Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Beltone Hearing Care Centers-Oak Lawn

Phone: (708) 499-0001 10421 S Cicero Ave, Oak Lawn, IL 60453 http://www.yourbeltone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Beltone Hearing Care Centers-Oak Lawn include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Beltone Hearing Care Centers-Oak Lawn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beltone Hearing Care Centers-Oak Lawn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2013 Business started: 10/15/1980 Business started locally: 10/15/1980 Business incorporated 10/15/1980 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices All Other Health and Personal Care Stores (NAICS: 446199)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10421 S Cicero Ave

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453 (708) 499-0001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SENIOR CITIZEN responded to mailing for FREE Hearing Test, $1000 credit/discount and 30 day FREE TRIAL of Hearing device. Made appointment for office visit. 7/07/14 - INITIAL VISIT. During interview I explained that more than one ENT had advised that my hearing loss could best be addressed using a 2 device (Cross-Aid) system. Audioprosthologist **** ******** (IDPH Lic#****** assured me that new technology in the device she was selling, eliminated the need for 2 devices. After promoting only one device,****** printed out a contract on her computer and requested a $400 DEPOSIT in-advance, reduced to $200 after I protested. Put $200 on credit card, and I was to be notified when device was ready for testing. 7/24/14- 2ND VISIT.****** advised that BEFORE testing of the device could begin, I would have to pay the remaining balance ($3558.71) in-full. The 30 day trial would begin AFTER I paid... with a FULL REFUND "possible" after 30 days, if I decided not to keep it. I requested a few days before deciding to spend $3600 and****** advised she was only in that office on Thursdays (next appt 7/31), while pressuring me (including a call to her "boss") to complete transactions today. My $200 DEPOSIT was a non-refundable "preparation fee", as they had no use for the color of the device that matches my complexion. 7/25/14- NEXT DAY. After deciding that the business practices of Beltone/**** ********, prohibited me from committing $3600 in-advance, I spoke with receptionist***** over the phone, telling her of my decision and my request for a FULL REFUND.***** seemed to be reading from a script as she explained that I had "signed a contract" that included no refund.***** left message (4:01pm 7/25) that****** was unreachable at that time, and that****** would call me Monday. We have been playing telephone-tag since.

Desired Settlement: Signed a brief UNDATED contract that was printed on******** computer that stated the required DEPOSIT was instead a "preparation fee". I SIMPLY WANT THE RETURN OF MY $200 DEPOSIT, AS I DID NOT ACCEPT DELIVERY OF ANY AID(S).


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Beltone Hearing Care Centers-Oak Lawn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)