Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Comfort Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (888) 268-4464 6424 N Francisco Ave Apt 1, Chicago, IL 60645 http://www.comfortheatandcool.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Comfort Heating & Cooling, Inc. is a heating and air conditioning company which provides air temperature control and air quality services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves downtown Chicago, including the neighborhoods of West Ridge, Rogers Park, North Park, Albany Park, Ravenswood Uptown, Forest Glen, Jefferson Park, North Center, Portage Park, Norwood Park, Avondale, Kelvyn Park, Lake View, Logan Square, Hermosa, and Lincoln Park. Services available from this company include heating and air conditioning cleaning, furnace repair, furnace inspection, furnace installation, air conditioner repair, air conditioner inspection air conditioner installation, boiler installation, water heater installation, and repairs for water heaters and boilers.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comfort Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 2005 Business started: 06/21/2002 Business started locally: 06/21/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sonia Teruel, Vice President Mr. Richard Batista, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sonia Teruel, Vice President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Furnaces - Industrial Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6424 N Francisco Ave Apt 1

    Chicago, IL 60645

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract on Feb 4, 2014 for Comfort Heating and Cooling Inc to install a Trane Hyperion XR high efficiency Air Handler/Trane XB13 R410A 2 Ton A/C condensing unit central A/C system including all necessary duct work for a total of $5772.06. I paid 1/2 on Feb 4 via credit card, and the other 1/2 by check on June 16, 2014. After repeated failed attempts to get the system working, they claimed to have resolved the installation issues they were having and said the unit was working properly. During this process, I was subjected to fowl language, personal attacks, and was given repeated false information and promises. I refused to sign the invoice because I was not confident the system was installed or would work properly. I did not attempt to turn on the system as I was out of town for work for a few weeks. When I did, the system would not cool the condo below 79 degrees after running it for 5-6 hours. When I contacted Comfort Heating and Cooling Inc to get help, I was told that they would not return to the home and not honor the warranty offered in the contract. The warranty offered a 1 year warranty on any installation-related labor(2 years for any high-efficiency Trane equipment which is what I had purchased. I am still left without a working unit and feel Comfort Heating and Cooling Inc. has breeched its contract by not providing a properly installed working system and by failing to fulfill its warranty declarations offered in the sales contract.

