. Manager. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* My name is ******* ******. I am the Operations Manager with King Heating and Cooling. I read with deep regret your dissatisfaction with the service you received from our company on 07/16/2014. It is my understanding that a recommendation was made by our technician which was based on industry training received on this type of equipment. The technicians recommendation to replace the pilot assembly was made due to past service issues with pilot outages of this type. The quoted price is below the industry average, and includes all necessary parts + labor. The diagnostic charge paid is credited back towards the total cost of repairs. The quoted repair also includes a one year warranty on parts + labor. Our prices are based on quality work at a fair price. I do appreciate your past history with our company and I am more than willing to make this right. In good faith I will gladly refund you the original $89.00 diagnostic charge that was paid by you to our technician at the time of original service on 07/16/2014. Our company strives for 100% customer satisfaction and we value your business. I did reach out to you last week regarding your experience with our company. I would welcome the chance to speak with you at your convenience in hopes of changing your overall experience with our company. Your complete satisfaction with our company is greatly valued. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ******* ****** Business Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/12/30) */ 12/29/14 The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a roof installed by a different company, in July 2011. Then we had a new Furnace installed by KING HEATING AND COOLING in July of 2013.While sleeping on Thursday January 9th 2013,the ceiling came down in my sons bedroom, almost hitting him. After checking it out, we found that the ventalation from the furnace went directly into our attic. The pipe was missing and the chimmey stack was missing. This 8" pipe is to go directly from the furnace through the attic and out side the house to prevent any harmful gases. We called the Fire Dept right away because our carbon monoxide tester was going off when we put it in the attic. The fire dept said we are all LUCKY to be alive, and said it needs to get fixed right now in order for us to stay in the house. We had our Insurance company, the roofing company, and KING heating out to our house that very morning.When the roof was put on, somehow the old chimmey stack got kicked off and some one did not notice and they just covered the big hole with shingles. The roofing company has admitted their were wrong and has been jumping through hoops to fix everything for us. BUT KING HEATING was also at fault because when the they installed the furnace they missed it completely. The problem and the reason for this complaint against KING HEATING is because we had a new furnace installed by them after the roof and the tech did not do his job to make sure their was proper ventalation upon completion of the job. Therefore causing the continuation of harmful gases to be let out in my attic, putting my family in danger! So King was at fault as well. They did not follow the HVAC safety list guildlines, and just assumed the ventalation was fine. According to HVAC Safety Guildlines once a furnace is installed the tech is to check the ventalation system so Carbon Monoxide is not leaking any where.This was not done. This issue has caused alot of roof damage to our home. When speaking to the owner of KING HEATING ***, he was very rude to my wife and kept saying it was not his fault. And didnt seem to care about my family's safety. Yes the roofing company was at fault as well, BUT they have stepped up and our going out of there way to repair everything. I would think KING Heating could of done something to help the situation, AFTER ALL THEY ALMOST KILLED MY FAMILY!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: We financed the furnace through them and they used a company called Personal Finance Company. the price of the furnace was 5,200 of which we are making monthly payments of 352.00. We have paid for almost half of it since July. But we want a full refund of the money we paid them already plus the furnace paid. Considering the gases from their furnace could have killed my family We think this is fair.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2014/01/30) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: We came to a resolution with King Heating and Cooling's owners, insurance representatives and their service manager. I am wishing to retract and close this complaint. Although an unfortunate situation, it was one that was rectified after many conversations and all are agreeable to the outcome.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

26 Customer Reviews on King Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart