Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Beltone Hearing Care Centers

Phone: (630) 469-6061 View Additional Phone Numbers 462 Roosevelt Rd., Glen Ellyn, IL 60137 http://www.beltone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beltone Hearing Care Centers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beltone Hearing Care Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2000 Business started: 10/15/1980 Business started locally: 10/15/1980 Business incorporated 10/15/1980 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Clark, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Clark, Secretary
Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices All Other Health and Personal Care Stores (NAICS: 446199)

Alternate Business Names
Beltone Audiology & Hearing Aid Center

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    462 Roosevelt Rd.

    Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased hearing for more than $2863.00 that has failed repeatedly for the last three years without permanent resolution Now that 3 year warranty has expired Beltone refuses to replace or repair the ever failing hearing aid and washes their hands of any liability. Beltone, both the manufacturer, and the care center has lied to me numerous times re:resolution and now refuses to return my calls. After two years of problems Beltone provided me with "Back Up" hearing aid as mine was frequently out for repair, then "Confiscated" it without notice leaving me with the non working back up aid. Visits to Beltone averaged every two months costing my time and gas. This expensive hearing aid has failed repeatedly, performed poorly, and had many limitations for it's use. I would never have made this purchase with Beltone knowing any of this, will never deal with them again, and recommend to anyone looking for a hearing aid to look elsewhere. Product_Or_Service: Touch 9 Beltone Hearing Aid Order_Number: Invoice ****** Account_Number: ID# **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I will need complete refund of $2863.00 for hearing aid plus $1000.00 for my time and travel expense to cover cost of so many trips to Beltone hearing care center for repairs. Other alternative is new, reliable unit of greater or equal value with lifetime warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title:************** Admin Asst Contact Phone:************* Contact Email: *******@sbcglobal.net We at Beltone Hearing Care Centers pride ourselves on helping the world hear better. It is often necessary to prescribe and deliver hearing instruments which fit deeply into a patient's ear canal. Ear canals tend to be humid environments due to sweat glands and cerumen (earwax). Both earwax and moisture can be detrimental to the internal components of hearing instruments. As such, routine visits to our clinics are imperative to ensure proper performance. This patient received a comprehensive hearing evaluation and agreed to participate in Beltone's free two week trial of the custom Touch 9 Microphone-in-Concha system. He contracted with us and agreed to either purchase or return the device within two weeks of delivery. The patient failed to come in for his two week follow-up appointment and retained the instrument for an additional week without approval or notification. After a full three weeks with the device, he returned to our office and agreed to purchase the unit at a discounted rate on March 26, 2010. The manufacturer's warranty given at that time was through April 11, 2013. Afterward, he then requested a special shell modification, but did not want to relinquish the unit. To accommodate him, Beltone built him a second unit so he could retain the original hearing aid while the new aid was being made. Special arrangements were made for the hearing instrument specialist to deliver the new, modified unit directly to the patient's home. At that delivery, the original unit was recovered and returned to the Beltone factory. The patient requested a shorter microphone and the unit was sent back to the Beltone factory for this modification. A loaner hearing aid was made available to the patient to assist him while the microphone was being shortened. The instrument was sent into the Beltone factory on a few other occasions related to moisture/wax issues and a battery door replacement. The patient grew frustrated because of these necessary repairs. On several occasions he did not bring the instrument to the office. Instead he mailed in the instrument via US mail and requested it be returned directly to his home. This is not a standard operating procedure; however, we wanted to accommodate him to ease his frustration. In September 2011, once again he requested a remake of the hearing aid without sending in his current instrument. The Beltone factory accommodated this request and advised that the current unit would need to be returned to the factory after the new unit was made and delivered. The factory programmed and shipped the brand new device directly to the patient's home. After he received the new unit, he did not return the original unit. The second unit was recovered by the factory in July 2013 when the patient sent it directly to the factory for a repair. For almost two years, he had in his possession two hearing aids when he only purchased one. The patient has been advised that all custom hearing instruments require regularly-scheduled maintenance to ensure proper functionality. As stated earlier, unresolved moisture and wax issues are the most common reasons for hearing instrument problems. We encourage all of our patients to visit our offices regularly for proper BelCare service. Cleanings and check ups are performed at our office at no charge, yet he has not been in our office since October, 2011. Based upon the services rendered in this case we do not feel it necessary to provide the patient with a brand new instrument at no cost. The patient's sales contract clearly states that refunds are only issued on instruments which are returned within 30 days of delivery less a preparation fee. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Another "Band Aid" repair is unacceptable. I have tolerated these for three years without resolution and great expense to myself for lost time and travel expense. Need to proceed to arbitration. Also will need BBB to subpeona service records maintained by Beltone for warrarty purposes to that will substantiate my claim. Thank You, ****** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/01) */ This patient was first advised that any hearing instrument would require regularly scheduled maintenance (which we call Belcare) to ensure proper functionality at the time of his original hearing instrument delivery (March 05, 2010). This patient neglected to schedule the no charge hearing instrument maintenance program which was imperative for proper performance of his hearing instrument. He has NOT been in for any Belcare services since October, 2011. This patient states "3 years of rhetoric and no resolution." Not having seen this patient for any Belcare hearing instrument maintenance since October 2011, a solid two years, would say otherwise. It would be the same as not changing the oil on your automobile for two years and could be considered neglect. He is also requesting to be reimbursed $1000 for his time and travel to and from our offices every two months for three years. Again, he has not been in our office since October 2011 and we have even delivered a modified hearing instrument to him at his home. We offer free lifetime Belcare on all of our hearing instruments. When a patient does not take advantage of this program, they risk frustrations and/or breakdowns. All of the repairs on this patients hearing instrument have been due to wax and/or moisture buildup issues. These repairs would not have been necessary had he taken advantage of the free recommended maintenance. Resolution: We would like to extend a onetime offer to this patient. We would love for him to bring his hearing instrument to our office for Belcare maintenance services. (We were unable to make an appointment with him in the recent past due to his choice words and the fact that he hung up on us.) We will clean and check his hearing aid and repair it if necessary at no charge to him, even though the three year warranty has expired. It may just be another wax/or moisture issue once again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Beltone Hearing Care Centers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)