This business is not BBB accredited.

AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (630) 725-9000 View Additional Phone Numbers 5241 Thatcher Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aaaexpert.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 2003 Business started: 03/01/1985 Business started locally: 03/01/1985
Business Management
Mr. Joe Kasallis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Kasallis, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
AAA Expert Heating & AC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5241 Thatcher Rd

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a complete heating and air unit from AAA on 9/30/06, contract #XXXXX for $7014.00 . The contract includes a warranty on parts and labor for 10 years. I have had AAA out to my home a number of times for service and maintenance including on 12/12/12 when I first complained that our fan was not blowing air correctly (service order XXXXX). On 5/18/15 I called the company for service as my fan/blower stopped working completely. The repair tech came out that day and told me the blower needs to be replaced at a cost of over $1,000. When I asked if that was covered by the warranty, he told me my warranty was void because I have not called AAA annually for service repair. He claimed that was specified in the fine print on my contract. I went to retrieve my contract and questioned him further. The tech then told me in a loud and obnoxious tone to "stop being snotty" and if I was going to be snotty "he would pick up his tools and leave". I do have a witness to this exchange as I had another unrelated repair person working in my basement at the time. My contract does not specify that I must have annual maintenance through AAA and I asked the tech to show me where the contract it states that. He could not find it. At that point I told him he was rude and unprofessional and I asked him to leave my home. (I later found his dried blood smear on my floor, as he neglected to clean up from some sort of injury while he was working on the furnace.) The next day, 5/19 *** ********* the man who sold me the unit came to my house with AAA's copy of the contract. Apparently they attempted to add terms to the contract that specify all service must be done annually by AAA for warranty to be valid, but those terms do not appear on my copy and they are completely illegible on their copy. *** told me someone would follow up with my the next day, 5/20, but no one did. I called the office on Thursday AM and again Thursday afternoon. Finally we spoke to *** again late on Thursday 5/21. He did admit the fact that he did try to add additional terms to the contract but something was wrong with the typewriter and that is why we can not read it. We have been going back and forth with this company over the terms of the warranty. My contract does not state that I must have annual maintenance from AAA, thus their failure to honor the terms of the contract and repair my unit under warranty is a breach of contract and I believe their actions are fraudulent. I asked AAA to send me a letter stating that they will not honor my warranty and why and they refused to do so. In addition, on the AAA website as well as their contracts, they claim to be BBB accredited which appears to be a false claim. It is another example of the fraudulent and misleading behavior of this company.

Desired Settlement: I asked the company to repair my unit. Since they will not, I am forced to find an outside company to make the repair so I am seeking 100% reimbursement forparts, labor, my time and remaining portion of the warranty they will not honor.

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they installed a furnace, Lennox el195, three years ago. the exhaust vent was not installed according to the manufactureer standard. as a result, the furnace is not functional properly. It shuts down when it is very cold outside. They refuse to correct the problem and insisted that was pre-existing pipe.

Desired Settlement: refund partial installation fee and service call fee

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@expertheatingcooling.net Customer purchased Lennox furnace 12/05/2010. 12/12/13 was the only time the customer contacted AAA regarding ANY issues with the performance of the Furnace. Customer phoned AAA 12/12/13 for service and was explained $89.95 diagnostic fee. Service Technician was dispatched to the customers home 12/12/13 for thorough diagnostic of every component of the Furnace only to find the unit to be operating properly. After five phone calls, a check for payment of $89.95 was finally mailed to AAA. 12/24/2013 and 01/10/2014 Service Manager at AAA spoke with customer and explained to him - in the presence of other office staff - any roofing inspection would have to be done after the snow melts. Upon snow melting customer is to phone AAA and set an appointment for a technician to inspect the roof. During these TWO phone conversations, it was also clearly explained to the customer that any roofing issues were not part of the 2010 furnace installation - as 12/05/2010 contract clearly reflects. 01/09/2013 I, myself, spoke with customer when he phoned the office and during course of the conversation questioned the customer three times "since installation have you ever had issues with the performance of the furnace AAA installed in 2010?" and all THREE times he answered, " NO, no problems"! Please see attachment of 11/22/2011 routine maintenance ticket that indicates several issues with 2nd furnace in customer's home as well as leaks in roof. Please note customer's signature under "Customer declined all repairs". Complaints like this are the reason AAA has declined recent membership with BBB: Customers solely seeking free services and refunds for services performed. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I found the response from the company is irresponsible. Please note that my complaint did not intend to get refund. Merely it is for the purpose of letting people know about my own suffering from this poor installation and poor costume services they provided. Please do not use refund as an excuse of not providing satisfying service to your customers. Please look for your own reasons why you get so many complaints from your dear customers and take care of them. I also want to request you contract to be shown that the vent pipe installation is "clearly" stated not part of furnace installations. I have not found such statement in the contract. I am glad that they offered me to inspect roof. I would be happy to see they can do that someday. As a fact, I called a few times to request s they come back to inspect the furnace. That has not happened. Finally the repairs I declined was on the other furnace, not on the furnace they installed. Business Response /* (1001, 18, 2014/02/11) */ AAA Expert attempted to resolve this issue with the customer in our 1st response - "UPON SNOW MELTING CUSTOMER IS TO PHONE AAA TO SET AN APPOINTMENT FOR A TECHNICIAN TO INSPECT THE ROOF" Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2014/02/21) */ i called the company several times recently and had no response from them. the pipes are on the roof and can be viewed from outside. this was how the other company did. there is no need to go on to the roof to just inspect them. This had been communicated to your company at least 2 times. Please correct your mistake and stop making excuses. Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2014/02/21) */ Mr. **** you called the company ONCE last Friday the 14th at 2:17 p.m.and were told the person you asked for is out of town and will be back on Monday the 24th. And just now we're getting the information that the "other" company never even inspected your roof. If that's how the "other" company made their diagnosis that's absolutely inadequate and you've based your complaints on that? Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2014/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I based my complaint on the fact that my furnace broke down in the middle of nights multiple times in the cold winter and your company has not done much to help. If you do not believe their diagnosis. Please come up with yours. My house is still open to your man. I have already paid you for the diagnosis and you failed to diagnose. Please take care your dear customer. Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/02/24) */ Please refer to your earlier allegations. See attached service ticket. We are done with you Mr. **** please find another company to harass. Shame on the BBB to keep putting this complaint through without checking in the file with previous claims made by this customer. Consumer Response /* (4200, 30, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) having experienced so many nights without heating in my bedrooms in this winter, i am not letting this go yet. I will see you in court.

1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 21, 2011, a technician performed a routine furnace cleaning and installed furnace filter X6672, which was the incorrect model and size. On November 27, 2012, a technician performed another routine furnace cleaning and recommended an annual replacement of a furnace filter. The technician should have recognized the incorrect filter was installed the previous year during the routine service call; however, did not mention anything. On December 28, 2012, I purchased the correct furnace filter X8789, which I installed upon receipt. At that time, I realized the technician installed incorrect filter X6672 previously. The incorrect filter has two small strips of foam rubber affixed to the filter in an apparent attempt to make an incorrect filter fit close enough to deceive the customer. Installing the wrong size furnace filter obviously defeats its purpose. Shortly after realizing the issue, I left two messages for the owner, *** ********, to return my calls; however no callbacks were received. On November 1, 2013, I called the Mr. ********, in an attempt to resolve the matter when scheduling another routine furnace cleaning. Unfortunately, the Mr. ******** appeared more concerned with the fact that I was seeking a resolution about a filter installed two years ago, rather than the fact the technician intentionally installed the incorrect filter in 2011, or the failure to notice or report the incorrect filter during the routine cleaning in 2012. As stated earlier, I left detailed messages for the Mr. ******** to return my call shortly after realizing the issue. The filters are replaced annually; therefore, there would have been no reason to contact the company during the first year since I trusted the competency of the technicians and integrity of the business. There was no urgency that necessitated continued calls after not receiving return calls since I installed the correct filter and believed the issue would be resolved when scheduling another routing furnace cleaning. I kept the incorrect filter if needed. I purchased a complete heating, air conditioning, and air filtering system from the company that cost $9,150. I have used the company exclusively for service and maintenance.

Desired Settlement: As stated, in November 2011, I hired the company to perform routine service to my furnace which included replacement of the proper air filter to ensure the longevity of the furnace and maintain a high level of air quality in my home. However, the technician installed a filter that did not properly fit and used foam rubber material in a clear attempt to deceive me. I paid for a correclty sized filter that I never received. The incorrect filter that was installed has led to dust and dirt to enter the furnace and ventilation ducts. Therefore, I believe a complimentary furnace filter and ventilation cleaning would be a fair resolution to this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart