Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All Temp Chicagoland Heating

Phone: (773) 481-2000 Fax: (773) 481-2112 View Additional Phone Numbers 4363 W Montrose Ave, Chicago, IL 60641 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.alltemp.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Temp Chicagoland Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Temp Chicagoland Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on All Temp Chicagoland Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business started locally: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated 11/08/1983 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Jacobs, General Manager Ms. Tracy Martin, Secretary Mr. Robbie Mehrholz, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Jacobs, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Radiant Heating Dehumidifying Equipment Thermostats Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Sales & Service Humidifying Apparatus Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All Temp Chicagoland Heating has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4363 W Montrose Ave

    Chicago, IL 60641

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted ALL TEMP Chicagoland heating and air conditioning to service two HVACs and provide an ongoing yearly service for our furnace (comfort club package). Three days prior to their arrival one of the HVAC stopped working. On 7/27/2015 a service agent arrived to service and fix the HVACs (we had notified the company of the change in HVAC status prior to his arrival). The technician inspected the HVACs and supposedly serviced both machines. He told me that they were both working fine and that no repair was needed. Instead he recommended that I should, "close the curtains" to keep things cool. The upper floor remained at around 87F, and I called a different company the next day who identified a broken part and repaired it within an hour. The furnace service with All Temp was to be scheduled for October. I contacted All Temp to let them know of the issue and ask to cancel the comfort club package and provide a refund of the HVAC service on the broken/ non working HVAC. Although they were willing to refund approximately $200 for the furnaces that were not yet scheduled, they have refused to refund me for the HVAC service on the broken machine. I am willing to pay for the cost of a single service on the one working unit (although I have no confidence in their work). I have called their company 5 times, and they kept saying that a supervisor would call me back. It was not until on my third call, that I mentioned that I would be lodging a complaint with the BBB that I finally got a returned call. This person was called John and offered only a partial refund. He also did not follow up with a return phone call after our last conversation as he had promised. I have not received any of my refund at this time. My invoice # is XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $400 dollars charged to me, minus the fee of $89.95 (which is their company cost of a service for a single air conditioning unit). I would receive $310.05 back onto my credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/23) */ We will be refunding this customer $310.05. Also I left you a message please call me direct when you can at XXX-XXX-XXXX Thank You, Rick ******

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All Temp installed a new Bradford White #MI40T6FBN water heater on 11/15/014. I paid $1495 using a Visa card. They cut and installed whole new sections of copper pipe. To connect the old humidifier with the new pipe, All Temp pierced the new pipe and installed a BRAND NEW saddle valve. The saddle valve is not legal in Chicago. It actively leaks and the dripping water causes corrosion to both the pipe and the heater. All Temp should have made the connection with a legal valve. If All Temp did not possess a legal valve at the time, they should have gone out and bought one. If they did not know that the saddle valve is not legal, they're not competent to do this kind of work. When I learned of this mistake and called All Temp to register a complaint, the person I spoke to was abusive and refused to acknowledge any obligation to correct this mistake. This is a clear case of substandard workmanship and failure to honor the warranty.

Desired Settlement: All Temp needs to reimburse me for the $374 that I paid to ***** ******* plumbing today, 12/1/2014, to correct the mistake. ***** ******* removed the saddle valve and gave it to me. It really is brand new! ***** ******* disconnected the humidifier and replaced the saddle valve with a proper 3/4" ball valve. All Temp could have connected the humidifier with a 3/4" x 1/2" tee with a 1/2" x 1/4" compression angle stop. ***** ******* also replaced the worn old cold water gate valve with a modern ball valve. As senior citizens with arthritis, my sister and I would have never been able to turn off a gate valve in an emergency. If All Temp had been competent, they would have, at the very least, advised me that the valves leading to the new hot water heater were old and in need of replacement. This is a second example of All Temp's substandard workmanship.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/05) */ 1/3/15 As per the request of the customer, All Temp has refunded $374.00 back to the Visa card for the services paid to ************* Plumbing.

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service date : 11-4-14 Invoice No.A XXXXXX Technician: ***** Amount: $110.95 Paid with check ***** arrived inspected the boiler and checked for safety issues. He pointed out a few safety issues and made recommendations. He stated nothing is an immediate threat to our safety. He swept debris on the top of boiler unit off and onto the floor. He did not pick up the debris. He did not clean a single part of the interior portion of unit. All other HVAC companies when cleaning took apart the gas burner tubes, remvoed built up debris and cleaned the entire burner area. ***** at All Temp ChicagoLand did not clean a single part of interior bioler. Now we are concerned about misfiring due to clogged or blocked burners and other uncleaned parts. ***** stated our water pump is making excessive noise and should be replaced. Apparently ***** is not aware that 4 drops of oil placed in three oil ports of the motor will lubricate motor's moving parts and ELIMINATE motor noise. Or perhaps ***** really just wanted to sell me a $600 motor? ***** did not oil the motor. If he had he would have discovered that the motor is functioning. I oiled the motor after he left. Issue fixed by us, the homeowner.

Desired Settlement: Jason, Although he was not honest by writing on invoice "boiler has been cleaned" he did inspect the boiler (I am guessing). I crossed off "Cleaned" on work order that I signed. Cleaning did not occur. Business is not entitled to payment for incomplete service. I request 50% refund or about $55.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXXXx205 Contact Email: *******@alltemp.com All Temp refunded this customer 100% of his money and we are going to redo his Clean and Check at no charge. Customer is happy and I spoke with my employee about this matter as well.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All Temp installed air condition unit at my rental condo on July 8th. After the installation air condition did not blow cold air. To our surprise, technical told us that it takes 2 days to get the cold air. But we trusted him and wait for 2 days. After 2 days, we find no cold air blowing. So called All Temp and they came out and changed the coil after 4 days. Air condition still not working. After that they came out to fix the unit at least 3 times but still no cold air. I called All Temp today (July 22nd) and all they told me is they will come check it out as soon as they can. It's been 80+ degrees during last week and 90+ temp for last 3 days. My tenant, who is 60 years old lady can not live like this. We paid more then $3000 to have the new air condition unit installed. But we have not felt the cold air for more then 2 weeks during the hottest days of the season.

Desired Settlement: I like to have All Temp fix the problem as soon as possible and compensate for the credit we will provide to our tenant. We charge $1000 rent per month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/ President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXx205 Contact Email: *******@alltemp.com To whom this may concern, The problem that this customer had is not a problem of All Temp.This customer lives in a condo which has a lineset that goes up a wall through a Neighbors Unit to the roof. This is what was leaking, All Temp has tried to get into the unit but the people that live there were out of town. Today which is 07/24/2014 All Temp replaced this lineset at no charge to this customer. The reality is that this customer should have paid for this repair. But even as RUDE as this customer was we took care of this under owner goodwill. Not even a thank you from this customer....Sometimes I wish they had a BBB against unreasonable... This was a $750.00 repair for free. Cionsider this cased closed.. Any questions please feel free to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX Respectfully, **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me clarify some wrong accusation from All Temp. 1. I was never rude in my at least 10 calls with All Temp. I was told that someone will call me within a day. When no one reached out to me, I called again and again and again but never rude. 2. All Temp technicians told us after 4th visit that line set needs replacement. Tenants on the 3rd floor were on vacation not the owner. If All Temp would have asked me, I would have arranged to have owner present. Just like July 24th. 3. I was going to thank All Temp for fixing the problem but not after the wrong accusation. Tell me if I am wrong here - Air condition was not working with old unit and did not work after installing brand new unit. It is clear that the problem was the line set. So instead of spending $750, I end up spending $3100 because All Temp technician was not able to diagnose the problem correctly in the first place. I have been doing business with All Temp in Palatine office for many years. I have recommended All Temp to many of my friends and relatives. This is the first time I dealt with Chicago office because I thought it was the same company. But seems like there is a lot of difference. My tenant was in the middle and stayed home for accommodating the schedule for All Temp technicians 6 times. I do not want anything from All Temp. But my tenant is asking me for compensation because she had to make other arrangements due to no air condition for 2 weeks, which is $500. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/02) */ *******@alltemp.com <*******@alltemp.com> Tue, Sep 2, 2014 at 2:52 PM To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Good afternoon *****, In response with Case#XXXXXXXX Mr. *****, Here is what All Temp is willing to do under owner goodwill. We will give Mr. ***** 2 years of free service. This will include 2 stop a year, total of 4 over the next 2 years. (2)- Furnace Clean and checks before winter season (2)- A/C Clean and checks before summer season. The full retail value is $440.00 We will start up and perform complete inspection and make sure all is operating in good working order, If customer needs anything we will report with estimate and give customer 15% preferred discount. If not we will give his system clean bill of health and inform him of this. In reference to Mr. *****'s Comment about purchasing a new a/c due to a faulty lineset, That lineset is what had a restriction in it which caused the compressor to starve and burn out. We tried to clean out the lineset when we installed new unit but unfortunaly we had no luck. I want Mr ***** to be a happy All Temp customer so this is my final offer to try and make this right. We were not 100% at fault and neither was he so this is where I will leave this.. Hope this handles the situation. Respectfully, **** ******

7/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/14/14 I purchases a new Bryant heating and air conditioner unit. The heating was installed and the installers could not install the air conditioner unit because of the temperature being too cold at the time. On May 13 someone from Alltemp came out to check and install the air conditioner unit. When **** came out he install the air and said it was ok. At that time the temperature outside was 60 or less so I told him do not leave it on cause it was too cold. I did not attempt to use the air until 06/29/14 and when I turned it on I went to another room and then when I proceeded to the front of the house where the furnace is I heard water so I went into the room and water was pouring out of the condenser so I turned off the unit and called Alltemp and spoke to ***** who I explained to her what was going on and she told me that I had to call back the next day so I did. I called on 06/30/14 and explained what was going on with the unit. **** came out and said that I needed tubing. He did not do it that day but came back the next several days. He came back on 07/03/14 and installed tubing and stated that he would have to come back cause now i need a bigger condenser. On 07/07/14 **** came out and attempt to turn the air on and the same thing happen water came pouring out. He stated that someone else had to come to go on the roof cause the drain may be stopped up and I told him that **** went on the roof to check that and said all was good. **** did not have a ladder so another service person came out last night around 8:00 pm and said that I need a bigger condenser. When he left he said that he was going to order one and someone will be here to put it in. I received a call from ****** who stated that he was the service manager and he could not do anything for me until he talk to the owner cause this is a expensive unit and he can not do anything without permission. All I want is my air working or my money back. This issue has been going on too long. I want action ASAP. HELP Product_Or_Service: Heating and AIr Conditioning Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my air conditioner unit to be working or a refund of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXx205 Contact Email: *******@alltemp.com We fixed her problem at no charge. She had an existing problem that wasn't our fault,but we fixed this under owner goodwill. Any questions please contact me direct at XXX-XXX-XXXXx205

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on All Temp Chicagoland Heating
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart