Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elm Heating & Cooling, Inc

Phone: (708) 453-0794 Fax: (708) 453-7422 View Additional Phone Numbers 8527 W. Grand Ave, River Grove, IL 60171 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.elmheat.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elm Heating & Cooling, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elm Heating & Cooling, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

44 Customer Reviews on Elm Heating & Cooling, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 42
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 44

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 1993 Business started: 12/01/1953 Business started locally: 12/01/1953 Business incorporated 06/05/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Magera, Operations Manager Mr. Brian Mitchell, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Magera, Operations Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Sump Pump Contractors Heat Pumps Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Additional Information

Elm Heating & Cooling Inc. has requested that before filing a BBB Complaint, consumers contact Lawrence Magera at lmagera@hvacgroupchicago.com

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during the process. It is our hope that Elm Heating & Cooling Inc. will resolve this matter for you in a expedient manner.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elm Heating & Cooling, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8527 W. Grand Ave

    River Grove, IL 60171 (630) 321-1072 (312) 332-4490

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: * Repairs fix nothing and cause additional damage. Today, Sunday May 3, my husband and I had a service call from Elm Heating & Cooling Inc., at our residence in Oak Park. The work done rendered our appliances including central airconditioning unit, furnace, and thermostat completely unfunctional: dead, no air, heat, or cooling; all quiet. * Wasting time during the service call, causing additional damage. The name of the service man was ****. He claimed that in a previous repair by *** ******* ***** of **** the wiring had been incorrectly connected, which is why the unit could not run. **** spent more and more time working on the problem, and things got from bad to worse. Soon the furnace was out of commission, then he claimed he could do us a favor!!! to connect the thermostat, but he could not fix the primary problem. When he left after close to two hours, we did not pay him because of the damage he had done. He insisted, we owed him money because "at least now we know what was wrong with the unit." We don't care to know what is wrong with the unit if it does not run. We left by agreeing that we would speak to ****'s manager at Elm on Monday. * Blackballing and lies. Since we need airconditioning we contacted Eck Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc in Berwyn and a serviceman named ****** agreed to stop by. He never showed. When we inquired when we could expect ******, ****** said that he had been contacted by his manager who is the same man as ****'s manager and was told not to visit us because we had not paid ****. In addition, ****** was told that we had refused payment to Elm on a previous occasion or occasions, which is not correct. We engaged a different BBB rated company and learned that the damage to the thermostat looks as if it had been done on purpose. Also, the outdoors unit was left unprotected in such a way that water and weather would have soon destroyed the interior electricity system making the acquisition of a new unit inevitable. Issues with the motherboard were discovered today that would have prevented any functioning earlier. Before ****'s visit the unit did work partially, and the thermostat was OK. We bring this matter to the attention of the BBB because the two businesses involved are both BBB accredited and have the highest ranking (A+). The remedy we seek is not to be charged for services on Sunday, May 3 (no services were rendered although **** spent some time at our residence but to no and avail causing further damage), and that Elm, their manager, and **** refrain from making further false accusations against myself and my husband.

Desired Settlement: 1. that ****, *** Inc, *** Inc, and their manager refrain from making false statements about us implying that we have outstanding bills with them or other derogatory statements 2. that we not be charged the $ 99 for the service call today nor any additional repair costs since nothing was repaired. 3. that we be compensated for the damage to our equipment in the amount of $780.- as assessed by a BBB A+ rated competitor. competitor's estimate available upon request.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@hvacgroupchicago.com I am currently to trying to reach out to Mr. ****** ****** to come to a resolution as he has been a good customer over the years. I believe there has been a misunderstanding of what has happened. Elm heating will not be charging Mr.****** for the service call. When Elm went out to residence for a service call the service tech had found the thermostat not to be working properly. **** are technician found the thermostat to be not functioning correctly and miss wired. Elm heating will be happy to work with Mr. ****** on anything he needs. Elm heating and our tech tony will not be saying anything bad about him. Elm would like to rectify this situation and continue to do business with Mr. ****** in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have been doing business with Elm for more than 10 years and been by and large satisfied, hence our disappointment at the recent incident. We accept Elm's explanation and apology. Meanwhile we had engaged a different company to resolve the a/c issue. Elm's proposal not to charge for the service call is likewise acceptable. ****** ****** and ****** *****

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a routine service call to ELm Heating ( non - emergency ). Technician came out diagnosed problem and proceeded to fix problem. I personally was not home at time and was never contacted as to extent of repair as well as cost. My son was home and told the technician to do what he needed to do . At the time he was shown a price book with a cost to replace that part. FB-38 valve roughly a $40 part . My cost $348. Over a 700 % mark-up. Diagnostic fee $79. Labor cost $163.50. Ridiculous ! Wait it gets better. After finding out that they replaced a $40 dollar part and charged me $348 for it , I called spoke to Bill and he said that I should not have been charged labor , it's a flat fee. Ok i thought , you guys need to figure out your billing practices. He said nothing will be done w/ your check till after the New Year and i'll have my manager call you. On Friday Jan 3 , *** from ELM called and left a message. Finally spoke to *** on Tuesday Jan. 7th , and he Non-chalantly and very Pompously told me that the labor charges were for draining my boiler which is not indicated anywhere on my bill. Needless to say the check was cashed on Jan. 6th , so I could not have stopped payment on it . Very questionable billing practices , How can you charge for Double Labor when you tell me that the original work was a flat fee ,though never specified. Will NEVER RECOMMEND & WILL DO EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO MAKE SURE NO ELSE GETS TAKEN LIKE I DID .

Desired Settlement: Labor Charges - No where on my statement does it say anything about draining a boiler.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@hvacgroupchicago.com I'm confused by this matter. A customer calls for a service call,leaves his son home to handle the call.They are told that there is a diagnostic charge of $79.00 by the office dispatcher before the call is scheduled.The service tech is then dispatched,he arrives diagnoses the problem then gives the customer the cost for the repair, they can OK the repair or refuse it.The tech gave the son the price for the repair and is given the OK to make the repair. As the tech starts the repair he discovers that he will need to drain the system to complete the repair.Given an earlier directive by the son to do what ever it takes the tech may not have felt that he needed to tell the son of the additional work needed.That was probably his mistake not to do so,but that does not mean that we were trying to take advantage of anyone.I will refund the $163.50 labor charge that the customer is requesting to get back, but I feel like my company is being taken advantage of, and I as a business have no means for retribution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

44 Customer Reviews on Elm Heating & Cooling, Inc
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart