BBB Accredited Business since

Lloyd Hearing Aid Corp.

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 964-4191 Fax: (815) 964-8378 4435 Manchester Drive, Rockford, IL 61109

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lloyd Hearing Aid Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lloyd Hearing Aid Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lloyd Hearing Aid Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1971 Business started: 09/01/1967 Business started locally: 09/01/1967 Business incorporated 08/17/1967 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Andrew Palmquist, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Palmquist, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices All Other Health and Personal Care Stores (NAICS: 446199)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lloyd Hearing Aid Corp. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    128 Kishwaukee St

    Rockford, IL 61104


    4435 Manchester Drive

    Rockford, IL 61109


    PO Box 1645

    Rockford, IL 61110


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2014 I ordered a pair of hearing aids from Llyod hearing Aid Corp. I sent the payment in full approx. $ 2400.00 and received them later in November. I used them as instructed for approx. 35 days to see if they were a help to my hearing and made my life better. I decided they did not live up to my expectations and were troublesome to adjust, squeeled , and we're not comfortable so I wanted to send them back for a refund. Llyods Corp. offers a written No Questions Asked 45 day trial period.I called them and received my return number and shipped them back on 01/05/2015 Llyods received them on 01/07/2015. I called on 01/20/2015 and talked to a women named ******* about the status of my refund. She told me it was being processed and that it normally takes several weeks. I called the second time on 02/09/ 2015 and again spoke to ******* who transferred me to a Vickey for the status of my refund and she told me I needed to speak to the company's President a Mr.***************. After speaking to*************** he assured me he would see that the refund was processed. I called a third time on 02/18/2015 and again spoke to ******* who again transferred me to*************** who was unavailable at that time but was to call me back ASAP .*************** called me back and I told him that the last time we spoke on 02/XX XXXX he was to get my refund processed and I had still not received it. He said it is in the hopper, I told him sternly that I was tired of waiting, hearing excuses, I did everything I was suppose to do before returning them and I wanted my refund. He again told me he would see that it was sent out. As of today's mail 02/23/2015 I still have not received my refund. Llyods has not lived up to thier written Warranty and sent out he my refund in a timely manner and done nothing but beat around the bush when I have called for the status of the refund. **************** 02/23/2015 Product_Or_Service: Reston Hearing Aids ( 2 ) Order_Number: XXXX-XXX Account_Number: M-XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my refund NOW !

