This business is not BBB accredited.

J Morgan Contractors

Phone: (773) 297-0935 Fax: (773) 748-1259 View Additional Phone Numbers 4601 Morning Glory Dr, Matteson, IL 60443 ! There is an alert on J Morgan Contractors !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 3/2/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for J Morgan Contractors include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for J Morgan Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on J Morgan Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 2006 Business started: 05/12/1981 Business started locally: 05/12/1981
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jerome Morgan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerome Morgan, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Radiant Heating Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians – Residential Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J Morgan Contractors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4601 Morning Glory Dr

    Matteson, IL 60443

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/23 ***** Morgan owner of J Morgan Contractor came out to my building to find and repair a gas leak. When ***** came out I told him exactly what the gas company told me and took him where the gas company tested the leak which was in my unit (the basement). He then contacted my home warranty company and informed him of the issue and said that I would need the pipes blown to find the leak. The warranty company informed me that I would have to pay for the pipes to get blown but they will repair the leaking pipe. I paid ***** Morgan $175 in cash to blow out the pipes on the 2nd floor. He told me that he blew the pipes up there and there wasn't a leak up there that the leak was coming from my blower which was in my unit (basement). I had a technician come out to fix the leak on the boiler and they informed me that the leak wasn't on the boiler. I then called the gas company and informed them that we didn't find the leak. At that time the gas company informed me that the leak is wherever they smelled the gas and did the test, which was in the closet in my unit (basement) and that I have radiator heating so I don't have any gas pipes to blow out. That basically I was charged $175 for work that couldn't even done and wasn't supposed to be done. That any professional should have known where the leak was immediately as soon as I told them where they smelled the gas. In turn my water pipes bursted on the 2nd floor and caused me more money to repair the damages. So I called ***** Morgan and informed him of this and he over talked me immediately and told me that he wasn't going to refund me my money. He said that I have a gas line for my stove (that they never connected back after they was up there). So when I told him that when I told him where the smell of gas was coming from why didn't he know that that was were the leak was coming from he told me that I never told him that. Bottom line he is unprofessional and is a con artist.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $175 refund because my services wasn't delivered and was unsatisfactory.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on J Morgan Contractors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart