Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

24 Heating & Cooling

Phone: (708) 229-2293 Fax: (708) 229-2292 View Additional Phone Numbers 9008 S. Oketo Ave., Bridgeview, IL 60455

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 24 Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 24 Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 05/01/2000 in IL Business started locally: 05/01/2000 Business incorporated 03/18/2005 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Bonnie Jarek, Owner Mr. Jerry Jarek, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bonnie Jarek, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Additional Locations

  • 9008 S. Oketo Ave.

    Bridgeview, IL 60455


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company to repair AC in my house. Some guy came, gave me poor service and poor explanation of what is he doing and charged gas to my AC but didnt want to put scale on even surface so the weight of charged gas is not accurate. Then he asked for $192 and left big oil spill in my driveway. I called owner/boss of the company. I explained what happened during my service. He refused to come and clean oil spill. I paid with credit card. I opened dispute regarding this service/transaction. After 2 months credit card closed dispute because this merchant didnt give sufficient explanation. Today merchant called me and threatened that i have to pay or he will send bill to collection agency. I live in a house managed by association. I was told that oil spills are not acceptable. I had a choice to clean spill and reseal driveway or vendor will be sent and i will pay for bill. I chose to do it by myself. I paid $300 to clean driveway and reseal surface.

Desired Settlement: Cancell bill and pay for driveway repair

Business Response:

Customer called to repair non working A/C UNIT. Technician, Dave came in, assessed the unit, explained the problem to the customer.  Customers’ complain was, that there isn’t enough air flow. Once tech open the Coil, he figured out it was frozen. Technician explained the customer, that coil got frozen because of the low amount of Freon. Customer asked the technician if he can locate the leak. Technician gave him a quote to pressurize the system with nitrogen and locate the leak. Technician also explained to the customer, that if the leak is located in lines he could fix it, however if the leak is located in coil or condenser it’s going to cost him a lot of money because it’s an old unit/which run on discontinued Freon R-22.  He asked the technician for quote for new unit. Technician provided the customer with a quote for new unit. Customer decided to charge the unit with Freon. Technician used the scale and charged 1.5 lb Freon R-22. System was working properly after he finished the service. Customer called the office and paid for service $ 192.00 with the credit card

After two days customer called our office that he located oil split on his driveway, and he assumed it came from our truck. The oil split was located on driveway, at the end (spot between driveway and street). Our truck, which did service the house 2 day before it occurred, was parked right before garage of the house (we cannot park at the end of the driveway because we might get ticket for such a parking). Also, my technician did 7 other services that day and no other problems were noted from other customers.  

Consumer Response: Tell us why here..The service I received was poor and unproffesional. I chose this company out of hundreds because it is a polish company, advertised every day on my radio in polish. When i called for scheduling appointnent the office lady also talked to me in polish. When service guy came he wasnt polish and could spoke with european bad accent. I wasnt satisfied but i needed my AC to work so I let him work. Then he insulted me because he had his underwear on top of his pants all the time and was playing on Facebook instead of repairing my AC and explaining my problem. I was close to refuse this service but i have 2 small babies at home and they cant sleep without AC in summer. So I let him stay. Then he spent 1min to onspect my AC and furnace and simply said that I have a leak and he will charge my AC with gas. I said NO. First I want youto find leak and repair the problem. He laughed and said that there is no parts. I felt like this guy is trying to make me an idiot. He barely looked into my equipment and it cant be caltan professional inspection. He doesnt want to fix anything , just to quick charge gas which will leak away maybe the next day out and he is laughing at me without checking online for parts. So I went to Amazon and I searched for AC coil as first part. No problem. Part is listed for $600. This decided forced me to believe that there are no parts and after charging very expencive gas i have to replace whole AC and furnace for $4500-6000. I started to think that he just want to make money on me. I asked him to repair my AC not to replace it. He refused. He said he can only charge gas and he added it can go away again within 1 day or a month. It is a lottery. . I was frustrated that im receiving this service. He took scale and he couldnt place on even surface so he left on angle on my lawn. Scale didnt show 0. He measured weight of gas anyway. I just closed my eyes and started talking to myself that this is not happening. Then he told me it will take a while so I can go and that i should be preapared for 5lbs so high price. I stayed and scale went little over 1lb. I thought he wanted ne to pay for 5lbs without seeing. When i stayed he waited for 1.5lb and said "oh you are lucking. Only 1.5lb" . He let me pay with credit card on the phone and left my home. After that my wife took kids to park and have seen oil spill on was the same day few minutes after he left. I called this company right away. The same day the same minute my wife told me. The owner refused everything and said he will not clean my driveway. I told him that this service guy had no manners, was acting unproffesional, whole service was a joke and that it looks like they dont want to fix equipment because there is no money in it. They just want to quick charge super expensive gas that will leak anyway and force customers to believe that only new ac and furnace is needed. I didnt ask for that kind of service.  On top of it i had to spend $300 on all tools to clean, prime and reseal driveway. I have receipt from Home Depot. I didnt want to wait for ticket from my village for having oil spill and bill from home owner association for resealing. Im asking for cancelling my bill for AC repair and pay for driveway repair.

Business Response:

I will try to answer all of your concerns #

1)     Thank you for choosing polish company, and yes we do hire non-polish employees since we are in United States. The technician who was at your house is born and raised in States and I didn’t know you had language barrier, I would be more than happy to translate all your questions and concerns you had. When we have older polish customer we always ask if they need help with translation, if there is someone that sounds young we assume they are able to communicate.

2)     I do apologies my technicians’ type of clothing assault you. (Personal advice, don’t ever judge people after their clothing). During summer all technicians has business logo t-shirts, jeans, and heavy contractors shoes.  They look always clean and professional to me when they leave the shop.

3)     We never proceed with service unless we have OK from customer. There is no need; we are in a market for 17 years with high customer satisfaction rate. Technician proceed since owner wanted to add Freon (please see previous email, all steps my tech he took before he add Freon).

4)     We never use Amazon for professional / business purchases. American Standard brand stands for highest quality equipment. To become an American Standard dealer company needs at least 5 years of experience in HVAC, have all licenses, good standing account with other stores. There are several other requirements. To purchase American Standard product you HAVE TO BE Approved Dealer). We always encourage customer to get 2-3 professional estimates (To install A/C , ANY BRAND OF A/C equipment you need professional license. No stores in State of Illinois are allowed to sell customer a/c without showing them a professional license. Who is going to install A/C since whoever is going to be installing A/C IN STATE OF Illinois needs to hold professional licensed ).

5)     After the service was completed, and the system was working properly, owner of the house called office; he was happy with service and paid with CC over the phone.

6)     I was the one, who spoke to the customer for the first time; customer didn’t mention anything about unprofessional service. Customer gave me his credit card over the phone. I asked you how was his service and at that time you were satisfied with our service.

7)     The phone about the split wasn’t the same day; it was either the next day or 2 days after our service.


*****We will cancel you service charge, please drop off complain. Also, please drop complain on **** – this is not necessary (it’s not showing on our profile, since you customer is not active on ****, however I don’t appreciate such as untruth comments). 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 24 Heating & Cooling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)