Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vein Clinics of America

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 660-8346 Fax: (630) 725-2701 2001 Butterfield Rd STE 300, Downers Grove, IL 60515 http://www.veinclinics.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vein Clinics of America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vein Clinics of America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vein Clinics of America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 1990 Business started: 02/02/1988 in IL Business started locally: 02/02/1988 Business incorporated 04/28/1988 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angela Smith, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angela Smith, Director
Business Category

Health & Medical - General Clinics Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery Offices of All Other Miscellaneous Health Practitioners (NAICS: 621399)

Alternate Business Names
Illinois Phlebology Associates

Additional Locations

  • 1101 Perimeter Drive # 620

    Schaumburg, IL 60173

  • 15 Tower Court, Suite 200

    Gurnee, IL 60031

  • 1771 W Diehl Rd Ste 380

    Naperville, IL 60563

  • 1792 S. Randall Rd.

    Geneva, IL 60134

  • 1901 Butterfield Rd Ste 220

    Downers Grove, IL 60515 (800) 660-8346

  • 2 Mid America Plaza #720

    Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

  • 2 Mid America Plaza, Suite #720

    Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

  • 2001 Butterfield Rd STE 300

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

  • 211 E. Ontario Street, Suite #925

    Chicago, IL 60611

  • 2150 E. Lake Cook Rd. #40C

    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

  • 5202 Old Orchard Rd Ste 220

    Skokie, IL 60077

  • 740 Waukegan Rd., Suite 300

    Deerfield, IL 60015

  • 9501 W 144th Pl Ste 304plac

    Orland Park, IL 60462

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by ****** in the office that my insurance was verified and my insurance would pay 70%. She gave me estimated costs after insurance and I was expecting to pay approx. $2000 out of pocket. I scheduled treatments and after the 6th treatment I received a call from ****** stating that she was canceling the rest of my appointments as my insurance was not paying at the rate they thought they would pay and that I currently owe $12,000. I contacted my insurance company who told me that Vein clinic is out of network and to always verify with the provider if they are in-network or not, I thought ******, as the "insurance specialist" had verified this information. I am half way done with my treatments and now have a $12,000 bill and have been told I need to find a provider who is in network to complete my treatments. I have been given the run around and was told that they are not allowed to give out the information of anyone higher for me to talk to regarding this situation. That a person named ***** is emailing ****** but that I can not have ******* contact information. I am also being charge $750 for the "Free" consultation.

Desired Settlement: I want my bill adjusted to what I was originally told had been verified with the insurance company. I want to be able to talk to someone regarding this billing issue. Had I known that this business was not in network I would have found a provider who was.

Business Response: Patient's balance will be adjusted.  Once complete, the Office Manager will reach out to patient to advise. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

2/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a procedure done to my leg in September, 2015 in the Lawrenceville GA office of *** ***** *** ***** Before I agreed to the procedure, they gave me a detailed breakdown of the cost as well as the amount that would be covered by my insurance. They required an initial payment $507.73, with the remaining due after submission to the insurance (because I had not met my deductible yet. After the procedure the insurance company paid their amount, but I received a bill directly from the clinic demanding an additional $711.18. After contacting my insurance, I determined that the clinic did not report the original payment as part of the services, and therefore it was not applied to my deductible. The clinic refuses to submit this to the insurance because they say that this is paid outside the insurance. NO other doctor has ever done this. This increases the amount that I need to pay out of pocket. I believe it is because the clinic is charging a higher rate than what is agreed to with their contract with the insurance company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a billing adjustment to reflect the amount that they would not submit to the insurance company. This is an additional expense to me, and it was not explained before the treatment. Additionally, it is not ordinary operating procedure for a doctor that accepts insurance.

Business Response: Office Manager will be reaching out to the patient again to explain the issue.  We will not be writing this balance off.  The patient is responsible. 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

HORRIBLE SERVICE AT *** ***** *** ****** During my visit with my dermatologist, she referred me to Vein Clinic of America to help with a protruding vein in my right leg. I received terrible service at the vein clinic. It seems as though the company is all about business, and they don't care about a patient's health at all. *** ***** *** does not spend more than five minutes with his patients and does not fully explain any of his procedures or methods. The front desk is very unfriendly and is vague concerning the expenses and pricing. I was told that before my procedure, I would be spending $2,065.00, but after my surgery, the price more than doubled to $5,400.00. The office then never reported my payments to my insurance company. After two months, I received an extra bill, since my insurance company assumed I did not meet my deductible. When I asked them to submit my payments to my insurance company, they seemed reluctant to do so, and still had not done what I asked. Even after eight appointments with my doctor, the vein in my right leg is still protruding and is incredible pain. It is a scam business with rude people who send multiple bills. DO NOT SEEK HELP from *** ***** *** ** *** ****** ** *** *** ******** ** * **** ************** ** ******
Sincerely,

********* ********

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This clinic was very misleading. From the first visit all they mention is laser treatment to treat your vein problem. They verified that the insurance company would pay on the first visit before they do anything(understandable), after verification they had me come in for a ultrasound to verify how many treatments, exactly what needed to be treated, how the laser treatment worked and what I needed to buy. On the day that was supposed to be my first treatment, I was told the insurance wouldn't cover laser treatment. I was told an experimental solutions would be injected in my legs in place of the laser treatment. The possibility of this should have been stated from the very first visit, not after one free visit and two paid visits. This seems unethical to spring this on a patient on the day of the procedure and not to be told this could be the case from the very beginning as I'm sure other patients have had the same outcomes with their insurance company, and who's to say if they knew laser was not covered when they checked the very first time. This company made a over $1000.00 basically for a couple of ten minute consults and a 30 or 40 minute leg ultrasound. I don't know if they count on the client being too scared to go through with an experimental leg solution injected in their legs or what. Next time they need to be upfront about all the possibilities. Product_Or_Service: Varicose vein treatment. Account_Number: Account #******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) This company needs to advise patients on the first visit, that if the insurance company does not cover laser treatment, they will give you the option of an experimental treatment. Also, I believe they should do a total refund.

Business Response: The patient was given benefit information at the consult and mapping. After further discussions with the doctor the patient decided not to pursue treatment. In order for the doctor to determine a treatment plan, an ultrasound mapping is needed. Patient had that and again, decided not to pursue treatment after speaking with the doctor about the treatment plan. We will not be issuing a refund to the patient as all of the necessary steps were handled properly.

7/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid by check my portion and my insurance picked up the rest. I believe it's a scam, when I went back to them, they said I would have to pay more for more sessions.

Desired Settlement: I want to be given the amount of money I paid out of my pocket for no results.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ Patient will be followed up with by doctor

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was led to believe that my insurance would cover my treatment and the additional treatments i needed were not covered. So bottom line is no more treatment my veins in my leg came back and my insurance and paid a lot of money for the treatment that didn't work. I wasted my time and effort. The doctor did try to get more treatment and he was very nice but my leg looks really bad. I just do not think my treatment did any good

Desired Settlement: The treatment did not last

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ The District Manager will be contacting the patient. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/07/16) */ No one at Vein Client bothered to call me concerning my complaint. Is this the right way to handle your business affairs Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/07/24) */ A representative called and spoke with the patient. Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am still out the monies and my viens need more treatment and the insurance will not pay. So nothing has been offered to me at all.

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the services of Vein Clinics in Schaumburg at the end of 2013. I would have used them in 2012, but an employee failed to follow up with me after months and months so I had to wait until my deductible was met the following year. I completed all my treatments by the end of 2013this was important since my insurance deductible had been met for the year. I was then called to come in for a follow-up appointment in February of 2014. My deductible for the new year started over so I didn't want to come in unless this was part of the previous treatments. I asked the woman who called if this was, in fact, part of the same set of treatments or if I would be charged for the new year, with my new deductible. She assured me it was just a follow-up for the past year so it would be included in the past year. I don't deal with insurance on a daily basis, so I took her word for it. That ended up being a mistake since I then received a bill for $229. I tried to call and take care of it with ****, but she said she needed to speak with someone else about it. It took 2 additional calls back to **** to finally find out that the bill would not be forgiven and I was to pay the balanceminus 25%. This was just a follow-up appointment that I would have skipped if I knew I'd be responsible for the payment.

Desired Settlement: Zero balance on bill

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/30) */ Patient will be contacted by a Vein Clinics of America representative.

6/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These treatments were pre-certified by (Care Wise) Blue Cross Blue Shield. The company sent a bill for the full amount, not acknowledging the insurance payment - This particular bill was from 9-11-13. Paperwork from the Merrillville office was not in order. I called several times talking to the office manager to find out why. A letter of approval from (Care) Blue Cross Blued was sent to me and payments made. I can not be balance billed and this is what is going on.

Desired Settlement: Accpetance of what the (Care Wise)Blue Cross Blue Shield has paid, as had been done in the past years. This was my last treatment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/17) */ This was audited by our Patient Financial Services department. Patient's balance is now zero. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the zero balance due.

1/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An estimate of "out of pocket charges" was provided that totalled $487.14. Office validated my insurance and made the estimate with a disclaimer that treatment may vary which could require additional sessions and associated costs. My treatment and number of visits was exactly as extimated and I paid my bill in full per the estimate even though my payments were slightly higher than estimated.However, I am now getting an additioanl bill for another $867.95 on top of the payment made stating that my insurance also has a deductable they did not consider that I need to pay. I am not educated in medical billing and took out of pocket estimate as valid. I did already pay slightly more than estimated amount. Since they investigated my insurance, validated my coverage, estimated total out of pocket charges and only disclaimered that as long as no additional visits we needed that was the estimate, I feel this bill should not be allowed. They are experts and made a valid estimate that I have fulfilled in full. This amount takes total to more than 2.5 times the original estimate with NO ADDED PROCEDURES REQUIRED.I have not yet paid the bill and would like to request investigation before doing so. Product_Or_Service: Endovenous Laser Ablation Account_Number: account #XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like full amount written off by Vein Centers of America, Dr. ******** office in Timonium, Maryland as they are providing the estimate and need to live by it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/06) */ This issue has been investigated and the balance remains the patient's responsibility. We are obligated via our payer contracts to collect the balance. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not addressed the issue. They are insurance experts providing a cost estimate based on their deep understanding of out of pocket expense. Decision was made to use THEIR SERVICE based on detailed estimate provide and I have already paid an amount higher than the estimate. The actual cost they are attempting to collect is 3X higher than the estimate for the EXACT SERVICE PROVIDED. Simply stating it is my responsibility and accepting no responsibility for the out of pocket cost estimate they gave is not acceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/07) */ The cost estimate provided is an 'estimate'. It is ultimately the patient's responsibility to also know what their insurance benefits are and to understand their coverage. The balance is the deductible and we cannot waive that belance.

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received service from Vein Clinics of America in Marietta, GA for several months. During the course of treatment, I paid in full at every visit. After I discontinued treatment, I received a bill requesting additional payment, that was inaccurate. I called to have it corrected and it was only partially corrected. I was billed again for services I had already paid for. I called to inquire again and was told that I, as the pay-in-full-at-time-of-service customer had to prove that I had paid the bills. I inquired about speaking with a supervisor. My next contact with the company was through a collection agency. They submitted 3 bills to collections. Two bills for for $.01 each, and one for $55. Absolutely ineffective billing procedures and unprofessionally handled. Will never use this service again, and will post on every available public space not to use their service. Product_Or_Service: Vein treatment Account_Number:********XXXXXXXXA

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I paid the collections bill the day I received it. I would like my money returned for the bill that was submitted to collections, and my record cleared of this erroneous action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/28) */ This has been resolved, per the District Manager. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ************ called me from the head office, reviewed my case, researched the billing to my account, found the error that the Marietta office made, submitted for a reimbursement check to be sent to me and rightly agreed to have the error reversed from my credit history.

10/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The office manager in the **** ***** Office informed us that 100% of the procedure was covered and that there would not be any out-of-pocket expoense. After the meeting regarding the insurance discussion, the treatment began. We were billed very large sums and ****** told us to ignoret hose bills as the insurance has not been updated and that it takes several weeks for the home office to receive the funds. she told us to endorse the checks over to Vein Clinics of America which we did each time. Had the office manager told us that there would be any charges, we would not have done the procedure at all. We were told specifically that there were no ou-of pocket expenses and assured tha the accounting offices were simply slow in processing the checks. Now they sent it to collection for $7500. After several calls to home office, there has not been any resolution to the billing.

Desired Settlement: Credit to the amount billed since we were told that the insurance GHI coverage would be the only payment that would be required. We did not agree to or sign anything that informed us other than what the office manager ******* said we would owe.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/10/23) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Company has agreed to accept insurance payment. therefore case should be closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vein Clinics of America
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)