Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Based on the results of your hearing assessments and lifestyle audit, your AccuQuest Hearing Healthcare Practitioner can provide hearing aids from many different manufacturers to make sure you get The Right Hearing Aids:
The hearing aid solution that matches your unique need, lifestyle and budget.

Hearing Aid Manufacturers include:












BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 36

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 2007 Business started: 02/01/2006 in IL Business started locally: 02/01/2006 Business incorporated 05/09/2013 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Highfill, Vice President Mr. John Temple, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Highfill, Vice President
Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices Hearing Aids Parts & Repairing All Other Health and Personal Care Stores (NAICS: 446199)

Products & Services

AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc sells the following brand(s): AccuQuest, Bernafon, NuEar, Oticon, Phonak, ReSound, Siemens, Sonic, Starkey, Unitron, Widex

AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc offers the following product(s): Custom ear molds for musicians, Hearing aid accessories, Hearing aid batteries, Hearing aid care and cleaning supplies, Hearing Aids, Hearing Protection

Method(s) of Payment
We accept all major commercial insurance plans, offer several forms of financing and accept credit cards, debit cards & personal checks.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Many states have set mandatory trial periods of 30 days or more so you will have plenty of time to 1) get used to wearing your new hearing aids, 2) to get used to hearing the world again at a normal volume and 3) to retrain your brain to hear and understand tones and sounds it may not have heard at a normal volume for many years. Illinois, for example, mandates a 30 day trial period.
Alternate Business Names
Accuquest Hearing AccuQuest Hearing Centers Summit Audiology
Additional Information

AccuQuest located at 2800 W Higgins Suite 895 in Hoffman Estates is the Headquarters for this business. If you need to file a complaint please refer to the corporate office. AccuQuest has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Joe Porritt at or 847-915-4628.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ACCUQUEST left Colorado a few months after I purchased my hearing aids for $6500. A short time after purchasing from them I was told via email that ACCUQUEST was leaving Colorado and that I should go to a different company, Hearing Life, in Loveland, CO to have my hearing aids serviced. It is a 35 minute drive each way to drive to their office which is very inconvenient. I also am not satisfied with the services at Hearing Life. ACCUQUEST moved so soon after I purchased the hearing aids that it is hard to imagine that they didn't know they would be moving out of Colorado in the near future and advised me of that information. Had they given me that information I would not have purchased hearings aids from them. I called the corporate headquarters and left messages as to the nature of my complaints on the following dates: May 19, 2016, June 14, 2016 and June 21, 2016.their corporate office. I have not heard back from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive an adjustment on the hearing aids I bought from ACCUQUEST. I would then purchase a new pair from a local office. I have been fitted with some from a nearby office that did not have the problems I have with my ACCUQUEST hearing aids. There are three issues with the hearing aids that Hearing Life has not been able to fix: the hearing aids do not stay in place, the 'string' that should stay in the bowl of the ear does not stay in place, and I do not hear well with them.

Business Response:


To Whom It May Concern:

**** *********** and I spoke this morning about her experience. As a result of our discussion, AccuQuest agrees to accept a return of her hearing aids in return for full credit minus an agreed upon professional fee for the time that **** has worn the hearing aids.


We acknowledge the difficult experience that **** has had in her path to better hearing and we wish her all the best with her new hearing provider.



AccuQuest Management

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ***********

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: AccuQuest Hearing Centers located at ****** ****** ****** ********* ** *****. At my initial appointment, I was given a series of tests and considered a candidate for hearing aids. That same day I was fitted with a pair of hearing aids. **** ******** wrote up the purchase agreement for $5,500.00. I was not anticipating this since the ads I had seen showed some aids that were $499. I explained to **** ******** that I could not afford that price. He asked if I could afford a payment of $100.00 per month and proceeded to get me approved for a credit account I did not want. Hoping the “professionals” at AccuQuest could improve my hearing, I agreed to the purchase. On 12-2-15, I returned to see ******** because I could not hear with the aids I was told that, “I have to train my brain to hear with the aids.” They adjusted the aids. This was follow up visit #1. On 12-9-15, I was back. This was follow up visit #2. I again told them that I could not hear and I wanted to return the aids. They asked me to bear with them and they fitted me for a new set of hearing aids. The fact that they replaced the first set with another set within the 30 day return period shows that they were aware that the aids were not working and they continued this to put me off past the return window. I told them on every occasion that I was not satisfied and wanted my money back. Every time I was told to try this adjustment. On 12-30-15, I was back again and I received the new set of a totally different type of aids. Another purchase agreement was done for the same total of $5,500.00. I been back on all of these dates: 1-13-16, 1-20-16, 2-1-16, 2-11-16, 3-31-16, and 4-6-16. As of the date of this complaint there has not been any improvement in my hearing as a matter of fact, the adjustments they have made caused squealing and screaming sounds that are making it even harder to hear. I have requested a refund on every visit and was most recently told that it is not an option at this time and for me to do what I needed to do. Thus, I am filing this complaint. This has been a terrible experience and this company has failed to provide a satisfactory service and goods. I would like a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. The return policy reads that I can return the hearing aids for a refund within 30 days of my fitting on 11-18-15. It states that a minimum of 2 follow up visits after the fitting is required before they can be returned for a refund. I followed the return policy and was manipulated and taken advantage of by this company.

Business Response:


To Whom It May Concern:

Our West Columbia office has made adjustments to the earmolds to increase ****** comfort level with the hearing aids.  Our team has also made adjustments to the hearing aid settings including direct support from AQ Manufacturing's lead Audiologist.  During the patient's most recent visit on 4/26/16, ****** gain was transitioned to 6Db.  Mary expressed happiness with the adjustments and the way she was able to hear in the office.

Mary has had the hearing aids for over 4-months. Our West Columbia office is committed to our continued support of ****** journey to better hearing. We look forward to working with her.



AccuQuest Hearing Centers


Business Response:


Our West Columbia AccuQuest office is open to switching out the current hearing aid style into a style that is more comfortable for the patient.  We are committed to helping the patient adjust to her hearing aids. In agreement with the purchase order, we are well beyond the return period.


AccuQuest Hearing Centers

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I am very frustrated with this company and their ability to improve my hearing.  The reason they feel it is past their refund period is because they did not listen when I explained over and over that I wanted a refund.  They continually made me try this adjustment or that adjustment.  I want my refund that I am entitled to.  The history of my visits to their office shows that they have not tired to rectify this situation.  I have done everything they asked of me.  I want my refund.


**** *******

4/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid full purchase price for hearing aides. After submitting our insurance they owe us a refund of $5800 and change. It has been 4 months and the check fron insurance has been cashed by Accuquest. ,I have been given the run around and I'm tired of waiting for my refund from my insurance.

Desired Settlement: Refund of payment $5800 and some change that insurance paid Accuquest after I had paid full purchase price already!

Business Response: THis issue should be closed.  Patient's VISA was credited $1,242.19 on December 30, 2015.  The overpayment of $3,150.00 was sent to the insurance company.  This was all due to a double processing of a claim which was explained to the patient.  All funds have been properly returned in the proper amount.  We consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11012444

I am rejecting this response because:


Sylvia *****

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing about case # ********* I thought it had been taken care of but I find out today, the office in Shelby, NC is closed. I did meet with ******* ****** on Oct. 29th. He assured me that something was wrong with the telephone #'s and the email. I had met with him earlier to cancel my contract but he assured me that the payment was wrong and he would get it corrected to $132.00 per month. I received several calls and emails from him and he finally told me that Accuquest's financial dept. was going to pay off Wells Fargo and would do their own financing for me. I was fine with that. Then, he calls me again yesterday, November 11th, and tells me that he made a mistake and the finance dept. for Accuquest had decided not to finance my account and that Wells Fargo was going to do it. I told him that that was fine but that I hadn't signed ANYTHING for them to finance my account since the very first time I went to Accuquest. I talked with Wells Fargo today and they said since I had signed the contract, I was still liable. I told them I had NOT signed anything!! The lady acted like she didn't believe me. In the mail today, I got a letter from Accuquest's main office that said the Shelby office was closed and I would have to start going to Gastonia, NC from now on. Since I just talked with ******* ****** yesterday, it looks like he would have told me this. Another thing I was told was that the reason there was nobody there at my originally scheduled appointment that I complained about previously is that now, the only day the Shelby office was open was on Tuesday's instead of Thursday's. I told him nobody had informed me of that either. I had a feeling when I went for the meeting on Oct. 29th that the office was already closed. There was no lights until I got there and it looked like it had been closed for several days. I do not like being lied to and am completely fed-up with this company. I will put my desired resolution and desired outcome in the proper place below.

Desired Settlement: I would like this whole contract deal to be cancelled and I will GLADLY return the hearing aids. Yes, they have helped but I do not like to do business with a company that has repeatedly lied to me and evidently forged my signature. I want this taken care of ASAP and I DO NOT want it to affect my credit in anyway!! I have perfect credit and do not want anything showing up that would change that. I had originally taken the hearing aids in to cancel the contract but they told me everything would be taken care of. IT"S NOT!

Business Response: This is a duplicate complaint....patient has had his financing issues resolved and is aware we are more than happy to take care of him going forward out of our Gastonia clinic. We have also partnered with a non-accuquest clinic in Shelby that the patient can see as well and is aware of. No further action is required.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I don't know why this company keeps on saying that the issue is resolved.  I have had absolutely NO response from this company by phone call, email, text or anything since I filed this complaint!  They say they have told me about an optional company here in Shelby.  This is the first I have heard of this and have no idea who or what they are talking about.  I guess this is par for the course for Accuquest.  I have already told several people about this claim and now plan on telling many, many more.  This is definitely NOT the way a company should deal with their clients if they want to keep them.  I am finished with them and I will never do business with them again and will do all in my power to let others know not to either.  This has to be one of the worst companies I have ever dealt with.  Even after talking with several others in the area, most of the people have said, "I could have told you not to do business with them!"

So this claim doesn't get any more drawn out, you can go ahead and consider it closed.  I do not want any further dealings with a company that tells so many untruths!!


****** *****

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem is that Kenneth Pross guaranteed I would be satisfied with my purchase of the hearing aids. It has been a truly disappointing experience. I had issues with background noise, high pitches, and volume. Every time I was scheduled for a follow up, it was a different person I had to deal with. Each time, I told the person what my problem was, and each time they said they had fixed it. They never did. They made promises but never followed through. I was strung along past the 30 day refund guarantee deadline, so now I am screwed. I continue to go back for what I hope to be an adjustment that finally fixes my problems, but to no avail. I am disgusted with the poor customer service, the lack of dependability of the product, and my overall experience

Desired Settlement: I want my money back in full.

Business Response: Mr. ****** met with our practitioner and had his hearing aids adjusted. It was explained the expectations of hearing aids and a follow up was set. We will continue to work with Mr. ****** to ensure his hearing aids are working to the best ability. There is no further action required.

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 7, 2015 my 94-year old mother, ****** ****, came to AccuQuest with the hope of improving her hearing. On May 12 she received her 1st fitting and delivery of AccuQuest's product: *** **** RITE, which was paid in full by credit card. After getting the hearing aids home, they kept falling out of her ears. She returned on May 19th where a technician took impressions of her ears for refitting. She returned on June 12 to pick-up the newly-fitted hearing aids. On June 25th she returned again to the La Mesa, California office complaining of tinnitus and severe pain radiating down her jaw from wearing the hearing aids; at which time, she stopped using them. I need to note that during this period, my father, who had been driving her to and from her appointments was seriously ill. He was diagnosed terminal on August 28 and passed away on September 20.On September 4, 2015, I became involved and brought my mother in to the local office asking for a full refund only to be told she was beyond the 45-day trial period. That is just not right considering the product was never properly fitted and essentially useless to her. After trying to work with AccuQuest's technician the best she could, she lost all confidence in their product and their customer service I am asking that she be refunded her $4,740.00 purchase.On September 30, 2015 I sent a letter via ***** to:**** *******Vice President, OperationsAccuQuest Hearing Centers **** W ******* Rd #********** *******, IL 60169politely asking for a full refund and that he respond to me by October 21, 2015. I also attached a copy of an almost identical complaint submitted to the Chicago BBB earlier this year:********/complaints#sthash.EKgHcyGo.dpufI am asking that you please help me resolve this matter.With kind regards,***** ****I can provide a copy of the original letter and attachment on request Product_Or_Service: AccuQuest Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Full refund of $4,740.00 with the return of the hearing aids which are in my possession.

Business Response:


We have decided to accept ****** ****'s return for full credit to ensure that she is satisfied with her experience at AccuQuest. If ****** decides to pursue her journey to better hearing in the future, we would be happy to support her.


**** *******

VP AccuQuest Hearing Centers


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I sincerely appreciate your efforts in this matter. 

With best regards,

***** W **** 

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement GIVE US OUR MONEY BACK OR FIX THEM THE WAY THEY SHOULD BE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/16) */ Mr.****** was seen by******** director, ********** on October 8th. She replaced the receiver in the right aid and programmed both aids. Mr.****** is scheduled for a six month check-up. This matter should be considered resolved.

9/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per my signed document. They should not have been selling hearing aids as I am sure they knew months ago they were closing these offices! This place is a scam. Dirty business practices. I spent 3500.00 !!!

