Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Beltone Electronics

Phone: (800) 235-8663 Fax: (773) 583-9547 View Additional Phone Numbers 2601 Patriot Blvd, Glenview, IL 60026 http://www.beltone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beltone Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Beltone Electronics include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Beltone Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beltone Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 01/01/1940 Business started locally: 01/01/1940
Business Management
Mr. Steve Brinkman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Brinkman, Owner
Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices All Other Health and Personal Care Stores (NAICS: 446199)

Alternate Business Names
GN Hearing Care Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 2601 Patriot Blvd

    Glenview, IL 60026 (800) 235-8663 (847) 832-3300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my parents' health was failing I took over on some of their accounts. Something I took over for them sold their mailing list so many companies send me information as a senior citizen. I feel that Beltone is purposely preying on older citizens trying to trick them into believing they are already customers so they will call and set up appointments. I just received a perforated sealed letter with a cryptic Schaumburg, IL return address labeled IMPORTANT INFORMATION ENCLOSED. The letter reads: THIS LETTER IS TO INFORM YOU THAT OUR RECORDS SHOW YOU HAVE NOT BEEN IN FOR A HEARING SCREENING OR HEARING AID ADJUSTMENT IN THE LAST 24 MONTHS...... I even have a patient ID #. No one in my family has a hearing aid.

Desired Settlement: I have to believe seniors are the bread and butter for this company. Don't be misleading towards them. Be their advocates. Don't trick them into calling you this way. Shame on Beltone.

Business Response: I'm confused by the complaint. We send out direct mail to prospects for our products based on trying to raise awareness for hearing health.  There is nothing in that direct mail piece that is misleading or "preying", it simply stated that she hadn't had a hearing test in 24 months. A patient ID is nothing more than a computer generated tracking number.  Again, trying to help people live a better live is HARDLY preying on the elderly, it's simply raising awareness

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They know darn well what they are doing. It's bogus and deceitful. 

I'm not dragging this out, I don't have the energy to play their game. 

They win, but not a future customer.


Sincerely,

***** *****

5/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After ten months of continued attempts to wear the Beltone Hearing Aids,I determined that the equity of this product, as directed and applied by *************, Hearing Care Practitioner, was greatly lacking. The following points are: amplifies metallic sounds, voice acuity is lacking, and though I can hear voices, the quality of deciphering and understanding what is said is lacking. This equipment does not qualify for the acuity necessary to be useful to me for which they were engineered. Given the preliminary information concerning my experience with the Beltone product, and as how this company has not met its' obligation for customer success and satisfaction, I am asking for you permission to return the product for a full refund. *************, Beltone Technician, of Westerly, RI, suggested that I sell this product on E Bay. However, I am advised that offering any medical devices, such as hearing aids, in the private sector is in violation of the law. Total cost to me: $5,290.00, purchased in May, 2014. Product_Or_Service: Beltone Hearing Aids

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I will return the rarely used product, and receive a full refund of $5,290.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/04) */ Good Afternoon, Mr. ******************* has been refunded and he is happy now. Thank you, *************

4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: every week mail about hearning aids that i do not wish to receive

Desired Settlement: stop sending any mail from Beltone. None.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title:***************** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@beltone.com We do not mail the patient from our Corporate Office in Chicago, so we contacted the local office for the consumer and they have deleted her contact information from any future mailings.

11/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was initially misled on the length of time batteries would last. Oh, if only that were the only problem. They are incessantly broken and even when I take them for a cleaning the left aid is dinging after 30 minutes that the brand new battery is out. They are inferior and I was scammed.

Desired Settlement: I loathe this company and product. I just want something that will work for another 14 months until I can get another product with my insurance company. They should have to pay for all my gas for my many trips trying to get these things fixed plus they set me back by 4 years as I rarely use them because it causes so much stress to go through many batteries because one would assume it is the battery but I'm sure it's the horrendously bad aids. This is an inferior product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ****************************************** Contact Email: ********************* The consumer has been contacted and is coming back into the office. We have assured her that we will repair the instruments at no charge, and also supply her with any batteries that she may need at no charge. The patient did admit she hasn't been wearing the instruments for over six months. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After reflection I have decided to not accept the repair and batteries as they have already been repaired twice and didn't work after the repairs so I am not going to accept anything other than a different aid. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/11/07) */ The patient has been contacted again about exchanging her current instruments for a different model per her request.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sale date: 9.30.14. **************** sales person. Model Number Betone Promise 17. "Opera ITC". Paid $6,000!!!!

Desired Settlement: Return all money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **************** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********************* All monies were returned to the consumer's credit card on October 15th by the Beltone dispenser.

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Beltone hearing aids on March 4, 2012 and have had to have them repaired 9 times in the past 23 months. When they have to be repaired, they are sent back to the factory and I am without the hearing aids for 10 days to 2 weeks each time. The Name of the Hearing Aid is Optima, Serial #XXXXXXXXXX. The sales representatives that I have dealt with are as follows: *************************************************************************************************************** I have all the repair paperwork with dates or you are welcome to check with the Deptford NJ or Vorhees NJ Beltone offices to verify the repair issues that I have experienced with the hearing aids. The hearing aids were paid in full in March of 2012 by personal check *****. I can provide you a copy of this check. Thank you for listening to my complaint and I hope that I can get some assistance from you regarding this matter. I am an 83 year old senior citizen and would just like to be able to go out and communicate with people while shopping, banking, etc. Life can be very difficult when your hearing aids don't work. It is very difficult living in a SILENT world! Please feel free to contact me at the home phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX) or by e-mail ***************** if you have any additional questions. Thanks for your assistance.

Desired Settlement: Considering the hearing aids have been in the Beltone repair 9 times always ending with the same dead hearing aid, I would like to request a full refund so I can put the money toward a pair of hearing aids that I can rely on. Thanks again for your assistance in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/04/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****************,Director Contact Phone: *********************************************** the patient was upgraded with new instruments at no charge on April 3rd.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Beltone Electronics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)