Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Heatmasters, LLC

Phone: (773) 777-5700 Fax: (773) 777-9508 View Additional Phone Numbers 5540 W Lawrence Ave, Chicago, IL 60630 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Heatmasters, LLC, is a heating and air conditioning company which provides air temperature control and air quality service to residential and commercial customers. This company serves Chicago and the surrounding suburbs, including Evanston, Skokie, Lincolnwood, Niles, Des Plaines, Morton Grove, Wilmette, Winnetka, Glencoe, Glenview, Northbrook, Highland Park, Deerfield, Schiller Park, Melrose Park, Franklin Park, Elmwood Park, Elmhurst, Stone Park, Northlake, Berwyn, Cicero, Burbank,, Brookfield, Oak Park, River Forest, Norridge, and Harwood Heights. Services available from this company include furnace repair, boiler repair, furnace maintenance, furnace sales and installation, boiler sales and installation, air conditioner repair, air conditioner maintenance, air conditioner sales and installation, and emergency repair for heating and cooling equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heatmasters, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

58 Customer Reviews on Heatmasters, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 58
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 58

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 06/21/1979 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steven Weiland, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steven Weiland, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

Heatmasters, LLC offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Boilers, Furnaces, Humidifiers, IAQ products

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, credit cards and checks. Also offer 3rd party financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Heatmasters, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5540 W Lawrence Ave

    Chicago, IL 60630 (800) 432-8464 (773) 413-6363


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, January 16, 2015, a technician from heatmasters was dispatched to my home subsequent to an unsolicited call for a furnace "cleaning" from heatmasters. We had no existing issue with our furnace prior to the technician's arrival. The furnace was in perfect working order. The technician's name was ****** ****** - Tech *****. ****** arrived and claimed that he had cleaned and tuned the furnace. He also told my wife that we needed a new capacitor for the furnace, as the old one was "weakening", which he could tell because when you shook it you could hear a "watery noise." There was no issue with the capacitor before your technician arrived, as the blower was turning over without incident. Other HVAC pros say this claim of failure is ridiculous. However, this is the least of the malfeasance. The technician improperly connected my igniter to my control board, resulting in a small electrical fire in my furnace THE VERY NEXT MORNING, requiring a whole new control board to be purchased and installed in my unit, and causing my family, which consists of three small children, ages 6, 3 and 20 months, to have to vacate our home for a period of two days. When I contacted the company, I was placed in touch with a technician named ****. **** began arguing that there was no way that Heatmasters' work on the furnace a mere hours before it arced into an electrical fire could be to blame, before he even left his home! He claimed that he could see no reason why your service would have caused a problem, even before he was on-site to determine what problem might have resulted. He also told me that a call to him would cost $150 regardless of the cause of the damage, and that "any other company would tell me the same thing". **** did come the next day and discovered a severely burned control board. He again attempted to claim that the (unnecessary) installation of the capacitor would not have caused this problem because it is not "involved" with the circuit. While this is not actually factually correct, as the capacitor is of course a part of the circuit, I recognized it for what it was, ****'s desperate attempt to divert blame from the obvious cause of the fire, Heatmasters' work which occurred immediately previous to the event. I asked ****, if Heatmasters' previous service was not to blame, what could have caused this fire, he claimed "an electrical storm or power surge". As we suffered neither, and the board itself demonstrates wiring damage, I told him flatly I did not believe him. He demanded a check, so we gave him one for $150. And he said he could understand why we were "Skeptical" of his explanations, which were ridiculous, he would still need to be paid and Heatmasters would not be reimbursing us. Once I was able to speak with my HVAC professionals who very easily confirmed my suspicions that this damage was a result of the work performed only a day previous, I stopped payment on all checks to Heatmasters, and I am seeking the reimbursement for the fees for stopping those checks since I had provided **** with an opportunity to contact management. **** said I would have to call a man name ****, whose last name **** would not provide, but that he would tell us the same thing, that this was not Heatmasters' fault. **** did note that he thought the igniter, which he claimed Heatmasters did not service, was the cause of the problem. However, the statement of service notes "checked ignitor". My HVAC professionals note that when Mr. Rivera "Check Ignitor", that he misplaced/partially disconnected the plug on the control board, which resulted in the arc when the furnace fired, causing the fire. I am seeking the full cost of the replacement of the board and the capacitor, $700.00, receipt attached, the cost of relocation from my home for two days with three small children $267.00, the 2 day rental rate for a home comparable to my own, and the cost for the cancelled checks of $70, and my inconvenience. Total $1200.

Desired Settlement: Cash reibursement for the repair costs, out of pocket expense related to this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/02) */ Heatmasters have met with Mr. ********* and have came to a mutual agrrement. We apologize for the inconvenience that the ********** have had.

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite asking multiple (at least 3) times to be taken off of their list over 2+ years, they keep calling me to get me to use their services. I don't even live in the area any more and they just keep calling. I don't know what to do to get them to stop.

Desired Settlement: None, I just want them to stop calling.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/30) */ We have removed this persons information from our system and have emailed him to apologize for any inconvenience.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

58 Customer Reviews on Heatmasters, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart