BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A Professional Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (708) 479-6633Fax: (708) 479-5147

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/05/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 9/20/13 they AP was to remove radiators on 1st floor & install forced air heat & central air on 1st floor & attic. The heat doesn't circulate properly on the first floor. (I can't speak for the attic I'm trying to have that finished right now.) Some rooms are colder than others.

As for the basement they were to install baseboards to existing furnace but thermostat doesn't move. For example, if you put it on 80 degrees & temps outside drop the temps inside drop. It doesn't maintain a comfortable level of heat downstairs.

This was a 3-4 day project. We are 10 days away from 3 months and I'm totally dissatisfied with my new heating system. If you tell *** the owner he takes weeks at a time to come check things out. Two weeks ago today I spoke to ** an employee the thermostat/heater in the basement doesn't work right. He sent his electrician out last Tues 12/3/13 it was 56 degrees out and of course the basement was comfortable. But today it is 18 degrees & you can feel the cool air seeping in. I tried to explain this to *** but he said ******* said it was 72 degrees last week. I said yes, if it's warm out it'll be warm inside.

I called *** twice last week because ******* said *** would call me to let me know when they would come out and install the baseboards needed. *** did not call. *** did not return my calls. I emailed him yesterday. We have been emailing 12/9/13 and today 12/10/13. After 2 days of emailing he tells me he wants $585 to install the baseboards. Why would I pay an additional fee when I just paid you $10k for a system that doesn't work. At the end of the conversation he says to let him know what I need. I'm not sure if *** is a candidate for Alzheimer's but with a comment like that and the run around he gives his customers each and every time I need to have an issue addressed, it would certainly make you think so. So, the start date was 9/20/13. *** had his sales rep pick up a $3,300 check for down payment about a week and a 1/2 before start date. He never applied for the permit. We had to wait an additional week to get started after I took off 3 days of work. Then his subcontractors are moonlighting while they're supposed to be working on my project they go to another job site. Nice. Then he doesn't pass *** inspection, we had 4, he failed 2. Finally 6 weeks later he passes. *** has really put me out on a limb here and continues to be incommunicable and difficult to deal with. He doesn't want to do the work so he won't appears to be his attitude. I requested he let me know when he would have his men come out and rectify the situation and now he is looking for another handout. I need help. Can you help me with this? Thank you, *********

Desired Settlement
All I want is for *** to fix the heaters in the house. I want the heater in the basement to work. If I put it on 72 degrees then it should reach 72 degrees. I want the heater on the first floor to work. Just fix it and make it work. He was paid $10k for this job and I want it to be worth it.

Business Response
WE NEVER FAILED AN INSPECTION THERE WERE TWO ROUGH IN INSPECTIONS AND TWO FINAL INSPECTIONS WHICH WERE PASSED.
WE COMPLETED THE JOB 100% AND IF THERE IS A PROBLEM WE ARE HAPPY TO TAKE CARE OF IT UNDER THE WARRANTY.
MRS RUGGERELLO IS REQUESTING ADDITTIONAL WORK AND THERE IS AN ADDITTIONAL CHARGE FOR ANY ADDITTIONAL WORK.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have 4 pink slips proving you failed. The first inspection took place. You retook it then passed. You failed the third inspection. Retook it, then passed. Each time allowing weeks to go buy when you knew I had to had my attic finished so I wouldn't lose the money invested in you non-functional heating system. The system A Professional installed never worked the first time.

If you buy something & it doesn't work then you return it to the store for one that does or you get a refund. Logical. I have been complaining to ***, ******, *** ***** and again to *** (which goes nowhere with ***, he enjoys spending his and everyone else's time arguing instead of addressing the problem.

Also, my general contractor's heating professional informed me ***'s men installed 3/4" copper pipes to hook up to the existing furnace, when it required 1" or 1 1/4" copper pipes so the air could flow through there and provide proper heating throughout the basement. Imagine how I felt when I heard that after spending $10k. Just fix it. Make it work.
--------------------------------------------------
FW: A Professional Contract signed 9/11/13
1 message
********* ********** <***********@clausen.com>Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 2:19 PM
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
Can you also make sure the paragraphs quoted below appear as well?
Thank you Ms. *******
*********



Per your contract, it reads as follows:

"If your heat exchange fails during warranty, we will replace your entire furnace - not only the heat exchanger. You will receive a new furnace at no cost - Installation included.

100% Satisfaction Guarantee: If you are not satisfied with your new furnace or air conditioner, A Professional will refund the total purchase price.*"

Honor your contract ***.
--------------------------------------------------
From: ***** ****** <*******@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 4:24 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94480838 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********@bureaudata.com>


Dear,
Thanks for your quick response and advice.
I wanted to lewt you know matter has been resolved successfully with ******** .
Mr *** VP of ***** called us personally and told us they will honor the contract.
Thanks agfain for your help
--------------------------------------------------
FW: BBB Complaint Case# 94480101 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)
3 messages
********* ********** <***********@clausen.com>Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 2:33 PM
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>





From: ********* **********
Sent: Wednesday, December 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org
Subject: FW: BBB Complaint Case# 94480101 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)



Good afternoon, Ms. Mendez,



*** ******* of A Professional has not made any good faith effort to contact me in scheduling an appointment to have one of his laborers to come out and fix the basement heater and/or check out the heating system on the first floor as the heat does not circulate properly.



We have emailed back and forth and *** *******'s best defense is that "It's not cold down there..."



Where do we go from here, please advise.



Thank you,

********* **********

(w) XXX-XXX-XXXX







From: Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)
Sent: Wednesday, December 11, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: ********* **********
Subject: BBB Complaint Case# 94480101 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)



Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX
Business Name: A Professional Heating & Cooling, Inc.

The BBB has received a response from the business in the above referenced complaint case. Please review their response to your original complaint and advise us of your position in the matter. The response may have already been mailed to you by the company. The details of the complaint (including the business' response) can be accessed by clicking here. Please be sure to indicate whether the company's response is satisfactory or not within ten (10) days.

If you are not satisfied with the company's response and wish to provide additional information relevant to your complaint (such as a copy of your contract, invoice, receipt, work order, warranty, etc.) please submit it with your rebuttal by the aforementioned date. If the Bureau does not receive a response from you within ten (10) days, your complaint will close as Assumed Resolved.

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is a general e-mail address, please use the ONLINE COMPLAINT system. If the above link does not work for you, please copy and paste this URL into your browser:
http://www.chicago.bbb.org/complaint/view/XXXXXXXX/c/k2doin

Sincerely,

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home/Transportation Services
*******@chicago.bbb.org


********* ********** <***********@clausen.com>Mon, Dec 23, 2013 at 10:22 AM
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>

Ms. Mendez,



Please advise if there is any affirmative action that we can take at this time.



Thank you,

*********



From: ********* **********
Sent: Thursday, December 19, XXXX X:XX PM
--------------------------------------------------

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 1, 2014 I contacted A Professional Heating and Cooling Inc., to come out and inspect my furnace. My furnace would ignite and stay on for a short period of time but not reach the requested temperature on the furnace. I contacted A Professional Heating and Cooling because it appeared they had installed the furnace in the home before I bought it in 2009. I recently purchased the home in March of 2014. When I called the listed number the answering service took all of my information and a technician contacted me right away and stated he could be out to the house within an hour. I thought that was awesome. When the technician arrived earlier than advised so I was not home I was at Home Depot but my contractor was there (I am remodeling the home), and let the technician to begin looking at the furnace. When my husband and I did arrive I entered the home first and the technician was standing in the kitchen awaiting our arrival. I entered and introduced myself and realized that apparently he was finished with diagnosing the furnace issue. I inquired what seemed to be the problem and he immediately began stating that I had major problems with the furnace. He stated that the board was gone out of the furnace and that it would be $700 to fix this issue. At this time my husband entered the home and was introduced to the technician. He began rambling with his conversation saying that we needed to take care of this right away because it could cause chimney issues which we knew that wasn't true because we just had the chimney tuck pointed. We also knew it was not the board because a furnace would not even ignite if the board was not working. He stated that he sees we are remodeling the home and to have the furnace cleaned after the hardwood floors were finished. He also asked if we had just had the gas turned on to the house and I replied yes, (the gas was tuned on October 13, 2014). At this point we were not trusting this individual with what he diagnosed but he did come out so we decided to pay the diagnostic fee and let him leave. My husband walked outside with him and he was continuing rambling in his conversation about the furnace like he was really trying to convince my husband to give him the job. My husband advised him that he knew of a store where he could price the board and that is when the technician begin to back pedal. He told my husband, "I'm not sure but the board probably only cost $100 but the remaining fee would be for labor. He also tried to do a side deal with my husband. The technician finally departed and my husband and I immediately went to the basement to look at the furnace and noticed that the technician did not put the cover back on the furnace. We also noticed that now the furnace would not even ignite anymore. I contacted him immediately and advised him of this issue and he began giving me some crazy story that the furnace would not come on so it does not over heat and it has probably gone out. I then passed *** phone to my husband who tried to explain again to him that something he did when diagnosing the problem with furnace would now not allow the furnace to ignite. He got an attitude with my husband and told him he was helping him out. As my husband looked at the furnace he noticed that a wire had been pulled out and pushed up in the furnace in attempts to hide it. My husband reconnected the wire and the furnace began to ignite again.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the Better Business Bureau to place this complaint on its website so that people are aware of this companies SCAM Tactics. I would also like to see this company investigated also and fined for deceptive practices.

10/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A Professional makes a BBB claim on their website but the company is listed as revoked on the BBB website. When I called to verify with the A Professional they told me that they were Better Business Bureau accredited and not aware of any revoked status.

Desired Settlement
Removal of the BBB accredited symbol from their website. http://www.aprofessionalheating.com/

12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Boilers - New & Used, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Water Heaters - Dealers, Sheet Metal Work, Generators - Electric, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Piping Contractors, Heating Contractors, Chimney Builders & Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.