Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Auburn/Central Heating Co.

Phone: (773) 783-6748 Fax: (773) 488-0664 940 W 79th St, Chicago, IL 60620


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auburn/Central Heating Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auburn/Central Heating Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 1989 Business started: 04/10/1989 Business started locally: 04/10/1989 Business incorporated 04/05/1989 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Hinton, President Mr. Mark Hinton, Vice President Ms. Barbara Stennis, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Hinton, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Auburn Mechanical Heating & Ventilation, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    940 W 79th St

    Chicago, IL 60620 (773) 783-6748

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On july 7 I called auburn mechanical about my air conditioning line frezzing the guy came out an said oh your filter is cog change it and it will be fine 100 dollars, he didn't check anything else but used a fear technique of , oh if I check anything else I will charge you more. well that is the reason he was out which was to find the problem and not to guess what the problem was. Days later around july 14 I call back that I was still having the same problem with my line frezzing the same guy says oh you need to charge the system with Freon 85 dollars, now I realize that after the fact, that when he was installing the Freon my system was about full but he insist that was the problem so I trust that he new what he was talking about , well days later I still have the same problem , and now the company says the problem is something else and it's going to cost me 500 dollars. I feel cheated , I should not have to pay for their worker learning on the job, or guessing what a problem is , they suppose to be the professionals Product_Or_Service: 12/25/2012 Account_Number: X103825283

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) the part they say is needed is under warranty , so install it, since I have payed them twist already , and as for the Freon he had to know when he was installing the Freon it was not going to work so I should not be paying for that again either.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *******, OFFICE M Contact Phone: 773.783.6748 Contact Email: **********@AOL.COM THIS ISSUE STARTED BACK IN XXXX X/13 WE INSTALLED A NEW CONDENSING UNIT, LINE SET, POURED A CONCRETE PAD AND INSTALLED A NEW BLOWER MOTOR ( ON A DIFFERENT PROPERTY) THIS WAS DONE ALL FOR ONLY $1,783.00. MR. ******* HAS TO PAY FOR THE LABOR TO INSTALL A WARRANTY PART AND HE KNOWS THIS HE IS TRYINIG TO GET ALL HE CAN FOR FREE. WE WILL HAVE TO PAY OUR TECHINICIANS, THERE IS NO **** UP BUT A RECHARGE OF FREON IS INCLUDED FOR A TOTAL COST OF $450.00 HE DOES NOT WANT TO PAY ANYTHING. WE WILL HATE TO LOSE HIM AS A CUSTOMER BUT THE CHARGE STANDS


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auburn/Central Heating Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)