Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kern Heating Company

Phone: (847) 336-3399 Fax: (847) 244-4453 38931 N Lewis Ave, Beach Park, IL 60099 http://www.kernheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kern Heating Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kern Heating Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kern Heating Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 20, 2007 Business started: 02/20/2007 Business started locally: 02/20/2007 Business incorporated 02/20/2007 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond Stare, President Dave Ashmore
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Stare, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Sheet Metal Work Water Heaters - Dealers Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 38931 N Lewis Ave

    Beach Park, IL 60099 (847) 336-3399

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a problem with our furnace on January 3rd. We made an emergency call and your tech came out a short time later. We were at fault for not having regular maintenance scheduled on the furnace. Your Tech did the maintenance along with what we thought was a furnace cleaning. On January 8th we again had issues with the furnace. Your tech came out and found a bunch of leaves in the inlet pipe which was blocking the screen located in the furnace. We paid the bill in full. I called you Kern to question why the first tech on January 3rd did not find the blockage. Kern never got back to me. Keep in mind the ground is covered with snow so the leaves entered the pipe long before the first visit on January 3rd. On January 13th we once again had problems with the furnace, your tech came out again. By the way it was the same tech who came on the January 8th visit. This time the tech found leaves in the burners and he did admit that perhaps he missed these on his January 8th visit. He discounted the bill, but it still came to $212 which we paid in full We have now spent close to $800 for something that should have been caught by the tech who made the initial visit and cleaning on January 3rd. We are very disappointed by the lack of follow up. We feel that we have been over charged for something that should have been rectified by the tech who came on January 3rd.

Desired Settlement: I just want someone to respond to my request for an answer.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/02/06) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I spoke with the owner today- He understood what went on and I am very happy with my discussion with him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kern Heating Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)