BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MDHearingAid meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MDHearingAid include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on MDHearingAid
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2010 Business started: 09/18/2008 Business started locally: 09/18/2008 Business incorporated 09/18/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Sreekant Cherukuri, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Sreekant Cherukuri, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices Audiologists All Other Health and Personal Care Stores (NAICS: 446199)

Alternate Business Names

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

MDHearingAid has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 917 W Washington Blvd Ste 202

    Chicago, IL 60607 (800) 873-0680 (888) 670-4327

  • 917W W Washington Blvd STE 202

    Chicago, IL 60607


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently sent in 2 malfunctioning hearing aids but only 1 was returned. The accompanying documentation stated that 2 hearing aids were sent. This is simply not true. The brand of the hearing aids was MDHearingAid Air.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to send my other hearing aid to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **************** MD Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ** Thank you for the opportunity to respond. This customer initially ordered in November 2014 and initialy wanted to file a return claim after the 45 day return period. At another time, he stated that the hearing aids did not work and was not interested in troubleshooting with our Senior Audiologist. We then offered FREE replacement of both hearing aids under the warranty. He did send two aids in for service, but they were not sent in together. This was verified by 2 separate managers to confirm that only 1 aid was sent in at a time. 3/16/2015 Air Serial MXXXXXXXX 4/13/2015 Air Serial MXXXXXXXX Both serial numbers match aids sent w/ original order : SCIND-XXXXXXXXX Order Date: 03 NOV 2014 14:35:14 Aid MXXXXXXXX was replaced w/ order SCIND-XXXXXXXXX, shipped on 3/16/2015. Aid MXXXXXXXX was replaced w/ order SCIND-XXXXXXXXX, shipped on 4/20/2015. Both new Hearing Aids have been delivered to his address.

2/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband purchased these hearing aids the end of May. They never seemed to fit correctly, always falling out of his ears. We would both spend hours trying for a better fit. Called the company numerous times and they would always suggest different methods to try, NONE of their ideas ever worked. Now that we are thoroughly disgusted with this inferior product the 45 days has run out so we are left with this product and are out the money. I FIRMLY believe that all that nice conversation from the company encouraging us to keep trying to make the hearing aids work is a ploy to make sure our 45 days warranty would expire and hence they are not obligated to do any refund.I will continue to explore the internet for more pages where I can express my dissatisfaction so others are forewarned. Product_Or_Service: MD hearing aid Order_Number: ??? Account_Number: don't know

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would be happy to return product for an amicable refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/30) */ Contact Name and Title****************** md Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email:******************** Thank you for the opportunity to respond. This customer received excellent customer service and only requested a return/refund at 85 days after the sale, 40 days after the return period ended. We honor all return requests within 45 days of the sale. Here is the timeline: 5/29/14- Placed order for 2 aids over phone 6/30/14- Called to state he is having Trouble w/ the Aids Apparently he was pushing domes in to far and the aids were falling off. Was given fitting tips. He is pushing domes into ears- advised on fit- he will try again- aids keep coming off. There is no other contact by phone or email between the order date and date of this call. 8/1/14- Incoming call record for repair service. Could not get one aid to work for him with either the thin tubing or traditional. Was given Repair RMA and issued a FREE warranty replacement aid same day. We received the returned PRO aid (serial # recd mXXXXXXXX) on 8/11. Aid had No Gain. Did not show any signs of physical trauma. Fulfilled our warranty obligation. There is no call record or email case between 5/29/14- 8/1/14 giving any indication that Mr. ******** requested Return for a refund. 8/22/14- Incoming call for a Return "They are uncomfortable to wear. Caller stated that he would like to return the hearing aids because they are uncomfortable to wear. I informed him that he is past the 45 day trial period and a refund is not guaranteed." We called customer back o 8/22/14. Customer having similar fitting issues as on 6/30/14, Return request made 85 days from purchase. There are no records of customer attempting to contact us by phone or email after 8/22/14.

12/30/2014 Delivery Issues
9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: d. They have a 45 day return policy but you have to keep it a min of 21 days. So I assumed 45 days after the mandatory 21 days , . It was not what I expected and would have returned day one, but they would not allow with out re stocking fee. Bought on 3/10 took time to ship showed up around 7 days later requested return on May 23. They now say out side the 45 day retur policy ...So I guess with their confusing return gimick you really only have a narrow window of 23 days for a "Real " return

Desired Settlement: I want a refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/11) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond. Our hearing aids come with a very generous 45 day return policy. This customer requested a return at 72 days, which is beyond the time frame a return is accepted. 3/10/14 - Caller ordered 1 PRO hearing aid, next day delivery. UPS tracking shows delivery on 3/11/14 at 339pm. So customer is incorrect in his complaint that it took 7 days to get there. There was no customer contact between 3/11/14 and 5/23/14 (72 days). 5/23/2014- Customer sent email: "I wish to return this hearing aid . How do I go about the process." 5/23/14- Replied to customer that he was well beyond the 45 day return period, which is clearly posted on our website, user manual, and receipt addendum accompanying the product. We offered product support and consultation with our audiologist to help customer get the best possible result from our hearing aids. Customer declined. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/06/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They will not allow you to return within the first 3 weeks with out a restocking fee. They do not out line that when you purchase I assumed I have 45 day after receipt, and the 3 week period that you cannot return with out restocking fee Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/06/19) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond. We still do not clearly understand the complaint. It is unfortunate that the customer misunderstood our generous return policy. Even if the customer did interpret the return policy incorrectly, they contacted us even beyond the time frame that their incorrect interpretation would suggest (21 days plus 45 days = 66 days. Return was requested at 72 days after purchase). Thank you.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered Dec 16 ...received within a week...called to report too big for my ears...sent smaller buds + too big...charged 64.75 which they claim had no record...because they offered me more time to try record he said + was too long for refund.... I think they take advantage of older folks... this was written by my daughter ******************.but are my feelings

Desired Settlement: $329

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *************** Contact Phone: ********** Thank you for the opportunity to respond. Our products come with a very generous 45 day return period. Customer ordered on Dec 15, 2013. He called to return on Feb 7th (52 days after ordering). We are very happy to provide additional product support but customer is not eligible for a return due to being beyond the return period. The other statement is incorrect - we do have a record of the order for smaller earbuds, but even those were shipped and received with over 2 weeks left in the return period and customer did not contact us in that time frame. Please have customer contact us for additional product support so that we can help them get the best possible result.

2/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order #SCIND-XXXXXXXXX I emailed twice from ******* - no response. I left a message on their ******** which they deleted and then banned me from commenting. The tubing broke after 2 o 3 days. I ordered on Oct 15th but did not open until the end of December as I didnt need the tubes yet. It was too late to file a claim with my credit card company. I sent 2 emails of which I can provide proof - one Dec 29th, and one Jan 6th. I left the ******** message which they deleted around Jan 3rd. I can provide pictures of the damage on BOTH tubes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ** Customer ordered on october 15, 2013. We have no record of any email from ******* on either dates she states that she sent so we cannot comment on the reason those emails never reached us. Please have customer re-send pictures of the broken tubing AND have her forward us the emails dated 12/29/13 and 1/6/14 and we would be happy to look further in to the situation. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 10, 2014/02/14) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Despite the fact the owner did not follow up with the BBB complaint, after I sent a last ditch email to the company threatening to contact the FTC, a very nice gentleman named **** called me and resolved the issue.

2/12/2014 Delivery Issues
11/8/2013 Delivery Issues
9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was ordered Aug 14, Paid for by mastercard online, have not received product yet and unable to contact anyone by phone, have emailed MD hearing and no reply. #Order ID : SCIND-XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Would like my money returned if product is not available

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, JMD Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** Thank you for the opportunity to respond. We have not received any correspondence from this customer via email or phone. The Shipment tracking information is below. The item was delivered but no one was available to receive the product and it is at the local post office currently. Please have customer email us at ******* or call us at XXX-XXX.**** for any additional support. Thank you. 2013/08/30 10:46 KAMLOOPS Attempted delivery. Notice card left indicating where item can be picked up. 2013/08/29 03:39 RICHMOND Item processed at postal facility 2013/08/23 12:52 MISSISSAUGA Item processed at postal facility 2013/08/22 13:56 MISSISSAUGA International item released from Customs for processing by Canada Post 08:20 MISSISSAUGA Item has arrived in Canada and was sent for further processing. 2013/08/21 02:18 USORDA,USA International item has left originating country and is en route to Canada 02:04 USORDA,USA International item processed in originating country 2013/08/19 17:25 XXXXX,USA International item mailed in originating country

12/18/2012 Delivery Issues