Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (773) 248-1144 Fax: (773) 862-9542 2700 N Campbell Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.deljoheating.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1922 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1922
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Clement, President Mr. William Clement, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Clement, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Quality Service Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Systems Boilers - New & Used Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Aprilaire, Carrier, Crown Boiler, Ecobee Thermostats, Guardian Air, Honeywell, Lochinvar, Mitsubishi, Nest, Peerless Boiler, SpacePak, Triangle Tube, Unico

Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Conditioning, Air Duct Sealing, Duct Cleaning, Filter Replacement, Heating, Humidifiers, Indoor Air Qualit, In-Floor Heating, Maintenance, Thermostats


Additional Locations

  • 2700 N Campbell Ave

    Chicago, IL 60647 (773) 248-1144

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008 we contacted Deljo to install a Mitsubishi Ductless Air Conditioning system at our home. Deljo instilled confidence in the system and commented that our house was a perfect fit for such an installation. The first summer it worked great but every spring since then the system has lost refrigerant and needs to be replenished at my expense of $250 to $500. During the first trip to fix the system Deljo claimed that leaks were normal in these systems and took no responsibility for their installation. In 2012 they began adding a chemical to 'seal' any leaks in the system. Of course this didn't work. Other service reps from Deljo have told us that these systems should never leak, so even within the company they can't get their stories straight. Just this year (after the product warranty expired) I paid them more money to conduct a leak test. Of course no leaks were found (so they can continue to charge me annually). To conduct the leak test they had to drain the system of refrigerant; however, they didn't keep the refrigerant for re-use and then charged us additional money to fully fill the system. Not sure what they did with the 4 pounds that were in the system but I thought they could re-use it. 5 days after this the condensing unit was making a screeching noise in the morning and completely shut down later that day. Deljo now wants $3500 to fix the condensing unit (hopefully); however, I will still have a leak. Alternatively, he tells me that a replacement condensing unit would not be compatible with the interior units so for $11,000 I can have a new system...that might still leak! Really? I contend that the breakdown of condensing unit was due either to the 'sealer' that they put in the loop or that the system was not filled properly. Other contractors have told me that leaks should never occur and that they cause stress on the compressor because the system is not properly pressurized. I think it was the leaking that eventually led to the condensor failing. I feel duped by Deljo because they took my money each year. They even convinced us to have a service contract with them because it would save money on the annual repairs that they knew we would have. It's unfortunate that a seemingly reputable company can't take responsibility for their own installation and products.

Desired Settlement: The air conditioning system has not worked since the second season. Even on of Deljo's service technicians said these systems should last 12-15 years. I'm asking for Deljo to replace the entire system in its entirety with today's equivalent products by the same manufacturer at no cost to me. We've paid them enough already.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/07/16) */ We have been in contact with ****ery ****** in regards to his A/C issues. We made a no charge visit to his home and conducted a refrigerant leak test. We are at this time in contact with the manufacturer in regards to repair. *** *******/Deljo Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 13, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the response describes the current status of the issue it does not propose a resolution; therefore, this issue can not be considered resolved at this time and the case is still open. Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/07/21) */ Deljo has been in contact with **** ******, and we made a return visit and an addition leak check at no charge to him on his 6 year old Mitsubishi system. We are curretly waiting for some direction from Mitsubishi,in regards to repair or replacement of the out of warranty unit. Consumer Response /* (2001, 23, 2014/09/11) */ 9/10/14 The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Please be aware that Deljo replaced the outdoor condensing unit and has warranted the system for another year. At this stage the matter may be considered closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Deljo Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)