Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Besco Air, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 777-0200 Fax: (773) 777-0220 View Additional Phone Numbers 5406 N Elston Ave, Chicago, IL 60630 http://www.bescoair.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Besco Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Besco Air, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Besco Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 08/26/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Cox, President Warren Breedlove, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Cox, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Radiant Heating In-floor Heating Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Sales & Service Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Besco Heating & Air Cond

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Besco Air, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2 Cedar Glen Dr

    Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

  • 5406 N Elston Ave

    Chicago, IL 60630

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an annual maintenance contract for our airco and furnace. When the technician came for the fall furnace maintenance, he looked for 1 minute with a cell phone light into our furnace and 'discovered' that the heat exchanger was leaking. He said that we should not operate the furnace anymore, since it was unsafe. We were told to buy a new almost $11,000 heating and airco system. He also did not service the unit. We highly doubted that this was true, since it seemed impossible with a cell phone flashlight to inspect a furnace. So we hired a second company and they used a real tool with a screen and extension tube with camera and as expected they found no leak whatsoever. It turned out that the technician had made up a story so Besco could give us a quote for a new furnace. How dishonest !!

Desired Settlement: I will never let this dishonest company into my house or touch my furnace ever again. I want a refund of the maintenance contract that I paid for and did not use (1 furnace cleaning). If we can't resolve this through the BBB, I will file a claim in small claims court. It will be easy to get experts that can testify that there is no leak.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint:

 

We have been made aware of the issue by this customer. At the time of service, our service technician did in fact show the customer the crack discussed in the system's heat exchanger. Since the complaint was filed, we have discussed the issue with our service technician who had also provided us with pictures of the crack in question. We've since contacted the customer and are offering to come out (at no charge) to again show the customer where this crack is and explain why this system is dangerous to use. We've left a message for the customer and would be happy to send the owner or field service manager to the customer's home again as we are certain this system is compromised. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11019614, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Oscar ********

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Besco Air, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart