BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2008

Approved Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (815) 459-8700Fax: (815) 444-1894

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: Our water valve to the humidifier was clogged and the service technician quoted me $99 to replace the valve to which I said "no". We had another existing open valve which he said he can use. The job was done in less 15 minutes including everything (the technician was in by 12:00 pm and out by 12:30 pm) but when he made the final bill I was surprised to see the total bill for $188.00 ($89 for diagnostic and $99 for service). When asked, he said that is their flat rate which nobody told me before. I called the customer service desk and talked to a manager / supervisor by the Dianne (they would not give out the last name) who was not only rude to me but was also unwilling to lesson to a customer complain and help.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@approvedcomfort.com
I am sorry for Mr. ****** less than pleasurable experience. When Mr. ***** entered comments on the company website of his experience and what other companies would charge, I debriefed all employees involved and viewed our surveillance data. To address Mr. ****** complaint. Our Standard Operating Proceedure is to explain to the customer when the call is booked on the way we charge. This is read to every customer from our system. "FOR AN INVESTMENT OF $89.00 WE WILL SEND A QUALIFIED TECHNICIAN TO YOUR LOCATION.HE WILL THEN DIAGNOSE YOUR SYSTEM AND EXPLAIN WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE USING OUR NO-RISK FLAT RATE TASK BOOK. BEST OF ALL NO WORK IS PERFORMED UNLESS YOU AUTHORIZE IT FIRST." This interaction between ****** and **** ***** took place February 4th at 3:40PM. And it is confirmed through surveillance that the SOP was followed to the T.

The actual call time stamped schedule was the technician was dispatched to Mr. ***** at 11:15am.
He arrived onsite at 11:45am. The call was completed at 1:00pm. Real onsite time is 1.25 hrs.
Industry standard rates are $89.00 Trip charge, and $30.00 per quarter hour. Industry standard rate invoice would have been $239.00. We billed $89.00 diagnostic, and miscellaneous plumbing task flat rate of $99.00, that comes to $188.00. The when Mr. ***** called the office and spoke to the operations manager ****** at 12:38pm, she reexplained all charges and also explained that we do not installed customer supplied parts. After 9 minutes on the phone with Mr. ***** at 12:47pm, she discounted the invoice $25.00 to bring the total to $163.00. This total is well under industry standard. Again reviewing our surveillance, ****** followed procedure and maintained professionalism the entire time, while meeting the customers request of discounting service already approved and provided. Our total cost per man with liabilities is $51.55 an hour. Just in time for this call my cost for man hrs is $90.21. That does not include any vehicle expenses or overhead. Our Service rates are justifiable, and Mr. ***** had every opportunity to decline or refuse any services. Mr. ***** is correct, we did not change the old water valve. He was quoted to replace it, but he refused that service. He than asked if we could move the water line from the cold side water to the hot side to an existing already installed valve. He was told yes we can do this, but we still have to charge you for our time to do this task.
In summary, I called Mr. ***** two times yesterday to discuss this matter. Once at 3:53 pm and again at 4:40 pm and was unable to talk with him. As a service company, I do not know what else I can do to satisfy Mr. ****** complaint. After doing a detailed due diligence and gathered all of the facts relating to this complaint, including viewing surveillance video, I have exhausted all avenues of satisfaction.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Approved comfort came out to diagnose a water leak after another company installed a new ac coil and the previous ac repair company couldn't fix. First Approved comfort said that the water leak was caused by an improper pitch and drain tube of the new coil installed and would work up an estimate to repair the leak and poss replace the coil out. The approved comfort repair man told me that its ok to run the ac and have the water just drain into a bucket (the furnace is on the second level of the house) while the ac was on. I told the approved comfort repair man that the previous repair company said it was not a drain problem but the h coil was dripping into the air duct , he laughed and said that cant happen and that the other company didnt know what they were doing or talking about. He said he would have ***** work up an estimate and get back to me tomorrow.

The next day I received an invoice from ***** for a new coil and a new furnace. He said he wont replace the coil with out replacing the furnace. I approved the repairs just to get this done because its been a nightmare. Approved comfort replaced the coil and furnace with an Amana brand and the next day the water leak was back and leaking worse and spreading over the celing! Approved comfort charged me to come out and look at it on a Sunday and I said it was just replaced and should be under warranty but he charged anyways. They came out and the water leak had spread further causing more damaged. The repair man said the coil is leaking into the duct work causing the leak! Same thing that was happening before they touched anything and $3600 earlier! They said they would have the Amana furnace co rep come out in a week to see whats wrong with the new furnace. This whole time the water was leaking and causing more damage and when the rep came out they said it wasn't their fault and it was approved problem. At that time ***** and the owner of the company was there and said dont worry about the drywall "we'll fix it and get back to you with a solution". Almost a week passed and I called and spoke with ***** and he said they are still waiting to see what the Amana rep is going to do. I said " I need this fixed today or tomorrow, I spent $3600 for the same problem! You put in a new furnace, coil and damaged my home and your not doing anything!" He said give me a an hour and Ill cal you back. A few hours later he called and said they will install a new Lennox furnance and coil. The next day they came and installed a new furnace and coil. After the new furnance he said give it a few days before we fix the celing, we want to make sure its not leaking. A few days later I called and spoke with approved and the lady in the office to see about when they can fix the celing and she said they are not fixing the water damage and this has caused them a lot of financial problems!! She said if it wasnt in writing to fix the ceiling that they're not doing it. I asked to speak with ***** but now he dosent work for the company anymore. I contacted my credit card company to dispute the charges because now I feel I never needed a new coil or furnace and now I have water damage and holes in my ceiling.

When the ac fist broke I had an estimate on a new ac system by one company and they didnt say I needed a new furnace, then I had another company give me a bid on a new ac system and they said I didnt need a new furnace. Everything was working properly and now I've spent almost $7000.00 and have damage to my ceiling. Now I think I never needed a new furnace to begin with. The furnace was working great and wasn't that old. I trusted this company to give proper diagnosis and fix the problem. I feel I was taken advantage of.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@approvedcomfort.com
I am sorry for Mr. *****`s issues. I have done everything we have been contracted for. I agree, we had equipment issues, the manufacture dragged their feet, and if we caused any drywall damage we should be responsible for it.

We installed a completely new system, by a different manufacture, and I have enclosed my email to Mr. ***** as well as the images. I never have received a response from him.
Furthermore, I believe there is some confusion regarding the details of this complaint. The technician nor ***** every said you need a new furnace, they gave him options of replacement and that is what he chose.

In addition, I have never been at the property prior to 8/9/2013, to view and take pictures of the damages claimed.And at that time I was alone.

My technicians, and myself have only spoke in person to the tenants of the property. The tenants did voice they were displeased with how long it has taking to find out who is to repair the drywall. So their story to Mr. *****, the landlord, may be a bit skewed.

In the attached documented email and images, I can not see any further damage to the drywall from when we accepted the job.

I do not know what ***** said. I do not know what the tenant said. All I know is what the agreement document says.

I am disappointed Mr. ***** is unsatisfied with our efforts of fixing the previous contractors debacle, and exercised passion *** his requests.

additional info from business:
I made an error on my last response. ***** did come into the office and asked if we could replace the coil only. The sales manager said no, we will not put our name on something that looks like that. The improper furnace can make the AC look and perform bad. I have enclosed pictures of before and after.

I can not find another area to attach an additional PDF. Please advise...*****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When approved comforts estimate was given to me from ***** he said the only way they would replace the coil is if I changed out the furnace as well, he said he would have to find a coil that would fit our furnace. He said give him a day or two to find a coil to fit it.

The next morning at 8:30 am I received a call from the front office at approved asking when I would like the New furnace and coil replaced. I said did ***** find a coil and right away she said "NO". It was only 8:30 am the next day. Also when I first called Approved comfort they said that they will not discuss any repairs to the renters about what needs to be done but Approved never called me about anything. I had to keep calling them and they would eventually call me back the next day or 2 to get answers. I feel they didn't diagnose the problem correctly the first time out there and I didn't need a new furnace because after they replaced EVERYTHING it was doing the same thing! I have the tenants as a witness that Approved said they will fix the drywall repair because it continued to leak 2 weeks after the new furnace was installed by them. The tenants said it was leaking worse and spread along the celing and it my look not as bad dry but there was still major drywall damaged BEHIND AFTER they installed the new system.

Final Business Response
On 8/XX X:XXPM Central time I spoke with the owner **** and said I would personally go back out to the residence in the morning. I am unclear what is really being disputed now. At first I thought it was compensation for drywall damage, now I am unsure.

As far as the drywall damage is concerned, I spoke directly will the tenant Leslie and agreed to pay someone she knows for the repair. She just contacted me yesterday, I returned her call that morning and am awaiting a return call. I did call and email the owner the day 8/21/13 to confirm completion and agreement and have not received a call back.
To this day we have not had a call issue with any further water leakage.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/09/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: problem date:8/24
Purchase date:8/26
Invoice #:XXXXX
Sales: ******
Payment: 659.00


Would not provide itemized bill. Said it was against company policy.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@approvedcomfort.com
I have provided an itemized detail of service cost for Mr.*******. It will not be 100% acurate due to multiple operating costs that I can`t break down hourly.
We are a flat rate service company, which means it does not matter if the technician is on site for 1 hour or 10 hours, the investment cost is always the same to the customer to protect the customer from unseen issues that may lead to additional labor costs. This is a security service we provide for our customers.
The reason this was not provided before to Mr. ******* is because it is extremely labor intense to create, and it is not even 100% accurate. A customer will look at an itemized detail and perceive we are making too much profit and treating them unfair.
If Mr. ******* requested to talk with a supervisor, this could of all been explained or handled differently, instead of getting irate and saying he is "Done with our ****** company. We are in the customer service business. It makes no sense to have customers upset and disappointed in our actions.
I hope the attached itemized detail is sufficient for Mr. *******. If there is anything else I can do, please contact me back.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: MY A/C AT HOME BROKE DOWN AND I CALLED APPROVED COMFORT FOR SERVICE SINCE THEY ARE AN AUTHORIZED DEALER OF MY UNIT WHICH IS ****** ******* THEIR TECHNICIAN CAME AND DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM. IN ABOUT 5 MINS. HE TOLD ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS THE CAPACITOR AND HE SAID THAT IT'S EXPENSIVE AND KEEPS TELLING ME THAT IT IS EXPENSIVE. THEN I SAID GO AHEAD AND REPLACE IT AND SO HE DID. HE CHARGED ME $238. FOR THE CAPACITOR AND $110 ($135. LESS $25 COUPON) FOR THE SERVICE CALL. HE LEFT THE BOX AND THE OLD PART AND JUST TO MY INQUIRY MIND I SAW THE INFO ON THE BOX AND I SEARCHED THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THAT IT'S A $30 PART AND AGAIN HE CHARGED ME $238. THEN I LOOKED AT THE INVOICE AND HE PUT DOWN THE PART # OF THE CAPACITOR SO I SEARCHED THE LENNOX.COM WEBSITE FOR THAT PART # AND IT WAS FOR $165. FIRST OF ALL, THE REASON WHY I CALLED APPROVED COMFORT IS THAT THEY ARE AN AUTHORIZED DEALER OF MY UNIT SO I KNOW THAT I'M GETTING AN OEM PARTS BUT UNFORTUNATELY, THEY PUT ON AN AFTERMARKET PART THAT COST THEM ONLY $30. MY POINT IS THAT LIKE BRINGING YOUR CAR TO THE DEALER AND YOU KNOW THAT YOU'RE GETTING AN OEM PART AND NOT A CHEAP AFTERMARKET ITEM. SO I BELIEVE THAT I'M A VICTIM OF FRAUD AND I'VE BEEN RIPPED OFF BY APPROVED COMFORT. MY SITUATION MIGHT SEEM SMALL BUT HOW ABOUT THE OTHER THAT THEY WILL CONTINUE TO RIPPED OFF. I PRAY THAT YOUR OFFICE CAN BRING JUSTICE TO MY CASE. THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@approvedcomfort.com

I personally called Mr. ******** this morning at 9:45am, and have not received a return call. That alone indicates he is not serious about resolution. I am unsure of this dispute and accusations of fraud. It is borderline slander. Mr. DeGuzman was given a repair option before any work was initiated, and then he signed the service invoice stating "I am 100% SATISFIED with the above description of work performed. The next morning Mr. ******** personally came into the office and stated he thought our service was expensive, my operations manager explained the price he was charged was not only for the part, it was for bringing him the part, installing the part, warrantying the part, the cost of overhead, and more. He then stated he would go onto the internet and start bad reviews, we felt threatened, but after further conversation he said thank you for explaining everything and left. In no document do we say we will install the OEM part, in addition the manufacture changes the brand of parts yearly. The part installed is fully warrantied and guaranteed.
The price he found on the internet does not include shipping, taxes, personal deliver with installation. Let alone a warranty for the part and the labor provided. Nor did it include a complete inspection and refrigerant check of the air conditioning unit. If customers find that they would rather hide behind the internet instead of fully communicating with credibility, I can not help them. Documentation of accusing our company of FRAUD may lead to legal action. I hope that does not a cure if Mr. DeGuzman would like to contact me and apologize, I will see what I can do for him.

additional info from business:
After further review I called ****** to inquire of the OEM replacement part. The manufacture assembled all of their units with either a Mars manufactured capacitor, or GE. Our replacement part was a ***** Now if we call ****** to get that replacement part, the part ID has changed, and it is made by First Choice. A universal replacement from the factory. This part is made overseas, and is not as reliable as the GE or Mars product. If the customer would like for us to install what the manufacture is now providing, we will be glad to do so. It is my strongest opinion that he received a better product than what he would have received.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
i will call Mr. ****** since i wasn't able to received his phone call this morning.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/26/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.