BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/14/1999

Lincoln Park Athletic Club

Phone: (773) 529-2022Fax: (773) 529-2023View Additional Phone Numbers1019 W Diversey Pkwy, ChicagoIL 60614-1316 Send email to Lincoln Park Athletic Club

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/14/1999

BBB has determined that Lincoln Park Athletic Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lincoln Park Athletic Club's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: In November, 2013, I purchased a 12 month gym membership for my daughter who lives in Chicago, for her birthday. I did this by calling the health club and speaking to their sales director. He assured me he would take care of the whole thing and that my credit card would be billed for 12 payments. I was never informed that I had to contact the club to cancel this 12 month membership or that it would be automatically renewed without my permission.
I received my November credit card statement and I had been billed for an additional month. I called the manager today and she said that memberships automatically renew unless you e-mail or write the club to cancel. She said that she is not responsible for what her former employee told me when he and I made the arrangements for this birthday gift of 12 months of gym membership. They are now billing me for November and December - 2 extra months. I asked for this money to be refunded (my daughter has moved and has not used the gym) and she refused. I feel this is just like deaing with Direct TV when they "automatically renew" services without your permission. I am so frustrated since I made this arrangement with their employee in good faith and the management will not take any responsibility for what that employee assured me! All I am asking for is that the 2 additional months be refunded to my credit card.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@chicagoathleticclubs.com
After further research into the matter, in the best interest of the member, we discovered an email between the former employee that set up the membership for *******'s daughter, *****, and ******* stating that she would pay the membership for****** from 11/1/12 -- 10/31/13. ***** did sign the contract with the stipend of a 30 day notice for any cancellation or the membership continues on our contractual agreement. The former employee allegedly made a verbal promise to cancel the membership after one year automatically even though this in not our business practice now nor was it 2012. However, Chicago Athletic Clubs will honor the email sent by Cynthia in an effort to resolve the issue at hand. We will be refunding $190 to the card Cynthia has on file under *****'s account and ***** has already been cancelled from our system.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/16/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health Clubs, Volleyball Club, Swim Spas, Children`s Play Programs Instruction, Childrens & Family Entertainment, Weight Control Services, Training Programs, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Instruction, Physical Therapists, Nutritionists, Massage Therapists, Massage Therapeutic, Fitness Centers, Health & Wellness, Personal Trainers, Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Gymnasiums, Basketball Clubs, Athletic Organizations, Sports & Recreation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/15/1999Business started: 12/19/1997
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Helena Williams (Membership Director)Customer Contact: Kate Kreissl Ms. Heather Haneman (Business Director)
Related Businesses
Evanston Athletic Club - 1723 Benson Ave, Evanston, IL
West Loop Athletic Club - 1380 W Randolph St, Chicago, IL
Wicker Park Athletic Club - 1635 W Division St, Chicago, IL
Lakeview Athletic Club - 3212 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL
Lincoln Square Athletic Club - 4662 N Lincoln Ave, Chicago, IL
Business Category

Health Clubs, Volleyball Club, Swim Spas, Children`s Play Programs Instruction, Childrens & Family Entertainment, Weight Control Services, Training Programs, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Instruction, Physical Therapists, Nutritionists, Massage Therapists, Massage Therapeutic, Fitness Centers, Health & Wellness, Personal Trainers, Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Gymnasiums, Basketball Clubs, Athletic Organizations, Sports & Recreation

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Athletic Clubs, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contracts
Dont Get Hit by the Seminar Pitch!
Evaluating Training Programs and Seminars
How to keep your kids safe in the age of MySpace
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
Protecting Your Childs Privacy on the Internet
So-called Diet Aids Will Thin Your Wallet, Not Your Body
Weight Loss Promotions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lincoln Park Athletic Club

1019 W Diversey Pkwy

Chicago, IL 60614-1316

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1019 W Diversey Pkwy 

    Chicago, IL 60614-1316

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lincoln Park Athletic Club is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (773) 529-2023
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.