Desired Settlement: What they owe me for the next 3 years or all of my 3500 refunded in full

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/10) */ Contact Name and Title:************* Contact Email: ************ We regret to announce that we have been forced to close our Colorado hearing center operations. We fully understand the inconvenience that his has caused our patients. In an effort to support our patients, we have partnered with Hearing **** to offer a hearing aid center that can service our ************ patients moving forward. Their address is ********************************************* and they look forward to working with all of our former patients from our ************ location. Although we realize patients purchased their hearing aids expecting to receive support in our AccuQuest location, business factors have forced to close our doors. We are working closely with Hearing life to create a smooth patient transition into their hearing aid centers. We apologize for the inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How about a refund of 3500 and I will go buy new ones from someone in Ft Collins. I purchased these 6/23/15 you should not Have been still selling them. I want my money back in full and you can have the hearing aids back!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/09/04) */ A member of our corporate team spoke with ****** on Monday, 8/31. ****** mentioned that she likes her hearing aids, but was concerned about future maintenance of the aids. We provided ****** with supplies (domes and batteries) at no cost so that ****** can avoid some future trips to the office for supplies. We believe that ****** is pleased with the solution.

8/3/2015 Delivery Issues
5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My terminally father was sold hearing aids on 1/11/15 by *********** of AccuQuest Model ITEP; Serial#******************** for $6200 financed thru Wells Fargo Health. Numerous adjustments did not improve hearing and 30 day grace period expired Feb.28th while my father was deteriorating rapidly. After numerous medical consults and weight loss of 25lbs, father appeared at last hearing aid adjustment needing to be driven and using a walker on 3/25/15. On 3/31/15 he was put under hospice care because he was "actively dying," a process that began during the grace period for returning the hearing aids. On 4/1/15 I called and asked to return the hearing aids that had never worked for a refund since my dad was terminally ill during the grace period and not able to make informed decisions or keep track of the deadline. I was informed that since the grace period had expired, my father would get no refund. I wrote a letter on 4/6/15 outlining the timeline of purchase, recalibration appointments and medical deterioration and asked again for a refund with a deadline of 4/15/15 for response. I have heard nothing.

Desired Settlement: For the return of the hearing aids and all batteries, a full refund of $6200.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***********,Marketing Ast Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********** We contacted Mr. ***** on 4-23 to try and resolve this matter and reached his voicemail. We left a message and are waiting for his reply. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/05/04) */ ****** ***** <*******> Fri, *** 1, 2015 at 10:53 AM To: "********" ************************************************** Business Name: AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc Hello *****, I have heard from Mr. *********** from the corporate office of AccuQuest. The company has agreed to refund the purchase price of the hearing aids sold to my terminally ill father. I returned the hearing aids yesterday and the refund was processed. I am satisfied with the outcome of this complaint and am withdrawing it. Thank you for your efforts in addressing my complaint. It is clear that the involvement of the BBB was instrumental in a resolution. Sincerely, **********

3/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Accuquest Hear Centers ******************************************************************* On October 6, 2014 I placed an order for the inside of the ear Hearing AidsTheir Model LIRPC9Serial Numbers******************** at a totla cost of $7,000 and I put half down and paid the ba;ance of $3,500 on October 29, 2014.The Technician ************* put a contraption around my neck and hooked the hearing aids up to a computer and kept adjusting each ear, so that the sound was plausable to me. After about 5 or 6 days I came back as they (the Hearing Aids) were giving off a Tinny Sound and the right ear was muffled sounding to meand she did the same thing and re-adjusted them, which I had hoped would be fine. About 6 days later I made another appointment as the hearing aids went back to one side (left Ear) being a tinny sound and the (Right Ear) a muffled sound. This time she had a male technician, whom I though was her surperior as he seemed to be the one trying to re-adjust both hearing aids again as I continued to have the same problem as the last vist. About 7 days later I had to make another appointment as the hearing aids kept reversing back to the same tinny sound in the left ear and a muffled sound in the right ear. The same man was there and agin re-adjusted them and I complained that this is rediculus and if I have people sitting on my right their voices are muffled. He said we will re-adjust them so that the tinny sound and the muffled sound out of the right it will be fine. I had dropped one of the in the ear Left Hearing Aids and could not find it as it fell in the grass and I paid an additional 300.000 to have a new one made. After picking up the new left ear, they did not adjust it and all I did was get a call to come in and pick it up. Well about 7 to 8 days later, I was really getting angry as the Tinny sound in the Left Ear and the Muffled Sound in my Right ear were the same and I came back in except this time there was a elderly woman watching what ************* was doing. And again after that visit the Hearincalled ************* up and said I want a complete refud Product_Or_Service: Inside the Ear Haering Aids Account_Number: Purchase Contract On

