BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2008

ARS/Rescue Rooter of Illinois

Phone: (630) 438-6900Fax: (630) 773-2728

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid $850 for brand new siump pump one month ago.
Broke a week and half ago, basement flooded $$$$ damage.

ARS guy said pump broke, ARS said pump works fine.
They refuse to talk to their employee about the pump being broken when he arrived at my house last week 6/1/2014. They are denying there was a problem with the pump.

I have $3-$4,000 of damage and I can't file a claim.
They said it was the storm, BUT the pump was broken 4 days before the storm when I did laundry, most of the water was soapy from washing machine (NO indication it was broken since it's only used for wash and outside water coming in.
Invoice #XXXX-XXXXXX X/1/14
***** ************** man
XXX-XXX-XXXX ARS
On 5/31/2014
I wrote a check for $850.00 to ARS for new pump.
Check # 1292

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for the hundreds of dollars I had to spend to clean up the basement, plus paid for all the items that were damaged in the flood.

Business Response
Attached.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
ARS is lying, ***** ****** ARS service man, said the pump WAS NOT working before he removed it.
I told ARS people at least 10-20 times the pump DID NOT BREAK OR GET OVERWORKED DURING THT STORM!
The basement was filled with soapy water from the washing machine which was used Thursday, 4 DAYS BEFORE THE STORM, SOOOO the storm had NOTHING to do with the pump failing, it WAS BROKEN 4 days before the storm!!!!!
They refuse to contact Denis Murati, the service guy who casn verify the pump was not working.
He even said he saw a crack and some oil leaking.
Said he's only seen 2 of these break in his 10 years with the company. Said it was a factory default.
I've tried to reach Denis but I don not have a direct number, you have to go through the company, but they do not relay my message.
YES, I swore, you would to if you talked to these ARS *****...!

Final Business Response
Attached.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
ARS receipt says "Ejector problem" which means:
PUMP BROKEN!
Service guy, ***** ******* wrote it on invoice after telling me pump was not working.
ARS responsible for damage to my basement and items damaged in flood.
I DO NOT have homeowners insurance, because I do not need it, I SPENT $850 ON A BRAND NEW SUMP PUMP SO MY BASEMENT WOULD NOT FLOODINSTALLED BY ARS!
Worked for ONE MONTH!
THEY ARE RESPOBSIBLE FOR DAMAGE!

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had a service contract with ARS for over five years. I have had issues with them lying to me in the past, however over the years I have been generally pleased with their service.

I asked them to come out and replace two thermostats as they were old and seemed to be mis-functioning. They told me the service call would be $59. When the service man was done he presented me with a bill for over $550. I objected and he immediately lowered it to less than $500. I couldn't believe thermostats cost that much so I called Home Depot and found out their cost was $25 apiece. I sent the service man away with a check for $200 which I thought was generous.

I now know that I was significantly overcharged for the furnace they installed last year. The cost of the furnace I just found is $1,866 from the manufactures and they charged over $4,500. Again I had a service contract so I shouldn't have paid regular labor.

Desired Settlement
I feel I was overcharged by at least $1,500 for the furnace and want that back.

Business Response
November 11, 2013

BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated November 7, 2013 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On January 14, 2013 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") responded to a service request at the property located at 13 N. Woodland Trail, Palos Park, IL XXXXX. Upon arrival, our service professional found that the connection between the pump and the impeller was broken. Accordingly, a written estimate with options to repair or to replace the system was provided to Mr. ********* Mr. ******** signed the authorization to proceed with the work, and the system was replaced on January 15, 2013 as contracted.

Pricing is based on the quality and care with which the work is performed. Our flat rate pricing approach allows our service professionals to complete the job without time constraints, and empowers them to do the job right the first time. We realize our customers have choices in a competitive marketplace, and feel that our quality service guarantees, people, and products set us apart from our competition.

On November 7, 2013 we responded to a new service request. Upon arrival, our service professional found two thermostats failed and they were replaced. We apologize that the quote was not provided prior to the work being performed. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we returned Mr. *******'s voided check on November 8, 2013. Therefore, the invoice was closed with no cost due from Mr. ******* to ensure customer satisfaction.

We appreciate your assistance resolving this dispute. If you require additional information, please contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

03/04/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We called this company in to find out why we had a very bad sewer smell in our office. They ran a camera down our sewer line, and advised us that the problem was from a break in our sewer line outside our office on the sidewalk. They gave us an estimate for the repairs they advised and we paid in full.

The work was done, and from the beginning, we continued to experience the same sewer smells. we complained several times and they would send someone out, who would just throw some graval down the sewer.

We ended up calling in 3 other companies, and all 3 of them found that the problem was a big hole in the sewerline, inside the office and not outside, and that the outside was never the proble.. Also, the outside work done was cefective, and had actually caused more damage to the sewerline.

We complained to the company, and they sent another person out, who documented that the smell was still strong in the office. We reached out to the company, and they refused to either fix the shoddy work done and carry out the actual repair that should have been done, or refund our money. We have now been told that it would actually cost us more to fix the sewer because it continued to deteriorate, and as a result, is in a much worse condition than before.

Desired Settlement
At this point we honestly can not trust this company to do the right thing, or to do the work properly. We just want our money refunded to us so we can look for a more reputable company and get the job done through them.

Business Response
Attached.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, ARS is trying to pass *** buck on a matter that they should be abjectly apologetic for, and scrambling to fix, if they had even the slightest integrity. It is really disappointing that they will not accept that they repaired the WRONG thing. They made a WRONG diagnosis, and therefore we spent our money on a WRONG repair that we neither requested nor required.

The facts of the case are very simple:

1. We called them to come into our office, figure out why there was a strong sewer smell, and fix the problem, as their advertising states they have expertise in.
2. Their representative came in, did a series of investigations (which we paid for, in full, and he made a diagnosis, and a repair which was supposed to resolve the problem - which was the smell in our office.
3. We relied fully on their representative's professional judgment and signed a contract that he prepared, detailing what he stated we would need to do, to get rid of the smell.
4. They performed WRONG, UNNECESSARY work which we paid in full for.
5. The problem is that they performed the WRONG repair.
6. The "repair" did nothing to resolve our problem, and has in fact, caused it to deteriorate further.
7. We contacted them MULTIPLE times from almost immediately after, to report that there was no improvement. I have no idea why Mr. Cole's timeline is missing at least 4 visits that they made to "reassess the situation" based on our repeated complaints about the ineffectiveness of the work they did.
8. They are now refusing to do the right thing, because they know they 100% dropped the ball.

Is ARS now saying that it is okay to provide incompetent, deficient, and frankly WRONG service to a client, so long as the customer accepts their contract, whether they were wrong in their diagnosis of the root problem or not?

We are out of over $4,000.00 that we paid to this company, our office smells so bad that we are hard pressed to keep our customers or even operate our business, our sewer actually deteriorated due to the "repairs" they carried out, and we are caught in a semantic back and forth with a company that, frankly, should have more integrity than to present the most flimsy of excuses.

Final Business Response
Attached.

07/25/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers, Insulation Contractors, Heating Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.