Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ibbotson Heating Co., Inc.

Phone: (847) 253-0866 Fax: (847) 577-3409 514 S Arthur Ave, Arlington Heights, IL 60005 http://www.ibbotsonheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ibbotson Heating Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ibbotson Heating Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ibbotson Heating Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 02/09/1953 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Okolita, Vice President Mr. Ralph Ibbotson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Okolita, Vice President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Water Heaters - Dealers Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 514 S Arthur Ave

    Arlington Heights, IL 60005 (847) 253-0866

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For 20 years I have paid Ibbotson for a Planned Service Agreement (PSA) covering replacement parts and labor for my Furnace, A/C, whole house air filter, and humidifier. On 12/1/2015 an Ibbotson technician came to my house to perform a PM on our furnace, whole house air filter, and humidifier. He left telling us everything was OK. Three hours later we discovered water all over the utility room floor in our basement. He came back out and told us a part was broken on our humidifier and that Ibbotson could no longer source parts for our model of humidifier due to it's age. The solution offered was for me to pay an additional $420 to replace the humidifier even though I have a PSA contract in place. The main crux of my problem is this, the humidifier was not leaking before the technician worked on my humidifier and was leaking afterwards. While changing the pad he cracked the part and Ibbotson's solution is for me to pay an additional $420 to replace the humidifier their technician disabled. Nobody from Ibbotson has ever contacted me to let me know my humidifier is no longer supported or parts are no longer available. Ibbotson has taken my money for 20 years and now that I have a problem they are not standing behind their contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ibbotson to either find the replacement part and repair my existing humidifier or replace the humidifier with a used solution of equal capacity. I would even be willing to pay Ibbotson's cost for a new humidifier, but they should pick up the labor since labor is covered by the PSA contract.

Business Response: Tell us why here...On 12/01/15 we serviced the equipment at *** * *****. Later that day we went back because of a water leak. It was determined that the drain spud on the humidifier was the cause. This spud is where the drain hose is disconnected from the humidifier for servicing. The humidifier is 25+ years old and after years of servicing the plastic spud came apart. This hose must be disconnected from the spud for proper servicing. The customer does have a contract that covers parts and labor on his humidifier for a year for $55. This includes replacement of the water panel, cleaning of the unit and drain, operational check of humidifier, and a year parts and labor. We have faithfully fulfilled this agreement. The spud that broke is no longer made for his humidifier. Because of this we told the customer that he needed to replace his humidifier. Knowing that they have a contract, we deducted the $55 he paid to cover the humidifier this year off the price of the new humidifier. We had thought this was fair. Instead of calling us, he contacted the BBB to say he thought this was not.
     Another concern the customer had was that we did not tell him that parts are no longer available for his humidifier, the humidifier is not supported, and we took his money for 20 years. We have faithfully serviced the humidifier for the term of the contract every year and made several repairs to support the humidifier. There are some parts still available for their humidifier, just not the drain spud.
Again due to this fact we were going to take the cost of the humidifier portion of his contract he paid for off the price of a new humidifier. After receiving this concern from BBB and calling the customer he said that he did not want to have the new discounted humidifier installed because he knew someone who could put it in for cost for him.
     To resolve this issue Ibbotson has obtained the needed part from an auction web site. We will install the part as part of his contract. The customer now knows that some parts are not available for his humidifier. We are discontinuing contracts on this model of humidifier knowing that not all parts are available. I have talked to the customer and he said he is satisfied with our resolution to the problem.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ibbotson Heating Co., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)