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I was told that I had gone past my 30 days to get a refund, well of course they (Accuquest) kept me on a string in trying to make me think they were fixing the problem and had dragged it past the 30 day period so that they could say "sorry no refund". They offered to replace them and I said this is a defective product and you strung me past the 30 days and I want all my $7,300.00 refunded and they refused. I contacted CITI Bank my credit Card Company and put in formal complaint for a refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/01/23) */ Contact Name and Title:******* Regional Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email:**************************** Mr. ******** came into our Santa ****** office 10/6/14 at which point it was determined that he had a hearing loss and hearing aids would be the best option for his hearing health. The amount of $7000 was agreed upon by both parties in the purchase of the aids. He was then fit with the aids on 10/20/2014 at which point a 30 day trial period began per the state of CA law. Mr. ******** had subsequent follow up visits during the adjustment period to help counsel and coach though getting used to the hearing aids. On 11/19/2014 Mr. ******** lost his Left hearing aid at which time he decided to pay his $300 deductable on his loss and Damage insurance to issue a replacement aid provided to him when the original purchase was made. Although unable to return lost devices we look forward to continuing to help Mr. ******** as he adjusts to his hearing aids and will continue to do everything possible to make sure he is successful and able to hear the joys of life they provide to everyone. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response is based on my paying for a 300 replacement of the lost left hearing aid. My complaint has and always was they could never make them work properly, even after they made a new one for my left ear.THEIR SATISFACTION GUARANTEE"READS RETURN IN 30 DAYS FOR FULL REFUND OR AFTER COMPLETETION OF "THE ORIGINAL" FITTING" COMPLETION OF FITTING BY THE SELLER (ACCUQUES) WHICHEVER COMES LATER, SO THE 30 DAY TEST PERIOD HAS NO MEANING AS THEY NEVER MADE THEM FIT OR WORK IN MY EARS PROPERLY" their stance was when I asked for a full refund, their answer was you have gone past the 30 day trial periodtheir own guarantee states " until they fit WHICHEVER COMES LATERSO THE 30 DAYS HAS NO MEANING IF I ASK FOR A FULL REFUND BECAUSE THEY DO NOT WORK (FIT) PROPERLYSO I WANT A FULL REFUND Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 27, 2015/03/04) */ after MUCH CONSIDERATION AND TO DO TO MY HEALTH AT THIS TIME, I am willing to accept their offer of $3,500 as a FULL REFUND of YOUR CASE # BBB CASE # XXXXXXXX, THAT ACCUQUEST OFERED AS A FULL SETELMENT.. HOW DO I GET THE $3,500.OO FROM ACCUQUEST AS A FULL REFUND. IF THEY ARE GIVING ME A CHECK THAT IT BE A CASHIERS CHECK. ****** ******** Final Business Response /* (1000, 31, 2015/03/09) */ Mr. ******** has come into our office and received his refund from us. Thank you.

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2014 Delivery Issues
10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Mr. *****, I understand your concern, and will do my best to help you get the most of your devices. As far as the ***********, we pre-qualify all potential hearing instrument users ahead of time. We are required to have a signature before we can run any type of charge through ***********. Before we can process payment, you have to know what you are paying and sign your purchase agreement before we can process. Since you are well beyond the 30 day evaluation, we cannot process a return or refund your money. This is on the purchase agreement that you signed, which is a legal and binding document. If you are having issues with breaking the devices, please schedule another appointment to see Mr. ********* because you may need to be recounseled on how to properly maintain the devices and change the batteries. These devices are actually one of the more sturdy of its type, and we have had little cause for concern due to quality of the devices. Mr. ******** would not fit you with amplification if you did not need them. Your hearing health is our highest priority, and we will do everything within our power to give you the quality of life that you deserve.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached complaint against AccuQuest Hearing Center of High Point.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached complaint against AccuQuest Hearing Center of High Point.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/09/12) */ A refund request has been submitted for Mrs. ************ who will receive a full refund of her $200 deposit. We have notified Mrs. ****** of the refund & sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused her.