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/05) */ There is more to this story than only the facts laid out in this customer's complaint. He did, in fact, order a pair of brand new, current technology hearing aids from Lloyds. They were ordered and shipped in November and he returned them for credit under our 45 day trial offer at the beginning of January. The reason for his return (as explained to us directly by the customer) was that he obtained, at a token price, some used hearing aids from a friend of his. Understandable.... if you can get help hearing again for just pennies on the dollar compared to buying new, why not? And here is where the rest of the story comes in. Most local hearing aid offices and clinics have no interest in helping a person get an old, used set of hearing aids programmed. Most are only interested in selling new aids at very high prices. However, Lloyds has always been willing to help anyone who needs assistance in any way possible. We were glad to be his source for the reprogramming of the old, used set of aids and program them to be appropriate for his specific hearing needs. We charge a modest fee for that, and this work was done several weeks after the return of the new aids he had tried from Lloyds. In addition, This customer had purchased other accessory items during the month of February, so there became somewhat of a "running balance" of debits and credits involved with this account. Once all orders and credits were finalized, we could then calculate the final balance and the refund due. That refund was sent out to the customer at the end of February in a timely manner as set out in our 50 year longstanding policy. So the customer's request had already been resolved prior to our having been notified of his BBB complaint. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have received a refund check on 03/07/15 for the amount of $2134.05. This amount does not include the credit for unused parts that I returned to Llyods on 02/10/15 that totaled $20.00. On 03/10/15 I called Llyods and talked to a Vicky Ware who explained how the amount of the refund was calculated and she had no note of the returned parts. She told me she would look into this and would issue me a check for this amount when she located the missing return. To address Mr. Palmquists statement that the reason I was returning my original hearing aids (as explained to us directly by the customer ) is a pure fabrication. I have copies of all dates and transactions and I had contacted Llyods for a return authorization number and sent the aids back on 01/05/15. The mention of sending them a used set of aids previously sold by them to have reprogrammed for myself came weeks later. Mr. Palmquists has his dates and times confused as he stated that the refund was issued and sent out by the end of February before this complaint was received. The refund check was issued on 03/03/15 and has his signature on it. Regards, *************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/03/18) */ We pulled the file to confirm the receipt of the additional misc. parts referenced by the customer. Indeed the parts were returned in good condition and, as such, we have refunded the customer the remaining $20 he requested.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hearing aids (invoice ******* were ordered on 4/20/14. Received them and they were non-functional so had to send them back and pay for shipping. When finally received functional aids they were poorly fit. Caused open wounds in ears. Sent hearing aids back and company received on 6/13/14. Refund has still not been given as of 7/2/14. Called and was told that person who handles refunds is on vacation for another week. Owner was quite rude when speaking to him on the phone. Been dealing with this going on 2.5 months. Poor communication on companies part. Owner said that they have to wait until manufacturer credits them but customers should come first. I have returned my product and I should be returned my money ASAP. There should be a clear outline disclosed on how long refunds take to process. Manufacturer will credit you regardless so funds should be released to customer. This is ridiculous. Perhaps there should be more then one person that processes refunds.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the $1,737.95 that was paid including the deposit amount because of all of the trouble that I've had to go through during this process with Lloyd.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ The following is what our records show regarding transactions with this client. First, the Company has already made the refund to this customer for the returned products. The refund was actually made prior to our receipt of this complaint, and was made in accordance with our two to four week timeline policy for refunds of hearing aid returns. The refund was also made in accordance with our clearly stated terms that custom built hearing aids have a $50/aid non-refundable amount withheld due to the nature of the unrecoverable time and materials necessary to produce individually crafted custom instruments. To review, this customer did place an order for a pair of custom in-the-ear style of hearing aids on 4/20/14. Orders for customer hearing aids are a multi-step process and it takes quite a bit longer to receive a final product (since they are individually custom crafted) versus immediate fulfillment and shipping for standard behind-the-ear style products. The impression kits were set out within 24 hours of receiving his order so that he could make impressions of his ears. The finished impressions were received back here about 10 days later. We wrote up his order and shipped the impressions off to the manufacturer on the same day we received them in from the customer. Including shipping time up to and back from the factory, it took two weeks for us to receive the finished hearing aids. We programmed and shipped them out our door within 24 hours of receipt from the factory. There was no way to have expedited this order any faster than what was done. Customer had an issue with one of the aids right away. The aid's wireless communication link didn't function properly. He sent it in to us for review - the factory corrected the problem right away. We were able to return the aid to customer within one week. The customer received the aids, but within a couple of days had called us for a return authorization number indicating he wished to return them for credit and refund. His problem at that time was the aid's volume control wheel was rubbing up against the little protrusion of his ear and was making it sore. He was informed that there was an very easy remedy - the factory could simply relocate the volume control wheel to a different spot on the faceplate of the aid, but his patience was apparently gone and the only thing he wanted was to return the instruments. That was perfectly fine. It was well within the 45 day trial period. Not all hearing aids stick with the customer. We do truly believe that it is better for a person to return hearing aids if they are not happy rather than feel stuck with a product they are not happy with and is not giving them the help they need. That's not a problem. This request was a bit unusual in that the customer admitted that the sound produced by the hearing aids was good, the aids were operating fine - his only problem was the irritation of the wheel against the part of his ear. The vast majority of our customers would have at least given the factory a chance to correct this simple issue, but this customer was complaining hard about how long this whole process had taken (since the original order placement) and now there was the issue about his sore ear. His patience had worn out. We live in a world where people have come to expect immediacy. It is a world of emails, tweets, Fedex, faxes... everything done right now. The purchase of custom hearing aids is not an immediate process. Most times things are exactly correct and operate perfectly right out of the box. Other times we have to work through some issues. This customer is the type of client who obviously expects everything exactly right and right now according to his timetable. So, when we informed him that refunds routinely take two to four weeks, it was really something he didn't want to hear. We understand people have different patience and understanding levels, but we try to treat everyone equally and treat them like we'd like to be treated if we were the customer. When it comes to returns, we have to return the instruments back to the manufacturer, wait for their inspection and review, and only after that, credit is given to us. Again, things take time. Fortunately, most people get it.