Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Effective Air, Inc.

Phone: (847) 729-1820 Fax: (847) 729-1870 2033 Johns Ct, Glenview, IL 60025 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Effective Air, Inc is a heating, ventilation and air conditioning company, we service and install.  We also specialize in whole house water filtration and conditioning systems.  We do duct cleaning, Aeroseal (duct sealing) and duct balancing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Effective Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Effective Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1940 Business started locally: 01/01/1940 Business incorporated 07/06/1987 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Kim Smith, President Mr. Ken Fredrich, CSR
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kim Smith, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

Effective Air, Inc. sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Bryant

Effective Air, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air cleaners, Air Conditioners, Furnaces, Humidifiers, Low Level CO Monitors, Water Filtration Systems

Method(s) of Payment
Effective Air accepts all major credit cards.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Effective Air has 10 year warranties on most new system installs.  Our service warranties are for 1 year.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Date was 6/9 I was told that I was low on R22. When I received the bill I thought it was high that I had to pay over $120 for the first Lb and then over $90 for every Lb after that plus a trip charge of $129. I have no problem paying the trip charge. The price on recycled R22 is about $30 from 3 different hvac places that ai checked. I was billed $399 and paid it as soon as I received the bill. I was not home at the time of service nor did I sign anything. I am requisting a refund of $200 for overcharge on R22.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund of $200 which I feel is a fair price for the services rendered. I paid $400.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ The prices that you found are below what I pay for R22, and if a company is able to give that price, they were not including the labor rate which my price does. This is called "Flat Rate". Most companies in our industry use this pricing system. But, none the less, the price you claim that 3 different companies gave you seems very unrealistic. Our price is fair. I called some reputable companies in the area and with permission I've listed their prices below: Convenient Heating and Cooling - Buffalo Grove: $369.00 for the 1-3 lbs. (Labor included). GVs Heating -Glenview: $110.00 1st lb., $65.00 each additional (Labor included) Carlson - Heating & Cooling - Glenview: $79/lb. (Labor not included) Comfort Keepers - Crystal Lake: $95/lb.(Labor not included) R.H.Witt - Glenview: $111.00 1st lbs., $95/additional (Labor included) ABC Heating & Cooling -Buffalo Grove: $129 1st lbs., $90/additional (Labor included) Effective Air - Glenview: $123.99 1st lbs., $98.63/additional (Labor included) Even Angie's list states you will expect to pay $35- $175/lb. plus labor for refrigerant. So you can see our charges for refrigerant are in line with other contractors in the area. If a contractor is charging only $30/lb with no labor charges than he may not be licensed, insured, or registered, or he is using an inferior or stolen product. He is not following EPA federal guidelines. Effective Air figures into each repair or pound of refrigerant exact costs to pay for proper training, EPA certification, education for excellent technicians, following all EPA and federal regulations - which includes a lot of paperwork back at the office, our expensive recovery and recapture equipment and systems, our test instruments and gauges, our refrigerant costs and labor. Refrigerant R22 is being phased out due to federal law. Each year our costs increase. Last year our cost increased tenfold. Gary was extremely upset at your actions. He bent over backwards to get you air conditioning on a very hot and humid day, we rearranged his schedule; we were able to push some non-emergency jobs back to fit you in causing him to work late into the evening finishing up these other jobs. Gary said he talked to you before the repair to explain the charges and again after the repair was complete. You mentioned in your note that you were "not home at the time of service nor did (you) sign anything". Our policy is to have someone home but because you couldn't be home we made and exception to get you up and running, and a verbal agreement is the same as signing the document. Gary kept you updated throughout the course of the repair and said you were happy and satisfied upon his final call - with work performed and price given. We agreed to apply 100% of the charges if you went with our recommendation of a new system. You had a "NO cool" and you were given immediate service. We pride ourselves and our reputation and in the 35 years of business, we have always been listed as A+ at the BBB. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i was still billed for 3LBS when I was told 2 1/2 lbs. I was also told that it would be recycled R22 which is cheaper and more in line to the Angies list of $35. This was going to be a temporary fix why would you use new R22 when it was going to be taken out in a few days for a new unit. No one checked for leaks to see if that was the problem. I was also told that if it was a big leak they would not even attempt to fill it. Nothing was signed, my unit was not even checked to see where the leak was coming from. I still want a credit for the 1/2 LB of R22 and reduction of price on the R22 since it was told to me that it wold be recycled. I believe A $100 credit to my credit card is fair. I am also willing to go to arbitration. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/10) */ I spoke to Gary, he said he put in 3# of new refrigerant, his paperwork also shows 3# pounds of new refrigerant which he emailed to you. He installed new refrigerant. This discussion of recycled refrigerant was only if your system was flat or had no refrigerant. Your system takes a total of 9#. If the leak was large, Gary would not have filled it at all, but if there was no visible sign of leakage and it was flat, then he said he would have filled it with used R22 just to get you through the hot day knowing that it may only last 24 hours, this would be the only reason he would use recycled refrigerant. Again, Angie's List said refrigerant could range between $35 - $175 and did not include labor. Their upper end was $175.00 way above my charge which does includes labor, and according to the five reputable companies I called in this area, I am right in line with their refrigerant charges. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was never told 3LBS I WAS TOLD 2 1/2. I was also told it was going to be recycled not new. It wouldn't make sense to put in new when the unit was going to be taken out. I never signed anything and the leak was never checked to see where it was coming from. Maybe a new unit was needed. I am willing to take this to arbitration if needed. At this point a $100 credit would be accepted

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Effective Air, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)