Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ARS/Rescue Rooter of Illinois meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ARS/Rescue Rooter of Illinois include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

52 Customer Reviews on ARS/Rescue Rooter of Illinois
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 50
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 52

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1995 Business started: 11/01/1995 Business started locally: 11/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Chicago Department of Public Health
333 S. State Street, Chicago IL 60604
www.cityofchicago.org/Health/
Phone Number: (312) 747-9884

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Wade, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Wade, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Refund and Exchange Policy
 ARS Rescue Rooter would like consumers to know the following:
Consumers may contact the corporate office of American Residential Services directly at 1-866-803-0879 or via email at wecare@ars.com for immediate action on any unresolved issue. 
Alternate Business Names
American Residential Services, LLC Anderson Htg & Cooling Kranz Mechanical Rescue Rooter The Irish Plumber
Additional Information

ARS / Rescue Rooter has requested that consumers reach out to them before filling a BBB Complaint. Please contact our National Customer Relations at 866-803-0879


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ARS/Rescue Rooter of Illinois has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 731 District Dr

    Itasca, IL 60143 (630) 438-6950 (630) 438-6900 (847) 342-1386 (630) 438-6948

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a seasonal Furnace tune up from Home Depot and it was serviced by ARS. Technician came and performed basic tune up and suggested few part replacements and also advertised on selling the Monthly/Annual Service plan mentioning it can be cancelled anytime. There are couple of issues: 1) The replacement part was for OEM furnace flame sensor (LH680 0013) which costs $18- $35. Replacement of part took 3 minutes. The total fee that was charged to me was $175. I had asked the technician if that part would cost so much and i was kept in the dark. Probably i should have done more research. anyways, 2) Next thing is I was told I can cancel my plan anytime and after talking to customer care rep couple of times I was told the amount is non refundable, Luckily I paid for monthly plan however again I am expecting the money back since it hasn't even been 2 business days and I was told the money would not be refunded. I was never informed about not being able to get my money back for service that I do not intend to use anymore. I would expect the business to be fair interns of charging the customers as well as providing fair information when requested. Also I would highly recommend the readers to do some research before purchasing any of their services. Totally DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Desired Settlement: Refund the Monthly Service Fee that was charged. Also to refund the exuberant amount that was charged for 3 mins of labor and $35 OEM part.

Business Response:

March 18, 2016

BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois, Inc.

RE:       Better Business Bureau ID# ********

            ******* *********

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter (“ARS”) has received your email dated March 16, 2016, regarding the above-referenced complaint.  Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond. 

Our corporate office is currently in communication with Mr. ********* to gain a better understanding of the complaint and to hopefully achieve an amicable resolution very soon.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute.  If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please feel free to contact ****** ****** ** ***** *********

Respectfully submitted,

***** ****

Corporate Online Reputation Analyst

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Business did reach out to me and agreed on the issue. The ARS representative mentioned that the expected resolution is agreeable and will refund $100 on provided service and $14 for cancelled monthly service totaling to $114. However I am still waiting for that refunded amount to reflect on my bank account.


Sincerely,

******* *********

3/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $850 for brand new siump pump one month ago. Broke a week and half ago, basement flooded $$$$ damage. ARS guy said pump broke, ARS said pump works fine. They refuse to talk to their employee about the pump being broken when he arrived at my house last week 6/1/2014. They are denying there was a problem with the pump. I have $3-$4,000 of damage and I can't file a claim. They said it was the storm, BUT the pump was broken 4 days before the storm when I did laundry, most of the water was soapy from washing machine (NO indication it was broken since it's only used for wash and outside water coming in. Invoice #XXXX-XXXXXX X/1/14 ***** ************** man XXX-XXX-XXXX ARS On 5/31/2014 I wrote a check for $850.00 to ARS for new pump. Check # 1292

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the hundreds of dollars I had to spend to clean up the basement, plus paid for all the items that were damaged in the flood.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ARS is lying, ***** ****** ARS service man, said the pump WAS NOT working before he removed it. I told ARS people at least 10-20 times the pump DID NOT BREAK OR GET OVERWORKED DURING THT STORM! The basement was filled with soapy water from the washing machine which was used Thursday, 4 DAYS BEFORE THE STORM, SOOOO the storm had NOTHING to do with the pump failing, it WAS BROKEN 4 days before the storm!!!!! They refuse to contact Denis Murati, the service guy who casn verify the pump was not working. He even said he saw a crack and some oil leaking. Said he's only seen 2 of these break in his 10 years with the company. Said it was a factory default. I've tried to reach Denis but I don not have a direct number, you have to go through the company, but they do not relay my message. YES, I swore, you would to if you talked to these ARS *****...! Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/08/11) */ Attached. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ARS receipt says "Ejector problem" which means: PUMP BROKEN! Service guy, ***** ******* wrote it on invoice after telling me pump was not working. ARS responsible for damage to my basement and items damaged in flood. I DO NOT have homeowners insurance, because I do not need it, I SPENT $850 ON A BRAND NEW SUMP PUMP SO MY BASEMENT WOULD NOT FLOODINSTALLED BY ARS! Worked for ONE MONTH! THEY ARE RESPOBSIBLE FOR DAMAGE!

3/24/2014 Delivery Issues
3/21/2014 Delivery Issues
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called this company in to find out why we had a very bad sewer smell in our office. They ran a camera down our sewer line, and advised us that the problem was from a break in our sewer line outside our office on the sidewalk. They gave us an estimate for the repairs they advised and we paid in full. The work was done, and from the beginning, we continued to experience the same sewer smells. we complained several times and they would send someone out, who would just throw some graval down the sewer. We ended up calling in 3 other companies, and all 3 of them found that the problem was a big hole in the sewerline, inside the office and not outside, and that the outside was never the proble.. Also, the outside work done was cefective, and had actually caused more damage to the sewerline. We complained to the company, and they sent another person out, who documented that the smell was still strong in the office. We reached out to the company, and they refused to either fix the shoddy work done and carry out the actual repair that should have been done, or refund our money. We have now been told that it would actually cost us more to fix the sewer because it continued to deteriorate, and as a result, is in a much worse condition than before.

Desired Settlement: At this point we honestly can not trust this company to do the right thing, or to do the work properly. We just want our money refunded to us so we can look for a more reputable company and get the job done through them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/15) */ Attached. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, ARS is trying to pass *** buck on a matter that they should be abjectly apologetic for, and scrambling to fix, if they had even the slightest integrity. It is really disappointing that they will not accept that they repaired the WRONG thing. They made a WRONG diagnosis, and therefore we spent our money on a WRONG repair that we neither requested nor required. The facts of the case are very simple: 1. We called them to come into our office, figure out why there was a strong sewer smell, and fix the problem, as their advertising states they have expertise in. 2. Their representative came in, did a series of investigations (which we paid for, in full, and he made a diagnosis, and a repair which was supposed to resolve the problem - which was the smell in our office. 3. We relied fully on their representative's professional judgment and signed a contract that he prepared, detailing what he stated we would need to do, to get rid of the smell. 4. They performed WRONG, UNNECESSARY work which we paid in full for. 5. The problem is that they performed the WRONG repair. 6. The "repair" did nothing to resolve our problem, and has in fact, caused it to deteriorate further. 7. We contacted them MULTIPLE times from almost immediately after, to report that there was no improvement. I have no idea why Mr. Cole's timeline is missing at least 4 visits that they made to "reassess the situation" based on our repeated complaints about the ineffectiveness of the work they did. 8. They are now refusing to do the right thing, because they know they 100% dropped the ball. Is ARS now saying that it is okay to provide incompetent, deficient, and frankly WRONG service to a client, so long as the customer accepts their contract, whether they were wrong in their diagnosis of the root problem or not? We are out of over $4,000.00 that we paid to this company, our office smells so bad that we are hard pressed to keep our customers or even operate our business, our sewer actually deteriorated due to the "repairs" they carried out, and we are caught in a semantic back and forth with a company that, frankly, should have more integrity than to present the most flimsy of excuses. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/27) */ Attached.

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a service contract with ARS for over five years. I have had issues with them lying to me in the past, however over the years I have been generally pleased with their service. I asked them to come out and replace two thermostats as they were old and seemed to be mis-functioning. They told me the service call would be $59. When the service man was done he presented me with a bill for over $550. I objected and he immediately lowered it to less than $500. I couldn't believe thermostats cost that much so I called Home Depot and found out their cost was $25 apiece. I sent the service man away with a check for $200 which I thought was generous. I now know that I was significantly overcharged for the furnace they installed last year. The cost of the furnace I just found is $1,866 from the manufactures and they charged over $4,500. Again I had a service contract so I shouldn't have paid regular labor.

Desired Settlement: I feel I was overcharged by at least $1,500 for the furnace and want that back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ November 11, 2013 BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX We are in receipt of your email dated November 7, 2013 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond. On January 14, 2013 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") responded to a service request at the property located at 13 N. Woodland Trail, Palos Park, IL XXXXX. Upon arrival, our service professional found that the connection between the pump and the impeller was broken. Accordingly, a written estimate with options to repair or to replace the system was provided to Mr. ********* Mr. ******** signed the authorization to proceed with the work, and the system was replaced on January 15, 2013 as contracted. Pricing is based on the quality and care with which the work is performed. Our flat rate pricing approach allows our service professionals to complete the job without time constraints, and empowers them to do the job right the first time. We realize our customers have choices in a competitive marketplace, and feel that our quality service guarantees, people, and products set us apart from our competition. On November 7, 2013 we responded to a new service request. Upon arrival, our service professional found two thermostats failed and they were replaced. We apologize that the quote was not provided prior to the work being performed. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we returned Mr. *******'s voided check on November 8, 2013. Therefore, the invoice was closed with no cost due from Mr. ******* to ensure customer satisfaction. We appreciate your assistance resolving this dispute. If you require additional information, please contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Respectfully, ***** **** Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

6/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

52 Customer Reviews on ARS/Rescue Rooter of Illinois
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart