BBB Accredited Business since

Freedom Heating & Cooling

Phone: (847) 288-1788 Fax: (847) 288-1786 9958 Grand Ave, Franklin Park, IL 60131 http://www.freedomhvac1.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Freedom Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Freedom Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

20 Customer Reviews on Freedom Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 20
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 20

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 07/13/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pete Fiorentino, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pete Fiorentino, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Water Heater - Tankless Boilers - New & Used Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Freedom Heating & Cooling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9958 Grand Ave

    Franklin Park, IL 60131 (847) 288-1788

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a terrible experience with Freedom. When I called to schedule the appointment, they told me that they charge $69 for the diagnostic, and $69/hr for labor if needed. When they wrote up the bill for the now ($250!) diagnostic, they charged me an extra half hour over the time they were actually here--billing me for 90 minutes! Not to mention that they charged me a much higher hourly rate than promised. I have since called another company (All Temp) who was apparently much more experienced, a single employee diagnosed the problem, showed me clearly what the problem was, and was in and out in less than ten minutes, charging me only $90 for the entire visit and providing a $200 lower estimate for the repairs. The employees during their long stay, asked me for service manuals and spent an inordinate amount of time standing around and sitting in their truck, presumably waiting to talk to someone who understood our HVAC system. When I addressed the overstated time with them, they assured me they were really there for 90 minutes. My thermostat override was set exactly when they entered the house and displayed the exact time elapsed. When I told them this, they still argued that they had been at our house 30 minutes longer! I then also showed them that the caller ID from their telephone call corroborated this timing. When I asked for the manager to call me back to discuss how the $1,600 additional estimate was arrived at, he refused to call me back or come to the phone to discuss, despite my three phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for diagnostic call. Because they didn't even respond to my request for explanation of the estimate, I could not reasonably use them for the repairs and hired another, more responsive firm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/27) */ In Response to Mr ******** complaint we will be refunding his $198.00 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While Freedom first offered to provide a partial refund over two weeks ago, and later a full refund at the time of this response one week ago, I have not received a check for either. I would like to know what address they mailed the check to, as Chicago mail reliably takes only one business day to process and deliver. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide the date the check was or will be mailed. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/21) */ **** ******* 1 message Pierluigi ********** <*************@sbcglobal.net> Thu, Aug 21, 2014 at 9:55 AM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org The Above client was sent a refund check of $198 dated July 8,2014 The check # is 5224 posted on July 10,2014 Sincerely Freedom Heating & Cooling