9/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trainee since May 2013, prescribed Hearing Aids ($4,500.) on April 9, 2014. My constant complaint"Too noisy, I cannot stand them!" ************ Trainee's answer: "You must wear them - your brain must get used to them." Visit appointments: April 9, 23 & 28, May 7 & 17, (Missed May 29), June 4 & 30. Pending appointments: August 18, and October 7. Cancelled September 3. (Out of town July-August - Sept. off & on). My hearing is much changedmuch worse! Damaged!!!!! Need refund of $4,500, to enable me to go to an experienced, reputable Audiologist for a proper fitting of Hearing Aids. He has no Supervision on the premises. He said he must go to Pleasanton to spend time with a Supervisor. He is in Santa Cruz M-W-F and in Campbell T & Th. Product_Or_Service: Hearing Aids (2) Model SL3 Order_Number: XXXXX-XXXX Account_Number: ********************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Credit my American Express Credit card for $4,500.00. Or send me a check for $4,500.00. (Unfortunately, the DAMAGE has already been done.)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/13) */ Contact Name and Title:****** Vest/Reg.Rep Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************************** Patient was tested in office 4/9/14. It was determined she had a Mild sloping to Severe SNHL, hearing aids were recommended by our practitioner given her level of loss. Practitioner is recognized by the state as having a valid training license at time of purchase, fit and follow up appointments while meeting state required supervision time (20%) and procedures to obtain that license. Patient was fit with aids 4/23/14 at which time multiple forms of audiometric verification were used to verify proper fitting of device. Second appointment on 4/28/14 patient stated hearing aids were helping her hear people better with no problems inserting or removing. Appointment on 5/7/14 patient again stated hearing voices and tv better, driving and microwave were loud, practitioner counseled (as with all patients wearing aids) that some noises take time to adjust to due to the fact you have a severe hearing loss and you are not used to it anymore. Practitioner also adjusted the high frequencies to help her ease into it. 6/4/14 patient stated again she feels like she is adjusting but wishes she could hear even better. Practitioner counseled that aids are not a cure-all but a device to help. Went back to expectations based on loss and verification results of fitting. During visit on 6/30/14 patient stated wasn't wearing devises often. Practitioner counseled the more you wear the more you get used to the sound. In July the patient then dropped off the aids in the clinic wanting a refund and walked out. A letter was sent stating she could pick up her aids at any time, they were now hers given it being passed *** 30 day trial period after fitting (expired 5/23/14) required by the state and stated on the signed contractual agreement. Offered to extend many courtesies at no charge and offered to send a more tenured practitioner down to Santa Cruz just to see her if she wanted at any time she desired. Patient refused. Additional audiologists were consulted who also determined hearing aids recommended were appropriate for her loss. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Repeatedly stated aids were uncomfortably too loud. Also, at times, conversations not heard or understood. Extreme loudness forced me to discontinue wearing these hearing aids. Attorneys now handling this case. ************ had no supervisor in the Santa Cruz Office and told me that "He had been doing this for two years." An 11 Month Trainee! Thank you, ******* *****' Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/16) */ We continue to be willing to do whatever we can to help this patient hear better in her life. However, since our help is not desired by the patient we are more than willing to refund the full amount of the aids to the patient right away.

9/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Payment-$500 When I told them that $5,000 was too much to pay, they insisted that I take them home to try them. They charged me $500 after tha to return them. I am 83 years old.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money returned as I did not keep the hearing aids and they took $500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ Contact Name and Title: Dr. ***************** Contact Email:****************************************** After reviewing your file, our Myrtle Beach practitioner has done everything he was required to do. We provided a full evaluation along with recommendations for treatment. You signed a legal and binding agreement that includes a statement covering the 10% return fee. Our goal is to provide higher quality of life through better hearing. We will insist that people do something to treat their hearing loss, especially with the studies linking untreated hearing loss to early onset dementia. However, we will not force people to purchase something that will create a financial burden. If price was such an issue, we have other alternatives to offer. We will be happy to have you return to our office to find another solution for treatment. We would be willing to apply the 10% return fee towards another product, and give you the opportunity to get the treatment you need. The return fee is pretty standard, so you will encounter the fee at almost any office. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company did NOT tell the customer that a 10% restocking fee would be applied when the hearing aids were returned. The seller told the customer to return in a week for another visit after trying the hearing aids for one week. Never one moment did the customer think she would be required to pay $500 to return the aids. This customer is 83 years old and was taken advantage of grossly. She signed the contract saying she would take them home, but the contract was misrepresented. The customer has already purchased hearing aids elsewhere as she said that this company mistreated her. No other hearing aids company in town does this to customers especially when that customer told the seller that she could not afford those hearing aids. She was told to return with them after one week. This company should be ashamed of themselves for such poor practices. She says that she signed the paperwork to renew a CARE card she had that had expired. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/01) */ Although I have the signed contract that has the return policy spelled out in great detail in front of me, I have been able to get a refund of the return fee approved. The stipulation will be that any negative comments be removed from any social media outlets. Also, 95% of dispensing practices have a return fee policy in place. This is accepted nationwide and is written into most state laws. The refund will be processed and may take up to 30 days to be mailed.

