BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2009

Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (815) 298-8020Fax: (815) 987-1821View Additional Phone Numbers122 N 2nd St, RockfordIL 61107-4051 Send email to Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2009

BBB has determined that Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: On X-XX-XX My furnace stopped working. I found that the gas ignitor had stopped functioning, and called Allen Heating and cooling on Monday morning the 20th. They came out at 9:30 the same day and replaced the bad ignitor. The price was $266.

I was not home the following day, but received a call from my roommate the night of the 22nd stating that the heat was not working again. I again called Allen Heating and Cooling to fix the problem. A service tech arrived an hour later. I received a call from the Tech saying a 6.5amp fuse had blow, and needed to be replaced. He replaced the fuse for $90. (Note: there should have been a 15.0amp fuse in the unit)

The following night of the 23rd I arrived home to check everything out, and found that the furnace was again not working. I then checked the furnace and found that when it powered up the blower fan could not spin freely and was overheating. There were no obstructions in the fan, so i preceded to remove the blower motor for inspection. After removing the motor I found Orange plastic rope tied around the drive shaft of the blower. The rope was brand new and had been tied there recently. The surrounding area was oily/dirty so the rope could not have been there more then several days. The rope had been tied to the drive shaft to purposely burn the motor out prematurely. Having no other choice, I removed the rope from the shaft and re-installed the motor. I called Allen Heating and cooling the following day. I spoke to a receptionist, and told her everything that had happened. I was told I would receive a call back from a manager, but was never called.

Unfortunately, the damage had already been done and the motor ran for only a day before finally gave out sometime on the 24th. I had to order a new blower at a price of $220. I am waiting for it to be delivered. It is now the 28th of Jan, and my heat is still out. The temp outside is -15 at night. I have also lost a very expensive fish tank due to the cold. I would like Allen to repay the cost of the two visits and also the cost of the drive motor.

Initial Business Response
It is unfortunate that this customer, has had these problems, with his furnace , but there is no way that any employee of Allen Heating would purposely try to damage a customers furnace, knowing that they would be terminated immediately, and forced to pay for any damages, as per our employee guidelines. I would like to point out some facts about what we did for repairs and what he found. The first repair was for an Ignitor which is in no way related to the blower motor. The second call which was the fuse , could have been caused by the motor overamping, but once the fuse was replaced there was no indictation of another problem. The "rope being tied" around the shaft of the motor, was probably there for longer than the customer realizes, as with it being around the shaft does not realy inpeed the motor turning, unless it was in the wheel itself, which then would have thrown it out of balance, and would have been making the whole furnace shake, when the blower turned on. The only thing I see that the technicians did wrong was not find the "rope" themselves and remove it. I would also like to point out that the furnace is 13 years old, and the motor could have just failed due to age. The customer has also stated that someone else lives in the house and anyone could have had access to the furnace, causing this problem.
In short this customer has no proof of his claims against Allen Heating and we stand by our technicians. The repairs done to the furnace were legitimate, and we will not be refunding any of the customers money.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for the response. I understand and agree with the situation described by Allen Heating, and will accept the refund of the $90.00 for the second visit.

Final Business Response
To repond, I never said the roommate did it, I said " that other people could have had access to the furnace". Now if the "rope" was on the shaft between the wheel housing and the motor, than means that the tech had to take the entire blower housing out,which means taking all the electrical connectiions off, take the wheel off, tie this rope on, put everything back together, all while figuring out what the real problem was with the furnace, and repairing that, all in less than 1 hour 9 min which is the amount of time the tech was on site, which includes doing paperwork, and collecting payment? Again I understand this customers frustration with the situation, but theres no way this could have happened, from what he is discribing. To answer another topic brought up, No, we had no other multiple call backs to any other customer.
Allen Heating was started from nothing to become one of the better know Heating companies in the greater Rockford area by doing the right things for our customers, and our track record with the BBB proves it. The only thiing I am willing to offer is a refund for the second service call of $90.00, and thats only because I feel that my tech didn't spend enough time after replacing the fuse to check the furnace properly. If he had he would have found the problem with the blower motor over amping.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Initial Business Response
Customer was only entitled to one check, the following year, which we did. The copper pipe that was installed, was code in 2007, which changed in 2009,she was informed that if it was required, we would change the piping, which we found out, that because it was installed before the code change, unless a leak was happening, it could stay. The customer has not maintained the equipment, had other people working on the equipment, not informed us of any leaks, or busted pipes, and has owed our company money for past repairs done, from more than 2 years ago. If she wants the piping changed, we would be happy to replace it, although she would be charged for this, and would also have to pay the past due monies owed us, with the interest penalties.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/13/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Heating Contractors, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/07/2008Business started: 09/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2006, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Howe (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Freimuth (VP)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Heating Contractors, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc.

122 N 2nd St

Rockford, IL 61107-4051

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 122 N 2nd St 

    Rockford, IL 61107-4051(815) 298-8020
    (815) 398-1969

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Allen Heating & Cooling, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (815) 398-1969

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (815) 544-4758
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.