Desired Settlement: Refund due to breech of contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Vice-Preside Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***************@aol.com Our first contact with Mr. ******* occurred on October 23, 2013. Our company submitted its first proposal for air conditioning and duct work at that time, but since Mr. ******* was still in the process of closing on the unit, no contract was entered into in October of 2013. When we were contacted again by Mr. ******* after the New Year, we provided a revised proposal reflecting a change in pricing by Trane for 2014. We explained the reason for the increase related to pricing changes by the manufacturer, and Mr. ******* agreed to proceed. He requested that our lead technician come to the property to discuss the job. After the lead technician went to see Mr. *******, a third revised proposal was submitted. Mr. ******* had issues with the price as he believed that less duct work would be required, but we explained that we had to design custom duct work for the foyer in order for it to meet the specifications of how he wanted it to look. After some back and forth with Mr. *******, we agreed to lower the price by $202.06. A final proposal was submitted to Mr. *******, to which he agreed, and on February 25, 2014 the contract was signed and a credit card payment of $2,861.03 was taken to begin the first half of the work. We also provided him with a copy of our HVAC license from the City of Chicago, along with a copy of our insurance certificate for Mr. ******* to deliver to the condo board and also for his records. The work in Mr. *******'s unit involved a complete gutting out of the unit. Our company began phase one (1) of the work on February 27, 2014, which consisted of duct work and installation of an air handler. Once that portion of the work was completed, several weeks passed ****** we were asked to return to the unit. On April 1, 2014, Mr. ******* requested that we return to the job site, at which time he informed our technician that a friend of his had come through and given him alternate ideas about the height of the registers, some special molding he wanted to install, etc., and wanted for us to take down the work we had done to change it to his new specifications. The technician advised him that it would be an additional cost of $500.00 to remove and reinstall all the duct work. Mr. ******* agreed to the additional cost and the duct work was removed and reinstalled to his new specifications. It should be noted that during the entire span of this project, there were numerous other contractors in and out of the unit working on electrical, plumbing, woodwork, etc., many of whom Mr. ******* had referred to as his "friends." Our technicians had several issues with these other workers, i.e. we were accused of stealing some tools; our technician informed the electrician of the electrical requirements for our part of the job and the electrician told Mr. ******* that we were not correct, when in fact the "electrician" was not even a licensed electrician and did not know what he was talking about; and several other uncomfortable situations that we were forced to endure. Mr. ******* decided to take the word of his "friends" over ours and requested that we reduce the proposal by $250.00 to cover the tools that we were accused of taking. Needless to say, we were feeling very uneasy about continuing our work on this project. As a reputable company, we were highly offended by his accusations and request for money for tools we did not take, but wanted to complete the job as agreed, collect the remainder of our fee, and get as far away from that project as possible. Mr. ******* was present on the day that we finished our work on his unit and despite seeing that everything was functioning properly, refused to sign the invoice stating that our work was done, and refused to pay the balance owed. Mr. ******* stated that he would not sign or pay until he had another company come check our work. The technician advised Mr. ******* that if another company came and tampered with our work that he would void the warranty on the labor. Nothing was resolved, so our technician left so that the issue could be resolved by our office. On June 13, 2014, approximately ten (10) days after completion of the work, Mr. ******* still had not paid and contacted us to say that the unit was not working. We suspected that someone had been tampering with the unit in the interim since we had last been onsite. Even still, we went back and attempted to fix the issue. After countless hours onsite, communicating with our supplier, Munch's Supply tech support, who gave us suggestions of parts to change, we were able to get the unit working properly again and left everything in working order on June 13, 2014. As it turned out, the issue had to do with the manufacturing of the Trane product and not with installation. On June 15, 2014, we still had not received payment from Mr. *******. We called and spoke with Mr. ******* at length and explained that the issue was with the Trane product and not with the installation work that we had done. We even have confirmation from Trane that the issue was with the unit and not with our work. Even still, Mr. ******* did not want to pay. We informed him that we were very confident in our work and offered to have an inspector from the City of Chicago come out and approve our work, and he adamantly refused to have any inspectors come to the property. He was asked whether he had permits to do work in the unit and he claimed yes, although there were no permits visibly posted as required by law. Once the subject of inspectors came up, Mr. ******* was no longer interested in arguing further. Mr. ******* was informed that the unit was under warranty and that due to all the negative situations that had occurred throughout the previous months which had spawned a complete lack of trust on all parts, that he was free to contact any other company to service his heating and cooling needs in the future. He was informed that he did need to pay because we had done the agreed upon work and then some. Mr. ******* sent in final payment on June 16, 2014. No further contact was had with Mr. ******* until July 26, 2014 when we received an email asking for a copy of the invoice and registration for the air handler, which had been previously mailed to him, but apparently not received. In his email he informed us that the unit was again not functioning properly. After extensive consideration, we decided we would not return to Mr. *******'s project anymore as it had morphed from a simple installation job into a nightmare. When Mr. ******* received our response he contacted Trane and spoke with an individual named ***. *** took the complaint, and later contacted our office and spoke with the lead technician at length. It was determined and agreed that the since the issue was an equipment malfunction and had nothing to do with the installation, that we would not be required to go back and fix it. *** from Trane informed us that he would contact Mr. ******* advising him that his air handler was under warranty, that we did not have to return since the problem was not related to the installation, and that they would honor the warranty regardless of who came out to repair it. It would appear that Mr. ******* was dissatisfied with that response, hence his complaint to the Better Business Bureau.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)