6/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have huge hearing loss. this company charged me $4000 for hearing aids. The hearing aids did not work, they took them from me and said they would repair them, they haven't returned the hearing aids or my money. Product_Or_Service: hearing aid

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $4000 refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/18) */ This patient is correct in that there is a significant hearing loss present. Where the patient is incorrect is in the misrepresentation regarding who has the hearing aids. We have them because this patient refuses to pick them up. The hearing aids were not functioning properly and we did send them in for repair under the warranty that is still active. The hearing aids came back from the manufacturer and are now in proper working order. We reached out to the patient and were told that the patient wants their money back. In the hearing aid industry there is a standard 30 day satisfaction guarantee. This patient purchased these hearing aids in August of 2013 so almost a year ago. Needless to say the time period to return the hearing aids has long since expired. At this point our only recourse is to help this patient get the most out of the hearing aids that were purchased. We are more than willing to work with this patient but if they continue to refuse our service, there isn't much we can do. I have personally spoken with this patient and explained our options. I even told the patient they could go see another one of our practitioners. They did not want to do that so unfortunately we are now at an impasse. We will always place the satisfaction level of our patients first and foremost, but in this situation I feel we are trying to be taken advantage of and that is not acceptable.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2014 Delivery Issues
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called ************ on 3 occasions and asked to be removed from mailing list. They say will do, but continue to send me mails requesting I participate in hearing tests.

Desired Settlement: STOP sending me mail and remove my address from your mailing list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Email: *********** Our corporate office manages all of our mailings. This complaint was the first time we received any word of Ms. *********'s request to be removed from our list. Upon receiving her request on January 8th, we immediately added her name and address to our master Do Not Mail list. We process all of our mail 6-8 weeks ahead, so Ms. ********* may still receive a couple more letters from us. It does not mean we have ignored her request, the mail was simply processed prior to her name being added to our list. After that 6-8 week period, though, she should not receive any more mail from our company. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put the*************************** in the search and was directed to you - please redirect. My wife purchased a box of batteries and paid $60.00 cash. The price has been increased immensely by AccuQuest over recent months and this was way too much. I went on line and found equivalent batteries for a third of this price hence the return of the batteries in unopened/as bought condition. My wife was told to wait 21 days for a refund which we consider outrageous. We would therefore like an immediate refund, if not, sooner.

Desired Settlement: Nothing short of an immediate refund. Their practise is way out of line with normal retail refunds and we are outraged and feel we're being taken advantage of. Cash was paid and it was a simple matter of handing $60 back to my wife.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ Understanding the frustration, it is not desirable to wait for the funds to be returned via check. Our offices carry limited cash on hand. We are happy to refund the entire amount paid. We will need to process the return as we would with any other purchase return and send the check as quickly as possible. It usually takes 3 weeks +/-. Unfortunately, our policy will require you to wait the return period for a full refund. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is, as far as I'm concerned, absolute illogical rubbish. 3 WEEKS TO ISSUE A CHEQUE????????? This is contemptuous. Process the return??????? What do you mean by process - just a delaying tactic I gather. There is no regard for the customer here. A friend of mine had a similar problem with this outfit so it seems par for the course for them. Is this really OK with the BBB or is there some law that allows this kind of abuse. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/17) */ We understand that it is not ideal to wait for a check to be sent to you. We do not typically have people return batteries, so this is not a common issue and unfortunately it is the policy that yo are dealing with. Our policy is to issue a check if the original purchase exceeds $10 dollars. This is not a tactical approach to keep your $60 for a couple if weeks. In order to help with the time frame we are working under, I would like to offer you two packages of batteries free of charge as a courtesy for your time

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchsed two sets of hearing aids from this company over the past 5 years. The agreement has always been periodic service, adjustment and batteries. The pair I have now I purchase almost one year ago. They have provide the batteries up till today and now claim that unless I can prove it in writing that they comitted to this that they will not honor the agreement. I agreed to pay the $7,200.00 for these because it included this support and don't think that I should have to pay another $8 - $16 per week for them to work.I think that the fact that they have provided this service for 5 years now should serve as proof of the agreement. Please help as these people market heavily to senior citizens and sell on trust. They are liars.Thank You.Thank You. Product_Or_Service: Hearing Aids Order_Number: n/a Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Full refund or compliance with agreement to replace batteries.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/23) */ According to Mr.******* the local practitioner, Mr.********* has been getting batteries for months now. He has received his batteries at his appointments for regular cleaning and checks. Recently, Mr.********* has stopped coming in for his appointments. We are willing to honor the agreement he had when he purchased his hearing aids, and give him free batteries when he comes in for his regular appointments.

