BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2006

Heatcool Service Co., Inc.

Phone: (773) 539-5225Fax: (773) 539-52764001 N. Elston Ave., ChicagoIL 60618-2121

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2006

BBB has determined that Heatcool Service Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Heatcool Service Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Heatcool Service Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HeatCool gave a quote of $200 per window air conditioning unit for cleaning and servicing. When returning the units, the bill was presented at $310 per unit. Needing the units to be reinstalled, I had no choice but to sign the invoice as presented.

After they reinstalled the units, I discovered one of the units was not cleaned since we had to clean the filter. A second unit which I would have replaced for $300, was spewing black liquid after being reinstalled.

On a subsequent date, when *** ****** was at the ************* location to complete a repair on a separate unit (on which they had installed an incorrect part multiple times beginning prior to them taking the units for servicing), I explained the situation to him and he responded 'do what you need to do.' I took this as an agreement on his part. He subsequently has billed me for an additional $640.

Desired Settlement
That HeatCool not attempt to bill me for an additional $640.

Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I thought of accepting Mr. ******'s offer just to be done with it. However, after consideration, I do not think it is acceptable. This is even more true for a business with an A+ rating from the BBB. Mr. ******'s approach has been belligerent and threatening. There is no question that one of the window A/C units was returned not cleaned. I have a witness, who is neither an employee nor a client, and is the person that cleaned the unit after it was returned by HeatCool not cleaned. Mr. ******'s 'witnesses' can only be employees who have an obvious self-interest in siding with Mr. ******.
If Mr. ****** had made this offer initially, which would have been reasonable - i.e. offer to not charge me for the unit he did not clean, I would have accepted.
Unfortunately, he chose a different approach.
I stand by the fact that when I requested their help, it was not a request to clean the units, it was a request to improve the A/C for the business. This is demonstrated by the fact that I installed an additional unit, for which I had asked him for a quote which he never provided. Mr. ******'s firm is responsible for saying that the functioning of the existing A/C units would be improved by cleaning the units, including the unit that he must admit should have been replaced instead of cleaned for $320. This unit was returned spewing black liquid, and functioning worse than prior to the cleaning/servicing.
I should not have had to spend so much time and request the help of the BBB in order to get Mr. ****** to make or accept a reasonable resolution. Therefore, if Mr. ****** wishes to expedite a closure, he must make a more fair offer, taking into consideration:
One unit was not cleaned
Another unit should have been replaced
He has made me spend an inordinate amount of time to resolve this issue
His approach has been belligerent, threatening legal action against me, even though he is clearly in the wrong with regards to the unit that was not cleaned. And he continues his threats in his rebuttal.

Sincerely,

***********

Final Business Response
October 14, 2013


BBB case #XXXXXXXX
Attn: Diana Mendez

Reply to rebuttal of October 3, 2013.

I stand by my statements in my letter to BBB of September 3, 2013. I am ready to prove these statements with witnesses. To expedite a closure, I am willing to accept $320.00. Payment must be received in my office not later than October 29, 2013. There after the offer will be withdrawn and proceedings to collect $640.00 plus court costs plus attorney fees will be sought.

Sincerely,


****** J. ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Repair, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/1996Business started: 03/15/1956
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1986, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert J. Freson (President)Mr. John Freson (Vice President)Mr. Matthew Freson (Vice President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Repair, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Heatcool Service Co., Inc.

4001 N. Elston Ave.

Chicago, IL 60618-2121

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4001 N. Elston Ave. 

    Chicago, IL 60618-2121(773) 539-5225

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Heatcool Service Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.