12/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: FULL REFUND OF $4,800.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ As Ms. ******** indicated we have been working with her to get her hearing as good as she possibly can. She was initially seen October 20th, 2011, was diagnosed with a hearing loss but did not purchase hearing aids at that time. She then came back in for another test on May 22nd, 2012 in which she decided to purchase hearing aids at that time. She was fit with the hearing aids on June 5th, 2012 and was seen on 6/12, 6/19, and 6/26 as our normal amount of visits during the "adjustment" phase of wearing hearing aids. This time period includes the 30-day return period. During these visits she experienced the normal adjustments a majority of patients go through including: adjusting for own voice, background noise, loved ones voices,etc. Our notes indicate she was doing very well and we made sure that she brought in those loved ones she was struggling to hear so we could make appropriate adjustments to the hearing aids so she could hear them. At that time she was seen 4 more times throughout the rest of 2012 and did not relay any particular issues at that time. She had an appointment scheduled for January 22nd, 2013 in which she did not show up and on June 4th, 2013 came into the office to get her right hearing aid cleaned. It was made known at that time that she had lost her left aid but did not want to pay the deductible to get it replaced. Adjustments were made to the right hear and she went on her way. On August 27th, 2013 she came back with the right hearing aid not functioning. The aid simply needed its battery replaced and it worked just fine. We cleaned the hearing aid (as is customary) and she went on her way. On October 1, 2013 she came in wanting to return the right hearing aid and get her money back for both hearing aids even though she had lost the left one and had never chosen to get it replaced. I was notified at this point and upon my speaking with her had discovered that she did not like Mr. *****. After explaining to her that she had the state law of 30 days to return back in 2012 and that we were well beyond the return period she became upset. After calming her down I was able to reiterate that with or without hearing aids her hearing would not improve and that is what I'm most concerned with. At that point I suggested that she meet with a different practitioner to see if he could help her with the issues she said she was having. She met with********* and he adjusted the hearing aids accordingly. As she states, his opinion was that the hearing aid was not what he would have recommended. That does not mean that it is a bad hearing aid or that it won't work for her. He would have recommended something else. However, due to vanity or personal preference our policy is that the patient has the right to choose the style of hearing aid even if the practitioner feels a different style would be more appropriate for that patient. Shortly after meeting with Mr. Milo, Ms. ******** still indicated that she would like to get her money back and that is something that cannot be done being well over a year after her purchase of the hearing aids. I have offered and will continue to offer any and all services that Ms. ******** needs to keep her hearing at the best level she can be. If this means seeing another practitioner we can accommodate that as well. Thank you!*********** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) AS I INDICATED THE PRACTITIONER HAD TO TAKE 5 EAR MOLDS BECAUSE HE COULD NOT RECOGNIZE ABUNDANCE OF EAR WAX . . EITHER HE IS NOT QUALIFIED OR WANTED TO MAKE A SALE!! HAD MY EARS BEEN WAX FREE ONE ATTEMPT . . NOT 5 . A SUITABLE IMPRESSION COULD HAVE BEEN MADE. SINCE YOUR PRACTITIONER IS SO DEDICATED (IN YOUR WORDS) WHY AFTER RETURNING NUMEROUS TIMES COMPLAINING THAT MY HEAD WAS IN A VACUUM AND I WAS STILL UNABLE TO HEAR .. WHY COULD HE NOT FIX THE PROBLEMI?? I HAVE NO INTENTIONS OF RETURNING TO ACCUQUEST. I KNOW MY $4,800 WAS NOT *WELL INVESTED* . . THE ONLY SOLUTION IS FOR ACCUQUEST TO REFUND MY $4,800. THANK YOU! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/02) */ As this patient indicates, our practitioner took at least "5 ear molds before he seemed satisfied" which would indicate two very important things. First, the "abundance of ear wax" as claimed by the patient would have prevented the ear mold from happening. If the patient's ears were full of wax the ear mold material would have made the issue even worse and a suitable impression would not have been made. Second, the fact that our practitioner took the time to get it just right indicates our dedication to our patients to make sure that our fits are extremely accurate the first time. Again, I can understand this patient's frustration and we must come up with a solution to have the hearing aids perform properly but the solution is not and cannot be to give the money back. It is well beyond the 30-day return period and as the patient stated, "I am 80 years old" and is in great need of these hearing aids. AccuQuest will continue to do everything we can to help this patient hear better and make sure that the money spent was well invested. Thanks

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on AccuQuest Hearing Centers, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart